We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely modern restaurant wil lake views but the food was mediocre.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sevens Boatshed - CLOSED

Sevens Boatshed
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Somerset
Level Contributor
209 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Lovely modern restaurant wil lake views but the food was mediocre.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

First impressions are very good with a 'trendy' bar & sun terrace on the ground floor and lift / stairs up to the chic, modern restaurant which has a lovely view out over Poole Park boating lake. We visited on a damp Wednesday evening and there were just two other couples dining which is unsurprising as it isn't cheap here. Our 3 courses were all very tasty and well presented although two of the three main courses were rather cold (we received an apology but nothing more). The service was good throughout the evening but this isn't somewhere we'd rush back to as it's just too expensive and there are so many other great places to eat in Poole and Ashley Cross just a few mins walk away.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    52
    30
    30
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a frickin' disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I can only imagine that sadly, this once beautiful restaurant (MezzaLuna) has been taken over by the one man who is seemingly unaware that everyone hates him, Eddie Mitchell. And, in true Mr Mitchell form, you end up in a fairly average environment with poor food and extortionate prices.

We had the displeasure of eating breakfast here at the start of April. We all ordered the full English breakfast, but, what arrived can only be described as, small English breakfast. One sausage, one bit of bacon, one egg and a flat mushroom. That was it. Let me tell you, Sevens Boatshed, what a full English should contain:

Egg (to your choosing)
2 x bacon
2 x sausage
Hash Brown
Choice of Black or White Pudding
Beans
Mushrooms (plural)
Toast

Then, and only then, can the price of £8 odd be justified.....

Thanks for ruining what was once a great restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucero79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This restaurant is located on the edge of the boating lake in Poole, and is a great spot when the sun's shining to soak up some rays and enjoy the view. The food is pretty good, a short-ish menu and decent quality. Only gripe on this visit was that the service was patchy, suffering from using youngsters who didn't seem to have a complete grasp of some of the elements of good service. Maybe a management issue too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tallyho1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very refreshing change”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Booked a table at this place and was very welcomed over the phone. Had to delay time of arrival - no problem - further delay - no trouble.

Very pleasant staff - very good service - food was nice not overly wonderful but good for lunch-time and reasonably priced.

Service ith a smile - no problem - bit of a wait (apparently normal here) but not too excessive and Chef sent message sayong he was redoing the dish as not happy with it.


Very nice cheerful ladies serving us - well dressed - well presented and good, attentive manner.

I was very pleased and will go back there with my wife when we're nearby.

Thanks to all for good experience - they're rare!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bodie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible coffee, ignorant staff, give it a miss”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

All we wanted was 3 hot coffees, not difficult. We received half empty, look warm overpriced drinks and an attitude from the server. Don't bother with this café..................not worth even parking your car. Try The Deli on Poole Quay....great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lavendergirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sevens Boatshed also viewed

Lytchett Matravers, Poole
Lytchett Matravers, Poole
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing