We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Laurel Cottage B&B
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$241
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$112
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$133
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$260
$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$237
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$59
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
92
8
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
8
6
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 107 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights. Lovely cooked breakfast both mornings, big comfy bed, decorated very well, shower was amazing.. Lovely room. Owners are very polite, nice welcome. Situated in a lovely quiet place, enjoyed two wonderful nights sleep and would def return!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank redheadedemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here last September whilst the owners were away. We had a warm welcome and whilst every effort was made to make sure that we were comfortable, I would agree, in the main, with the comments made by Robin E. Our shower was OK, but we also had a bit of trouble with the TV. All in all, no better or worse than many other B&Bs that I have stayed in. However, the cottage is in a pleasant, quiet location, around 10 minutes drive from Poole Harbour and quite well situated for exploring the surrounding area

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Wonderful to have the opportunity to stay at Laurel Cottage again, this time with our 19 year old son. We had the balcony room and felt very spoilt. We were bowled over by all the lovely redecoration that Jill and John have done since our last visit. Our son's room was lovely and equipped with everything could want. Breakfast was tailored made to accommodate all our likes - especially all those traditional items that we miss living in France. Looking forward to our next visit in April 2014. Thank you for making us so welcome during our 5 day stay.

Room Tip: For something special ask for the Balcony Room - a lovely light and airy room perfect for complete rest and relaxation.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsButcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had to re-book accommodation for our overnight stay in Poole prior to taking the ferry to France, and we found the Laurel on TripAdvisor. John helped us with a family room as we were travelling with our grandson, who wanted to visit the Normandy landings before taking A-levels next year. He also recommended a local eatery as we arrived somewhat later than expected after a slow drive down from Wales via Bath where the road was closed due to an accident. After a relatively comfortable night, we rose early to find the charming Jill ready to cook our fresh full English, and we were on our way by 7 am. The Laurel is very convenient for Brittany Ferries as they are literally 10 mins. from the port, and we thought offered good value as well as a great welcome.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms we looked into had huge double beds with lovely decor and furnishings. We felt a little cramped in our family room, but don't let that put you off enjoying the Laurel.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Looking at recent reviews I have no doubt that John & Jill are excellent hosts. Unfortunately when we stayed they were at their holiday flat in Bulgaria. Their stand-in seemed to be under significant pressure and was more concerned with the cleaning and looking after the dogs than looking after us. Apart from the few minutes spent showing us the room we did not see her or in fact anyone else during our stay. We needed to leave early to catch the ferry and so we were shown the kitchen and told we could make it ourselves. The room and bed were fine but not outstanding. In contrast to a recent review our shower was terrible. The water took forever to get hot and when it did arrive it was a sad dribble. The television did not have a correct booster and so, many channels did not work. Finally there was no WiFi. I do not begrudge people their holidays but in a people based business you either close up shop or make sure that your replacements deliver the same level of service. I strongly recommend you find out if the owners are home before you book.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurelcottagebanb, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

We were surprised by your review and saddened, such a shame you didn't have more time to meet all of the staff. Early morning ferry crossing, means you miss out on the cooked breakfast, which starts at 7.30am, but we always offer a choice of cereals, yogurts,toast with marmalade, or jams, plus a packed lunch for the crossing. Wished we had the opportunity to meet you.

Kind regards John and Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews