We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mariners Guest House
Ranked #6 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently returned from another great stay at The Mariners, been there many times, good central location for town and beaches, pubs & restaurants, plus good car off road parking facilities which is rare to find for a B&B in Poole, a parking space allocated for each room.

Landlady, Yvonne is very friendly, nothing is to much trouble, she has made significant improments since she took over the Mariners last year, the property has now been redecorated from top to bottom and refurnished in many areas.
Breakfast is excellent with many options.
Will be going back next year for our October windsurfing break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Owner at The Mariners Guest House, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks Trevor for the lovely comments - always a pleasure to see you guys - you're all a positive breathe of fresh air. See you next October and hopefully you'll see even more improvements to the guest house - it's a constant work in progress and a labour of love but we thoroughly enjoy it. Best wishes Yvonne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    40
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
92
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were greeted at The Mariners Guest House by Yvonne. As soon as we arrived we felt extremely welcome. Yvonne immediately made us feel at home, The Mariners is beautifully and tastefully decorated and our room was very inviting and very clean & tidy. It was well equipped with everything we needed..including plenty of tea, coffee and milk for that early morning cuppa!! A good sized TV with plenty of channels to choose from :) A lovely en-suite shower room..again equipped with all the best toiletries you could need. On both days we enjoyed a delicious breakfast, We were visiting a music venue, Mr Kyps, and this was very close by from the hotel so we could leave the car in the hotel car park. Yvonne was always helpful, was always available and we had a lovely stay. I would definitely recommend The Mariner's Hotel if you are looking for a relaxed and friendly break. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbeeching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Owner at The Mariners Guest House, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and so glad that you enjoyed your stay. It makes all my hard work worth while when he have lovely people like yourselves staying at the guest house. Shame you're not here tonight as the Coldplay tribute band is playing at Mr Kyps. Look forward to your next visit with us. Best wishes Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beechworth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My friend and I spent two nights at this guesthouse and thoroughly enjoyed everything. The host, Yvonne, was very friendly and prepared a great breakfast. Our room was lovely, the bathroom was small, however it was big enough and the bathroom products supplied were good quality. Yvonne was very helpful in explaining how to get to places and advising on restaurants. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just returned from our 7th windsurfing break at the Mariners, with the last 2 under the ownership of Yvonne. Since taking over last year she has been busy redecorating and improving the whole guest house. Rooms are bright and airy and spotlessly clean. At breakfast there is plenty of options including a great 'full english'.
The position of the Mariners at the edge of Poole Park is great with access to Sandbanks one way and Poole Quay the other. Local pubs and restaurants are only a short walk away.
There is also ample off road parking which is an added bonus.
Yvonne is most accommodating, with a good sense of humour and goes the extra mile to make her guests happy.
Shall be back again next year for our 8th visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed with my son and brother on Sept 7th and was given such a friendly welcome by Yvonne we felt at ease straight away. The rooms were charmingly decorated, spotlessly clean, my bed extremely warm and comfortable too. Great breakfast with fresh fruit, even cranberries which are my favourites before a very tasty and non fatty full English breakfast.
I would highly recommend The Mariners Guest house to anyone. Well done Yvonne!
From J J and S.

Room Tip: Top room for people who aren't bothered about steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newbed751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

As soon as you enter and are greeted by Yvonne, the owner, you feel at home. The relaxing decor and Yvonne's witty and charming manner is the perfect remedy after a long journey. The room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, It was quiet and relaxing just as it should be. The breakfast was amazing and the choice of cereals and fresh fruit gave you a healthy alternative. Every morning our room was cleaned and coffee etc replenished so that when we came in later it was just as though it was our first night. There is a wonderfull park less than 300 metres aways which has everything. The 'Dolphin' shopping centre is 10 mins walk away through the park and Poole has some of the best restaurants without being too pricey. I take my hat off to Yvonne for running her establishment single handedly yet keeping her standards very high. Will definitely visit again and again!

Room Tip: Every room is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N E Lincs
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Eight of us arrived, rather tired, after a long walk on the South West Coast Path. The cup of tea offered immediately was very welcome! We found the place clean and fresh and although, as mentioned elsewhere, the stairs to the top floor are narrow, Yvonne consulted with us as to who should have the rooms at the top. Our room, though not huge, had everything we needed and the lighting and mirrors in the shower room were particularly good. As to breakfast, it was one of the best we've had. The brilliant choice of fruit was particularly appreciated. If we ever find ourselves in this part of the world again we will certainly stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NElincsrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
0.7 mi away
Viewpoint Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mariners Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mariners Guest House

Property: The Mariners Guest House
Address: 26 Sandbanks Road, Poole BH14 8AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mariners Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Mariners Guest House Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing