We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what it is”

The Roaring Meg Harvester
Ranked #124 of 163 Restaurants in Stevenage
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At The Roaring Meg Harvester in Stevenage food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Stevenage, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Knebworth, Aston End and Todd's Green, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good for what it is”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Not been to a Harvester for quite a while so decided after spending too much money in PC world across the road to give it a try. Friendly welcome from the hostess who showed us to a table for two which was a little too near the main door for my liking, requested another table and without any problem was taken to one further back.
Server was prompt asking if we needed any drinks, I had a Tetleys and the better half a Bottle of Bud, my beer arrived with rather a large head of froth on it however the waitress returned without me saying anything and asked if I would like it topped up, rather impressed with the young lady.
We ordered the Chicken platter for two then helped ourselves to the Salad Bar, This is ok nothing to extravagant all the usual items you would expect and all the containers were full which is another plus. The Meal arrived and it was rather large but everything on the plate was well cooked and tasty. We had to ask for a doggy box to take some of the Chicken home, my lunch the nest day. All in all for £25 good value what with good staff what else do you need. We will be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    110
    100
    105
    168
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pub grub served quickly”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

They dont pretend to b anything but a pub grub kind of joint !

Basic salad bar helps get people fed asap.

Good value !

Good service!

To recap a lot to be learnt by other chains here !

Get your punters sat fed & watered as quickly as possible keep turning tables over!

It keeps stress levels dwn all around

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandydanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good value meal”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

ate with family on an evening visit. food was excellent and enjoyed by all. service was good however we felt a bit rushed as the courses were coming out before one of us had finished the last one and the same when collecting our.bowls from desert. i think this was probably because we were there til quite late.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Why do people go here?”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pros: It's cheap Cons: It's awful - cheap ingredients equals horrible food. Last time I went almost every element of my visit was not good - food on seats, sticky table, grumpy staff, a nuked childs pizza stuck to the plate so it was inedible, dirty salad station, chewy pink chicken - swore to never ever visit again not even if you paid me,.

Helpful?
2 Thank Emz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Free salad bar and refill drinks is always great!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My partner and me had never even thought about going to the Harvester before the time we went.
There was good food, and the free salad bar was an excellent touch! Also having free refillable drinks is great, as most places charge way too much for a glass of fizzy pop.
Only didn't get 5*s as the service was slightly slow, we had to wait 45 minutes for a table and you have to get your refill drinks yourself (no waitress service for these!)
We will definitely go back though, just try and book in advance (if you can?).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roaring Meg Harvester also viewed

Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Hatfield, Hertfordshire
 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Roaring Meg Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing