We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful cottage and grounds with a genuinely welcoming and relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Laurel Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Cottage B&B
Ranked #14 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage and grounds with a genuinely welcoming and relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

We booked Laurel Cottage for a last minute easter break and had a really lovely stay. Situated down a quiet country lane this pretty cottage is deceptively spacious inside. We stayed in the 'apartment' which was immaculately decorated and very clean. The owners provided a travel cot and bedding for our baby daughter. We were surprised to find a swimming pool and hot tub in the back garden and although it was a little early in the year to use them, we hope to return again soon to give them a try! The owners and staff are professional and friendly and seem to have got the service just right. We can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATopMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    8
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
64
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

We have just returned from a very pleasant stay at Laurel Cottages. We intended to stay one night but ended up staying 2, and Jill was very flexible in accommodating us. Good breakfast: English fry-up with cereals and yoghurts on a breakfast bar on the side. The garden was lovely, very spacious and safe for our young children. The kids also enjoyed playing with the very friendly family dog, and looking over the fence to the horses and sheep in the adjacent field.
Our hosts were very helpful and friendly, and we would happily recommend this B&B to friends or stay here again ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

The bedrooms and ensuite bathrooms are equipped to a very high standard, and cleanliness thoughout is excellent. The beds are very comfortable and the location quiet and peaceful. The breakfast is very tasty and plentiful. Although there was a lot of snow lying the grounds and garden looked very inviting, we will definately go back in the summer and make use of the swimming pool. Thank you to Mr Farrar for making our visit so enjoyable, just wished we could have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsButcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

I recently had family to visit and they stayed with Jill and John at Laurel Cottage, Poole for 3 nights. The balcony room was both clean and spacious, with the most wonderful of views. Breakfast was perfect, and served with a smile, and the whole general atmosphere made this stay for my family memorable. They will definitely stay again on all future visits.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fletchers190727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

This is very comfortable accommodation which has everything you'll need for your stay, it has clean bright rooms and is surrounded by lovely countryside. It also has a pool but we didn't use it.
John & Diana make you feel very welcome and at home, they are also very helpful.
Great place if you have a dog.

Jenny, Sidmouth,Devon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seagull1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Alex Polizzi (The Hotel Inspector) wouldn't fault Laurel Cottage and neither could we! We were given a very friendly welcome and we loved our spacious balcony room. Our bed was extremely comfortable and we loved the little en-suite, tucked under the eaves. The views were gorgeous from our balcony; green fields with horses. Nothing was too much trouble for John including tracking down an iphone charger for me! I'm a fussy eater and so was delighted to tuck into a good quality cooked breakfast. I would definitely stay in this 'home from home' again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillyathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Thames
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

My husband and I only stayed one night at Laurel Cottage but John and Jill made us very welcome, the room was clean, bright and comfortable and breakfast was delicious. Nothing was too much trouble. A great place to stay from which to explore the beauty of Dorset

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotherHen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
3.1 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
0.9 mi away
Perry's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage B&B

Property: Laurel Cottage B&B
Address: Laurel Cottage Slough Lane | Upton, Poole BH16 5NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage B&B Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing