We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent enough hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Decent enough hotel”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The location was ideal, in that it wasn't too far from everything in the centre - but at the same time wasn't situated in the most desirable part of town. The staff were welcoming and the breakfast well above expectations compared to what you usually get in a hotel. The big chairs in the lounge area were brilliant to sink into with a book and a drink at the end of the night.

The room was pleasant with a good sized telly and bathroom, along with comfortable beds. Only concern would be that we requested a wake up call for 8:15 which didn't come, fortunately we'd woken up anyway. Still, a basic error that shouldn't have been made.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discobadgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear discobadgers,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Firstly allow me to apologise for you not receiving your wake up call. As you rightly said, this is a basic error and I will make sure all of my Front of House team are made aware.

We work extremely hard on customer service, and I'm glad to see that you had a pleasant experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Martin Reeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    212
    133
    32
    12
See reviews for
95
126
58
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Being a regular Holiday Inn user and a Platinum member of the priority club card program, I decided to use up some points at the Holiday Inn Express in Stevenage as our daughter was playing in a tennis competitiuon nearby. We arrived on Saturday at 16:00 and firstly there was no where to park and we had to park in a nearby car park at the rate of £1:00 per hour!!! At Check in the staff were solem and unfriendly, when I asked about the parking I was abruptly informed that therewas no parking available at the hotel. I was greeted as a Platinum member and offered a complimentry bottle of water (25Cl between 4 of us) There was no upgrade offered and when I asked about complimentry Wi FI I was informed that it was free in the lobby!!
The hotel in tidy and clean but the rooms are very small. My biggest gripe of all was the bed. I use IHG hotels for the quality of the mattresses and I think this one had been missed when they were changed as it was an old sprung mattress that bowed in the middle and had to be the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever slept on (room 504). we also only got 4 pillows for the 4 ot us and 3 towels. The hotel does light snacks and there is only the bar area to sit Not ideal for kids when the football is on!!!! All in all a bad experience.

Room Tip: Stay at the Holiday Inn which is about 500 metres from this Express
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flak88London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please allow me to apologise for the dissapointing experience you had while staying with us.

We take negative comments very seriously, and would like to discuss this further with you.

Please contact me on the email address below.

Kind regards,
Martin Reeves
Deputy Manager
sgsm@hiexpressstevenage.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I often stay here when working in and around London as it is close to Stevenage Station which has regular trains to central London taking about 25 mins.
This hotel is great value for money, rooms are clean and spacious and staff friendly.
There is no restaurant but snacks are available as are takeaway menus. The Medusa Restaurant is a 3 min walk away and they have an arrangement with the hotel where you can sign your bill to your room and settle up when you check out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you find the hotel good value.

We work hard with housekeeping and the front desk team, and it's good to hear that you had a positive experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin Reeves
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Chailey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Right in centre of town but quiet. Breakfast plentiful and hot but would not want to be there with too many other people, not much space! Rooms adequate and beds comfy. Reception staff very helpful as parking a problem. Overall better than expected.

Room Tip: Ask for room opposite side of hotel to local nightclub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianroyston3059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, I'm glad to read that it was better than expected.

Guest feedback does not go un-noticed and as a positive result of yours, we now have a system in place that informs guests of our busy breakfast periods.

I hope that you will return to us in the future,

Kind regards,
Martin Reeves
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed here on business recently and it was absolutely fine. Good value for money and the hotel is centrally located in Stevenage town centre.
The room was comfortable with a small double bed and a pull out sofa. There was an LCD TV with freeview channels and an en-suite shower room. The shower worked well.
It is around ten minutes walk to Stevenage railway station with frequent trains to London taking around 25 minutes. The bus station is just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel as is the new-town centre which has a large selection of shops.
Breakfast is included and it's ok.
Very good service at the reception desk and the bar too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crinse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and positive feedback.

We do benefit from being a town centre hotel, and being close to public transport links is a massive plus point for our guests.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin Reeves
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed a couple of times in the last year - always good value and reasonably comfortable in the usual HI Express way. Breakfast is free but no great shakes. Surprised at lack of free wifi in the room but you can get it for free in the lobby in 30 minute blocks with a voucher. Snacks available but I got a take-away delivered (good Indian - cant remember the name) organised by reception and put on the hotel bill which was handy. Also just down the road from the bus stop for London and 5 mins from the train station. Works...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMHGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay, and your feedback.

I'm pleased to hear that you found our hotel good vaule. It is the 'Express' way to provide our guests with comfortable lodging options.

We do benefit from being a town centre location hotel with easy access to public transport, and I'm glad to hear that you agree.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I recently stayed here for budsiness I was arriving late so I let reception know the girl was Very polite and profession and stated that she's on all night which was a good thing. When arrived I greeted by a young girl she was welcoming and check in was nice and smooth. The rooms need updating but I was only here for 1 night air con take ages to warm up but was so tired I didn't notice it much . Breakfast is very basic need more choice. But overall my stay was ok I would say you have very good staff here professional , friendly thank you to young girl for helping me with my stuff

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uknown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

I'm extremely please that you found my staff professional and friendly. As a group we work very hard on making sure our guests have the best experience possible.

A few of our rooms do need updating, the hotel now being 7 years old, these very few rooms have been neglected. However, requests have been made to Head Office to have these rooms re-vamped.

I hope that this will not stop you from staying with us again,

Martin Reeves
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stevenage hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#6 of 11 in Stevenage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#3 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.2 mi away
Archways Lodge Hotel
Archways Lodge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Stevenage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
#7 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

Property: Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Address: Danestrete, Stevenage SG1 1XB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Stevenage is located off Junction 7 of the A1(M) and is situated in the heart of Stevenage town centre. This Stevenage Hotel is within easy access to bus and train links providing a fast direct rail service to central London and around Hertfordshire, making the hotel an ideal location for both business and leisure travel. If you are travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express, Stevenage is within easy walking and driving distance to some of the local companies within Stevenage such has DuPont, MDBA, Fujitsu and Glaxo SmithKline. London Luton Airport is only 13 miles from the hotel. With the hotel being located within the heart of Stevenage a number of good restaurants and pubs are all within walking distance. If you're looking for that short weekend break or time to relax again the hotel is an ideal choice. Offering family rooms, why not explore the local area and attractions such has Knebworth House, Hatfield House, Welwyn Garden City, cathedral city of St Albans. Take a show at the Gordon Craig Theatre or visit Stevenage leisure Park. Visit London or Cambridge Stay at this excellent Stevenage hotel and ask about our low rates. The hotel also offers 4 meeting rooms. All rooms are newly refurbished, en suite, fully air conditioned with free Wifi and freeview TV. We have a small car park with limited spaces for disable guests, but local parking at discounted rates is available. Guests also benefit from an inclusive buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Stevenage Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing