We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Certificate of Excellence
York, UK
Level Contributor
485 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Another good stay”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night (a Saturday).

As usual we arrived by train and from the station it's just a five minute walk to the hotel.

When we arrived (about 8.30pm) there seemed to be only one member of staff on duty. He was busy serving drinks at the adjacent bar so we had a short wait to be checked-in. The staff member was friendly and apologised for us having to wait.

Our room was on the first floor and was clean and comfortable. The mattress in our room was a little too soft but we had a very good nights sleep and heard no noise - either from outside or other guest returning at unearthly hours.

We went for breakfast at 8am and were slightly dissappointed (I think we were expecting the same range as a Holiday Inn Express we last stayed at in France). There were Sausages, Bake Beans, Scambled Egg, (reasonably stale) Croissants, Pain Au Chocolat, Yoghurts, Cheese, Cereals and drinks - orange, tea coffee etc.

No disrespect the residents of Stevenage but there's not a lot to do in this town and, as before, we only stayed here because of a very cheap deal and it's ideal for London (just over 20 minutes by train) without paying London prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    215
    133
    33
    12
See reviews for
98
130
58
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Despite filling in a complaint and trying to follow it up we have received no reply from Holiday Inn Express. We booked and paid for three rooms in advance, and they could only find the details for two rooms: They told us Sunday breakfast was available from 7am until 11am, when we arrived at 10.30am everything had been packed up - we didn't get a refund: all three rooms were infested with black mould around the windows behind the net curtains and clearly hadn't been cleaned in months. When we informed the receptionist he said that the manager would be calling us. He or she didn't. Not a nice experience, wouldn't wish it on anyone. Oh and no ice in the bar!!! ps parking a nightmare...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonfire17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear CMSalamian,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

stayed here many times when we go see family friends got to say it has improved a lot , breakfast was so much better,the only problem is the parking.It is in a good location close to town centre where this a choice of shops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and continued business.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express Was just about Acceptable but there were quite a few problems with our 2 night stay:
1st Parking is difficult my wife is disabled and although there are about 5-6 disabled bays these were taken up by non disabled guests (no blue badge displayed) with the authority of the hotel.
3. breakfast on 2nd morning no hot food due to technical problem.
4. Needs better communication between staff at reception as different people know different answers about the same questions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear cathchris,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This chain of hotels is not as good as it's competitor in the market of buget/basic hotels.
The beds feel cheap under your back, the pillows are the wost I have encountered for a while. I tried stacking all 4 pillows so as it sit up to watch TV on the bed but even then their lack of stuffing failed to give me a comfy position.
The duvet felt so light when on you it did not feel warm and cosy. The room was clean and tidy and so was the bath room. They could do better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purserMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear purserMonaco,

Thank you for your recent stay and your feedback.

I'm sorry that you did not experience a decent nights sleep due to the mattress and pillows. Please rest assured that we are aware of this issue and are awaiting delivery of brand new beds.

I do hope that you will use the Holiday Inn Express brand again, and I hope that you do return to ours.

Kind regards,
Martin Reeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 1 night recently, very limited parking at the hotel, only a few spaces at the back. Even though we arrived early they were full. HI Expres has an arrangement with Matalan opposite that you can park free between 5pm and 9 am, get a voucher at reception to put on your dashboard. There is also an arrangement with local multi-story, I think about £3.50 for 24 hours. We used Asda car park where you can park for 2.5 hours for £2 which is refunded if you buy £5 in store, then used Matalan for the evening!
Check-in was OK but there seemed to have been a mix-up and I had to fill in my details after crossing out someone elses!! they blamed it on Expedia!!!
Room very clean and big enough. Tea/coffee making facilities. Fixed bottles of hand wash and shower/hair wash in bathroom.
Breakfast was fine, plenty of food, scrambled eggs/beans/sausage, fruit etc
We used local Weatherspoons, turn right as you exit hotel, only a few yards. There is also a shopping precinct very close.
We walked to Stevenage Football club, only took about 15 mintes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugWimborne_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and positive feedback.

Parking yes is very limited, but we do have a number of options as you mentioned which are available to you. Being a town centre location hotel, its dificult to have our own parking lot to cover 129 rooms.

I'm sorry to hear you had an issue at check in, unfortuantely when you book through certain travel agents they will only send us your name. They will not pass on your address details.

Again thank you very much for your stay, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin Reeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Went to a friends anniversary party, needed a hotel nearby so stayed here. The gentleman on reception was polite and professional. I said" Family room, talk to me!". He said "£50" I said "I can't deal with that price. You take Terry Tibbs out for lunch, you wine and dine him, you give him an oil massage, and then he gives you six of the best... If you're lucky. Lemme tickle you. I'll put my little index finger under your chin, give it a little wiggly wig, and you'll say "Terry, I'll take £39 including breakfast". I won't say I'll sing it.... This hotel is clean and tidy for the price.

Only problem was there was nowhere to park the Maserati 500, had to park on the street.

Apart from that its a good hotel.

Thank you very much and good night.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TibbsTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear TibbsTerry,

Thank you for your entertaining review.

I'm pleased you liked our £39 rate including breakfast. Parking is an issue at the hotel, but we do have an agreement with Matalan across the road which gives you free and secure parking for your Maserati 500.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Martin Reeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenage
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#4 of 11 in Stevenage
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
483 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#3 of 11 in Stevenage
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
#7 of 11 in Stevenage
23 reviews
1.2 mi away
Archways Lodge Hotel
Archways Lodge Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stevenage
215 reviews
2.5 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

Property: Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Address: Danestrete, Stevenage SG1 1XB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Stevenage is located off Junction 7 of the A1(M) and is situated in the heart of Stevenage town centre. This Stevenage Hotel is within easy access to bus and train links providing a fast direct rail service to central London and around Hertfordshire, making the hotel an ideal location for both business and leisure travel. If you are travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express, Stevenage is within easy walking and driving distance to some of the local companies within Stevenage such has DuPont, MDBA, Fujitsu and Glaxo SmithKline. London Luton Airport is only 13 miles from the hotel. With the hotel being located within the heart of Stevenage a number of good restaurants and pubs are all within walking distance. If you're looking for that short weekend break or time to relax again the hotel is an ideal choice. Offering family rooms, why not explore the local area and attractions such has Knebworth House, Hatfield House, Welwyn Garden City, cathedral city of St Albans. Take a show at the Gordon Craig Theatre or visit Stevenage leisure Park. Visit London or Cambridge Stay at this excellent Stevenage hotel and ask about our low rates. The hotel also offers 4 meeting rooms. All rooms are newly refurbished, en suite, fully air conditioned with free Wifi and freeview TV. We have a small car park with limited spaces for disable guests, but local parking at discounted rates is available. Guests also benefit from an inclusive buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Stevenage Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing