We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Friendly and Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

This hotel was ideally situated for us being within walking distance of our customers premises. The hotel is comfortable with ample parking. It has a small on site restaurant which serves good food at a reasonable price. Much more comfortable for my colleague to use, on the couple of occassions she was staying here on her own, than the usual nearby pub set up at Premier Inns.
The staff on reception and in the restaurant were very friendly and welcoming. No matter what time of day we arrived or departed they were smiling and helpful. Everything we asked them to do they did willingly, capably and on time.
All in all a really good place to stay.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rg00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Thanks for your review, we are pleased to hear that our hotel and facilities met your expectations and your stay was a comfortable one. Thank you for your feedback regarding our team members in both the hotel and the Restaurant on site. They will be delighted to receive your comments as our team are committed to delivering the highest level of service to our guests. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    199
    56
    22
    10
See reviews for
155
169
42
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights, not as good as the one in London, County Hall. Restaurant menu same as London except food quality wasn't as good and breakfast cut off time was earlier which was a little disappointing. Room was good, although bed was bigger which made room a little tight for moving around. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ave005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over the UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

I stay at Premier Inn's all week for work purposes, Stevenage Central has to be one of the best, and they now have freeview !. all the reception staff are fantastic, as is Carol at Breakfast, (Would you like porridge !!). Only comment I would make is the resturant can be hit and miss regarding food quality and some of the waiting on staff in the evening need to be trained in the art of customer service !!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Baby_BMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your time with us, we are so pleased that our hotel and clean, comfortable rooms ensured your stay was a good. Our team members especially Carol will be delighted to receive your feedback, our team our committed to delivering the highest level of service to our guests and your feedback is so important to us in our continued endeavours to provide our guests with this service. Thanks for your comments regarding the service in our restaurant please be assured this will be followed up by the Management team at our hotel. Thanks again for your review we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

Over the last four months I have stayed at this hotel on five visits normally lasting from a couple of days to a week. The service I have received has varied tremendously from visit to visit.

Check in is normally hassle free but at times they could do with somebody else on duty when it gets busy. The rooms themselves are generally clean, although last time I had to hunt for the TV remote control which was under the bed with some rubbish from the previous occupants. As previous people have said the TV channels are of very limited choice. However, the bathroom has always been clean and the shower (in the bath) powerful and warm.

The heating in all the rooms is somewhat interesting as there are large convection heaters. These can be set to a temperature but I found them very noisy, especially if it turns itself off and then you fall to sleep only for it to come on again with a loud rumble half an hour later so I normally just get the room warm and then turn it off for the night. The noise from the motorway (A1m) is tolerable but I probably wouldn't want to open the window. For noise the worst room I have had in this hotel is on the ground floor facing the car park as people were smoking and talking outside, cars parking right next to the room, the usual noises from people in the corridor and adjacent bathrooms.

I've had breakfast several times when staying here. I had the same waitress each time and found her to be very friendly. The continental buffet seems good value but the quality of the full English has been poor so I no longer bother with that. In the evenings I've never bothered eating in the restaurant, around 10 minutes walk away there is a "leisure park complex" with cinema, bowling and many restaurants including Ask, Pizza Hut, Aroma Chinese restaurant, Prezzo, Nandos, KFC, McDonalds, Chiquito and Frankie and Bennys. I've only tried Ask, Aroma, Pizza Hut , Prezzo and McDonalds so far but all seemed reasonably nice and offer much better choice than the hotel menu. There is also a Tesco on the other side of the leisure park (proceed to far side of leisure park go up the ramp, through the railway station and across the bridge then turn left and it is approx 100m away).

Generally I stay at this hotel for its convenience. On the rare times that I have managed to book a room for £29 per night it seems exceptional value for money and reasonable quality accommodation. However, the usual price I have had to pay is around £65 and for no frills accommodation that occasionally isn't perfect this seems far too expensive.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricor29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2010
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver the highest level of service in all our establishments. Your comments regarding our hotel have been noted and will be duly followed up by the Management Team. Premier Inn have many rooms from £29 these rooms are subject to availability and will need to be booked a minimum of 21 days prior to arrival. Once again thank you for your continued custom and taking the time to review your stays, your feedback is invaluable to us in our endeavours to providing our guests with the best service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

This Premier Inn is OK except for the fact that my room appeared to have a poorly fitted window which let in the noise of the nearby A1 and the low flying aircraft (presumably taking off from or approaching Luton). Otherwise it is fine. Unusually for a Premier Inn, this has it's own bar / restaurant not a pub next door.
There is pay as you go WiFi provided by Spectrum. I was tempted to use this as I could only get a GPRS connection on my O2 Dongle. For a Premier Inn in the middle of a business district, this is shameful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

We have stayed at this Travel inn a few weekends running now, was dissapointed with the few t.v channels on the tv, no freeview at all couldnt even get channel 5. my partner likes it cos it is clean and we got to relax.


1st weekend we stayed 1st night ok, second very noisy in the corridor you could hear everything people arguing, shouting, laughing when mentioned this to the receptionist
she said they had workmen staying my partner is a heavy sleeper so didnt affect him.

2nd weekend was good still no improvement with the tv channels.

We have just come back we had breakfast on the first morning waited ages to be seated there was no body to be seen, she did eventialy came out of the kitchen we ordered breakfast and asked for the Bacon to be well done,, came back very enimick and fatty, sent it back twice then came back good and crispy, there was only brown bread (4 slices) there was only dryed fresh fruit (small amount) the time was 9.30 food was then being taken away by this time it was nearly 10am. no smiles from the waitress
she looked tired.

on the Sat we put the towels out to be changed, they were taken away but not replaced
nor was the tea/coffee or milks left, that night i had 4hours sleep again through the noise in the corridors seemed busy that night


come on premier you have a lovely hotel since we have been staying we have seen the difference in service, please put more channels on the T.V's and the noise in the corridors could do with looking at now most hotels have freeview for the same amount of money we have paid per night, may be re-train some staff on the breakfast and some on the room cleaning to replace things.
could do with looking at and breakfast

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online guest Relations at Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to delivery a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. I can assure this is not the service we aim to provide and your feedback has been noted by the Management team at our hotel and at Head Office and will be investigated. Once again thank you for your review and please accept our apologies that we did not meet your expectations during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groomsport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

Ideally placed for access to A1(M) motorway or Stevenage railway station. Took this on the £29 per room deal and whilst breakfast was £7.50 pp extra it was well worth it. Large comfortable room with super king size bed. All facilities availabe, only down side was the lack of a 2nd bath towel. Had to ask reception 2 days running for extra. They have an ingenious card swipe system that operates the lifts/stair door to prevent non residents accessing the upper floors but beware if one of you has to come back down as the card also works the lights and so if you go without it you won't be able to get back in the lift!!

It has a reasonable bar and offers evening meals (not tested). Breakfast had a good range of buffet and fully cooked, served with a smile and has an `eat as much as you like' policy.

Great value for money (normal rate is £45 per night)

Wi-fi costs £5 for the first hour

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cats_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2009
Thank you for your review.
It is good to know that our location, hotel and breakfast facilities ensured you had an enjoyable stay.
Our staff are more than happy it issue more than one Key Card to our guests, just let them know when you check in.
It is great that you made your booking using our £29 offer, we are just one of many Premier Inn hotels available at this price, our website has all the details.
We hope to see you again in the future at Premier Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stevenage hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#6 of 11 in Stevenage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Stevenage North Hotel
1.1 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#2 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
#7 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel
Address: Six Hills Way | Horizon Technology Park, Stevenage SG1 2DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stevenage
#2 Business Hotel in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet setting near Knebworth House with direct links to London, Hertford and Welwyn Garden City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel Stevenage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing