We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good rooms, shame about the 'free' breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good rooms, shame about the 'free' breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have recently stayed in the above hotel, and would like to pass on my experience.
the room, bed, duvet, pillows, shower and general cleanliness were all top notch, very impressed. also the cleaners were fast and efficient.
however, the breakfast buffet completely let the whole visit down.
the brochure says 'free' breakfast. obviously the costs are incorporated in the room prices, and I think the hotel would do much better just lowering the cost of the rooms, and charging for breakfast, if people want it.
the sausages were luke warm and poor quality, there wasn't any choice of eggs, or vegetables with hot breakfast. the crossants were stale, muffins inedible, bread for toasting too thin, and no trays, so you had to walk back and forth to collect your food and drinks. the coffee was amazing, and for me, made up for lack of food, but my family were not impressed. do yourself a favour, and just opt for outside brekky!
the card key is very sensitive too, so has to be re-programmed over and over again, allowing entry into your room!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
May I sincerely apologise for the fact that you have been given cause to contact us regarding your visit to the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage.

The quality of our food and service is of paramount importance to us and I was therefore very disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction. We make every effort to ensure food is promptly delivered and at the correct temperature and quality, so that our guests can enjoy our food at its best.

We pride ourselves on the standards of food and service we provide and on this occasion we have let you and ourselves down. I am extremely sorry that the quality of service you received was not to your satisfaction. I fully appreciate how upsetting this must have been for you.

I have discussed the issues you raised with my Team Members during our shift meeting and I have strongly reinforced the systems and procedures we have to avoid this happening again in the future

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience and upset caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    210
    132
    32
    12
See reviews for
94
124
58
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
177 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night and we did find It a bit warm and noisy in our room on The ground level. We overheared The kitchencrew cleaning up in The evening and preparing breakfast in The morning. We stayed just below The kitchen in room 9. Parking is very public and we were a bit stressed about that because we had The car packed for a camptrip. Good breakfast!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Spot1647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage.

At the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us and I am very sad to hear we didn't meet your standards I will raise all your points with my team

we look to forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed overnight on 12th July 2014 as part of a coach trip to see a show in London . It was part of the package that we had a hotel on the outskirts of London.
The place was very clean and comfortable.I requested a ground floor disabled room and was carered for.
The evening meal provided was like a ready meal and rather bland and tasteless whilst the starter and dessert was fine. We had to choose from a list with not much variety.Shall we say it was adequate as we were all tired and hungry.
It has a bar/lounge/diner very clean and relaxing.Continental breakfast buffet style was available in the morning and was lots better than expected.
The hotel is in the centre of town and a Witherspoons is close by if you wanted to dine out.I would stay again as the hospitality was very good and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Any floor really unless disabled then groun floor is ideal but they do have a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwendoline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage.

At the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us and I am very happy to hear you found our rooms to be comfortable and to your needs

we look to forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July 2014. It's location is close to the train station (5 minute walk), shops and restaurants. Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was decent. Staff was nice. It is pricey but what hotel in the London area isn't?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skorkmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage.

At the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us and I am very happy to hear you found our rooms to be comfortable and to your needs

we look to forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
556 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We used this hotel as a stopover before travelling into central London by train the next day, (£6.70 to park for most of the day at the nearby train station, £20 each for anytime return tickets to Kings Cross - with 5 of us that combination was much cheaper and more convenient than travelling further south to park and stay in central London).
Unexpected closures of the A1 meant we arrived very late, we still found a metered space at the rear of the hotel (free until 8.30am the next day) and we were greeted cheerfully by the reception staff. While other reviewers may have had a poor experience with staff, we certainly did not, they were friendly and helpful despite it being so late.
Only minor gripe is that despite booking family rooms, none of these had bedding for the sofabeds. This has happened in other chains too, so I guess it is common practice to keep the extra bedding in their linen store until customers ask for it. This just meant we had a short delay before the sofabed was ready for use.
Other than that general point about family rooms, the stay was short, good value and exactly what you'd expect, which is to me the strongest point of HIE as a brand - it is very consistent and reliable. You'd need a good reason to choose to stay in Stevenage (as it seems a very unremarkable place) but if you did then the HIE will probably be all that you need.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
At the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us and I am very happy to hear you found our rooms to be comfortable and to your needs

We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here on the weekend of Sonisphere, as a result the hotel was pretty busy. The staff were exceptionally warm and welcoming and set us up for a great weekend. There was a basic breakfast available but we didnt try it, favouring a full fry from the adjacent Witherspoons.

the rooms were as youd expect in this level of hotel, practical, functional and clean. Parking is available for a reduced rate in the nearby long stay car park.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
At the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us and I am very happy to hear you found our rooms to be comfortable and to your needs

We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I used this place recently on business and my wife came with me as an IHG member I would have expected better having stayed in numerous hotels in this group, staff not interested when booking in just like a factory line, next. Yes they were busy but polite they were not, one does not expect this from IHG If I go to that area I will choose the Holiday Inn which was not available at the time. Would not stay here again, would not recommend.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
May I sincerely apologise for the fact that you have been given cause to contact us regarding your visit to the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage.

The quality of our service is of paramount importance to us and I was therefore very disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction.

We pride ourselves on the standards of service we provide and on this occasion we have let you and ourselves down. I am extremely sorry that the quality of service you received was not to your satisfaction. I fully appreciate how upsetting this must have been for you.

I have discussed the issues you raised with my Team Members during our shift meeting and I have strongly reinforced the systems and procedures we have to avoid this happening again in the future

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience and upset caused. If I can be of further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stevenage hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#6 of 11 in Stevenage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#4 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
1.2 mi away
Archways Lodge Hotel
Archways Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Stevenage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stevenage North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

Property: Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Address: Danestrete, Stevenage SG1 1XB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Stevenage is located off Junction 7 of the A1(M) and is situated in the heart of Stevenage town centre. This Stevenage Hotel is within easy access to bus and train links providing a fast direct rail service to central London and around Hertfordshire, making the hotel an ideal location for both business and leisure travel. If you are travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express, Stevenage is within easy walking and driving distance to some of the local companies within Stevenage such has DuPont, MDBA, Fujitsu and Glaxo SmithKline. London Luton Airport is only 13 miles from the hotel. With the hotel being located within the heart of Stevenage a number of good restaurants and pubs are all within walking distance. If you're looking for that short weekend break or time to relax again the hotel is an ideal choice. Offering family rooms, why not explore the local area and attractions such has Knebworth House, Hatfield House, Welwyn Garden City, cathedral city of St Albans. Take a show at the Gordon Craig Theatre or visit Stevenage leisure Park. Visit London or Cambridge Stay at this excellent Stevenage hotel and ask about our low rates. The hotel also offers 4 meeting rooms. All rooms are newly refurbished, en suite, fully air conditioned with free Wifi and freeview TV. We have a small car park with limited spaces for disable guests, but local parking at discounted rates is available. Guests also benefit from a buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Stevenage Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing