We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and comfortable but room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We travelled as a coach party of 50. The check in was pretty quick, the staff very helpful at reception. The place was very clean and rooms very comfortable. Meal time , Oh dear what a shambles. The whole dinning set up was atrocious, the meals were buffet style with small plates on which you couldn't get a lot on. Two young lads serving, no way they could cope (not their fault) they were under a lot of pressure. Some of the party had to wait for chips/wedges to be brought out after the first lot had run out, that took about 25 mins. In the mean time the ones that had eaten their meal were served with a choice of fresh fruit or black forest gateau.. again we had to wait some 15-20mins for the fresh cream to be brought out. The food consisted of chilli con carne or chicken casserole with rice, wedges, vegatables and was not too bad considering the price of the holiday. In the morning i don't think there could be many complaints about the breakfast. Plenty of everything and it was a help yourself operation. The only observation was were the toaster was placed, it was holding the queue up. Apart from that breakfast serving was okay. The place is somewhere good to stay but management need to plan a different way to serve the meals to a large group, provide better plates and employ more staff. When these points are sorted out then it would be an ideal place for any one to stay and i would recommend it.

Room Tip: Any room as they are all very clean and comfortable. As far as i'm aware there should'nt be...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your break over all. With reference to the dinner service you are right in your statement that we were short staffed and I can only apologise for your somewhat disappointing experience. I do however, thank you for your nice comments regarding breakfast.

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 559 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have just returned from a week in the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage.The overall appearance and cleanliness of the hotel was as i have expected in other HIE hotels where I feel it fell down was the following items. The limited free car parking. the small tv with a limited choice of channels what happened to what is the norm now of a flat screen with freeview and finally no restaurant on site taking all these into consideration why is the WiFi such extortionate cost £12 for 24 hours. The only other complaint I have is I had to approach reception for a toilet roll when normally there is one in use and one spare.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronski1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Postive and negative feedback allows me to see the areas that are in need of improvement.

Unfortunately, yes we do have very limited car parking available. However, after 5pm we can provide you with vouchers to use the Matalan car park opposite which is free until 9am to following morning.

The WiFi is provided by an external company who have their own set prices. Unfortunately this is something out of our control and can not change. However we do have free WiFi available in the lobby, although only limited to 30minute vouchers, you can help yourself to as many as you require.

Kind regards,
Christian Holfve
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Another business week means yet another Holiday Inn Express.

I have stayed in this one a few times and once you can negiotate the complicated parking procedures you are well set.

I paid for a business package which included wifi (took a couple of goes to get a code that worked) and also parking. 2 options for parking at this hotel, either on the pay car park at the back of the hotel or you can park in the Matalan car park at the front of the hotel as linf as you grab a paper permit from the reception desk.

Back to the hotel, check in was quick and easy.

My room was clean and comfortable and unlike the one in Bedford the previous week this one was warm with working heating!

Breakfast was OK, did the job and being it was free you can't complain.

I would pick this hotel every time I visit Stevenage on business as it is very well located, and reasonably priced.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkyP264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your continued loyalty to our hotel, it pleases me that you would pick our hotel over the many other hotels in Stevenage.

Positive feedback such as yours is hugely appreciated by myself and my team.

Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Christian Holfve
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Last minute business trip.

Positives - room was clean, staff were polite, handy location.

Negatives - Heating in room didn't work (staff were aware when I asked them but it wasn't mentioned at check in, it would have been nice to be told and offered alternative at check in). Tv remote was battered, most of the buttons didn't work. Water in shower was barely warm in evening (fine in morning)

Breakfast was ok but steer clear of the orange juice.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveTheBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We used this hotel as a base for a weekend in London.
It is 5 mins walk to the station and then 20 mins into Kings Cross.

We found the hotel to be clean and efficient.
The breakfast was ok.
The bar drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel.
Parking was easy enough as you are in the town centre there is plenty of carparks not expensive either. They offer some free paking on the Matalan opposite aswell.
The town itself is a little shabby. We went for a drink in the wetherspoons next door and found it a tad bouistrous but everyone was friendly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulevans1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian_Holfve, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage.

I'm glad that you found parking easy, it is one of our biggest struggles as we only have very limited spaces at the back of the hotel.

I do hope you enjoyed your weekend in London, hopefully we will see you again for another visit.

Kind regards,
Christian Holfve
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

First point to make is that it is a budget hotel so you shouldn't expect too many frills but it's the simple things that need looking after....the soap dispenser in the shower was empty which meant having to reach out to the dispenser over the sink so water went over the floor. The coffee is probably the worst I've ever tasted...I would suggest if you want a decent drink in your room take your own coffee. In the Breakfast Bar although it was the same supplier it didn't taste quite so bad (but certainly not good enough to have a second cup)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew_wyrobek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were so dissapointed with this. We arrived on the Friday and it turned out that they coudl not find our booking. They also appeared to have lost another persons booking who arrived at the same time.

They managed to find us a room but we had a 2 night stay and we were moved the second night to a smoking room with dirty carpets and a very strong smell of smoke.

We were highly unimpressed. However the breakfast was up to the usual Holiday Inn Express standard.

Room Tip: Book online and take the reference - I booked by phone and somethign definatley went wrong.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stiegldrinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Stiegldrinkers,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. I'd like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so I have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stevenage hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#6 of 11 in Stevenage
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
503 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#3 of 11 in Stevenage
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cromwell
Hotel Cromwell
#7 of 11 in Stevenage
54 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Roebuck Inn
The Roebuck Inn
#10 of 11 in Stevenage
112 reviews
1.2 mi away
Archways Lodge Hotel
Archways Lodge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Stevenage
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

Address: Danestrete, Stevenage SG1 1XB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range: $50 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage is located near Junction 7 of the A1(M) in the heart of Stevenage town centre, within easy access to bus and train. London Luton Airport is only 13 miles from the hotel. Tasty meals are served in the lounge and a number of good restaurants and pubs are within walking distance. If you're looking for that short weekend break or time to relax again the hotel is an ideal choice. Offering family rooms, why not explore the local area and attractions such has Knebworth House, Hatfield House, Welwyn Garden City, cathedral city of St Albans. Take a show at the Gordon Craig Theatre or visit Stevenage leisure Park. The hotel also offers 4 meeting rooms. All bedrooms are cosy and convenient with en suites, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat screen TV. Guests also benefit from an inclusive buffet breakfast. Parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Stevenage Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing