We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay”
Review of Laurel Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laurel Cottage B&B
Ranked #23 of 48 Poole B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 days in Dorset. Laurel Cottage is a delightful find. The balcony room was lovely, very spacious and extremely comfortable - especially the bed! Jill and John are very welcoming hosts who pointed us in the right direction for the evening out and ensured we had everything we needed. The cooked breakfast was great, thank you Wendy! If we had been braver we might have tried the pool which looked inviting - but cold! The gardens are exceptionally pretty and all in all we can highly recommend a visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in the balcony room which is large and very comfortable, though if you are tall the eaves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 107 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

We enjoyed three lovely nights, wish our stay could have been for longer. Jill, John and not forgetting Dulcie made us feel welcome. Lovely room and comfortable bed and more than adequate meals set us up nicely for the day.
Already planning another Dorset trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intothegroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurelcottagebanb, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Hi Cheryl,
thank you so much for your tremendous review. It really warms the cockles of our hearts to read such lovely reports, and makes running a small business like Laurel Cottage really worthwhile. Hope to see you both again, thanks once more John and Jill and Dulci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just spent 3 wonderful nights in the charming Laurel Cottage. We could not have asked for more - it is clean, comfortable, welcoming but most importantly, John & Jill are the most friendly, accommodating hosts. They made us feel so welcome and allowed us to feel totally at home, even though there were 6 of us, including 3 noisy children! The children were able to make use of the lovely pool (yes even in the rain), and the comfortable lounge meant we were able to spend some time together in the evenings before retreating to our beautifully furnished bedrooms. The breakfasts were amazing - thank you to Wendy, especially for my delicious poached eggs! My son left his watch there when we left yesterday, John has kindly posted it back to us & it came with the post this morning. Thank you John.
Thank you to all of you for a wonderful stay, we will most certainly return.
If anyone is in 2 minds whether to visit, please don't hesitate. It's fabulous!

Room Tip: The balcony room is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurelcottagebanb, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Hi Sarah and Mike,
thank you so much for your absolutely fabulous review, it really warms the cockles of our hearts to read such lovely reports, and makes running a small business as Laurel Cottage so worthwhile. Glad you received the watch, all the very best, John and Jill and of course Dulci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in a relaxed atmosphere. Jill & John are very friendly, and the gardens & swimming pool are lovely.We stayed in the balcony room and found it very nice.
Wendys cooked breakfasts are superb.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flitwickfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurelcottagebanb, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hi Mark and Jan,
thank you so much for your wonderful review, it really warms the cockles of our hearts to read such lovely reports. It makes running a small business such as Laurel Cottage so worthwhile. Hope to see you again, regards John and Jill and Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived at Laurel Cottage to a very warm welcome from both John and Jill the owners, show our room which was excellent, and very well appointed with modern fittings and equipment. The en-suit bathroom was excellent and would of put most hotels to shame.
We where invited to make use of the pool, which was very welcome as the day we arrived it was hot.
Following advice about where to have an evening meal we where directed to a local pub and the food was excellent so having the local knowledge available was invaluable.
Breakfast was great, full English or a breakfast of your choice, plenty of tea and toast etc, plus it gave us the chance to meet some of the other guests all of which had very high praises.
Would we go there again YES!!! in a heart beat. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_bray50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurelcottagebanb, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Hi John and Joyce,
Wow ! I have just read your review on Trip Advisor, thank you for giving us such a glowing report. I cannot thank you enough as you know how important review sites can be. Glad you got back home safely and please come and see us again, All the very best John and Jill and Dulci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here as a family of 8 (4 adults & 4 children ) last weekend , 12th July 2013 for 3 nights. We had the family room with balcony and my sister had double room with single bed and pull out bed. We were very warmly welcomed by Gill (owner) who showed us around and make us feel very much at home. There is a pool which of course the children loved and stayed in all weekend! My sister and I spent most of our time lying out in the huge garden enjoying the sunshine. Laurel Cottage is in a fantastic location if you are visiting Poole. We were there for a wedding in Sandbanks which is a short drive away. This was a real find for us as hotel prices in the area are quite high and of course we had the pool to retire to. Full English breakfast was available and fresh to order by the lovely Wendy every morning as well as host of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and the highlight for me....homemade Plum & Rum jam....yum! Highly recommend this place if you are visiting this area. 10 out of 10

Room Tip: The balcony family room is fantastic. Gives you a little balcony area to sit on and its nice to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurelcottagebanb, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Hi Carol,
WOW what a fantastic review. It really warms the cockles of our hearts to read such lovely things about us and really makes running a small business so worth while. It was also great having you all to stay and I must say the children were a credit to you. Thanks once again and hurry back, regards John Jill Wendy, and of course Dulci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

What a wonderful warm welcome we received on our arrival at Laurel Cottage, Jill made us feel at home Instantly.
Our room was spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable.
Our en-suite was amazing with very thoughtful personal touches, including the most gorgeous soft thick towels.
Breakfast was a joy with our very attentive, charming lady, (sadly we forgot to ask her name - but our mornings were made that much brighter by her cheerfulness & sense of humour).
The use of the beautiful large garden and swimming pool was an excellent bonus.
Jill & John were fantastic hosts, and we are at a loss to understand the one and only negative review.
Thank you Jill & John, we shall definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurelcottagebanb, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hi,
thank you thank you and thank you. A great review it really blows our minds away, it makes running a small business so worthwhile. Please hurry back, regards John and Jill, and Wendy.
P.S. thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
5.7 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,836 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
1,000 reviews
5.6 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
1,608 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage B&B

Address: Laurel Cottage Slough Lane | Upton, Poole BH16 5NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage B&B Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing