We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, pleasant, clean & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Archways Lodge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Certificate of Excellence
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Quirky, pleasant, clean & comfortable”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Have regularly used this hotel on a weekly basis for many years when working away from home in preference to the anonymous chain hotels. Basically it is a large house & a bungalow divided up into en-suite bedrooms each with a mini-kitchen, including a microwave & fridge (there is no restaurant). Rooms are VERY clean, comfortable & contemporary. The hotel is a 5 minute walk into the pleasant Stevenage Old Town where there is a wide range of restaurants and pubs, and 5 minute drive to railway station and modern leisure park with cinema, bowling and chain restaurants. Hotel staff are very friendly & helpful, and when reception is closed at night they are contactable by phone. The hotel has good off street parking. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_DoubleU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    37
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
65
35
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thanks to the staff at Archways lodge for making me feel so welcome during my long stay,
The room was excellent, very comfortable, quiet and clean. The hotel is situated very close to the old town where you can find lots of eating places. There is a large car-park with security cameras and the hotel itself feels very safe. The staff were always ready to help and looked after me really well during my stay. I would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Waited 10 mins on the doorstep for someone to arrive or answer the bell - and only found an Irish lady by phoning the number on the door. She didn't sound too welcoming but was reasonably friendly by the time she arrived by car!
Room small but clean. Towels are a joke and pitifully small and thin. No hair-dryer which was a surprise.
Unfortunately kept awake by party going on next door (to right as you look at the building). Nobody around in the morning - just left keys in a box.
Fine for a clean bed if that's all you want but not somewhere to return to in a hurry

Room Tip: Don't have the music room if on a sunny weekend - dark by day, party by night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2CAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Booked as a last minute decision to stay over when attending a wedding nearby, so we didn't get a chance to look around the internet - and we were really lucky here! Nice room, decor (16), friendly staff, very comfy bed,fab shower............best of all, as there is no restaurant, each room has coffee, tea, biscuits, juice, crisps, fridge, microwave and kettle - brilliant for flexibility eg with breakfast times. Not far from the town centre too so hopefully we will be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AslanRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Archways Lodge. The staff were incredibly friendly on arrival and throughout my stay. My room was excellent and the level of cleanliness was absolutely top class. The mini kitchen situated in the room was very useful aswell as unique. The room overall was perfect for the nature of my stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2012

A very lovely welcome as we arrived very friendly, value for money our room was fantastic,we had a twin room but it had its own kitchen fridge microwave very good, and the bed was so soft home from home.

Big bonus huge car park so no worring about parking our car or paying out

Would come back most certain of that,keep up the good standard

Lee Plymouth

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leelee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my partner to attend a wedding locally. We were greeted by friendly staff, who offerred to help with our bags!! How refreshing! The room was lovely, very clean and the mini kitchen was really well equiped, with a fridge, microwave and kettle. It was nice not to have to be up early for breakfast and we brought our own supply of food which suited us very well.
The 'welcome basket' was a nice touch with free snacks, such as crisps, biscuits, orange juice and tea/coffee.
We could not fault the cleanliness of the rooms, Very comfy beds.
When we visit Stevenage again, we will definately stay here, as it is very close to our friends and the quaint Old Town of Stevenage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenage
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#4 of 11 in Stevenage
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
#7 of 11 in Stevenage
23 reviews
2.1 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#3 of 11 in Stevenage
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
1.6 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archways Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archways Lodge Hotel

Property: Archways Lodge Hotel
Address: 11 Hitchin Road, Stevenage SG1 3BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Archways Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Archways Lodge Hotel you're not a number - you're a name. Which is why all our studio - apartment rooms are individually named (not numbered) and decorated with attitude, a splash of colour and style. From the ultra-cool of the 'Alaska' to the 'African' tribal vibe or the funky 'Music' and many more besides, your Zizz room is as individual as you are! Fully equipped with satellite TV, en suite bathroom, Scandinavian kitchen with fridge and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Archways Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing