We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Indian meal - not to be missed”
Review of The Roebuck Inn

The Roebuck Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Roebuck Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The service and food at the restaurant was great. The food tasted like it had been freshly cooked and it was well presented. English food is available but I would go back just for the Indian food. The English breakfast was cooked as I asked. The DBB package was excellent value. The room was large and clean. There was a bar to sit in in the evening. In January the hotel was quiet but it deserves to be better used as the staff were excellent. The hotel overall needs a bit of attention to the decor and that is why I didn't give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 115 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed for a day. Small but nice Hotel. Reception and breakfast staff was very friendly. Rooms was clean and fresh. Free WiFi. Restaurant was bit dull but food was nice.
Hotel manager Mr. Andrew was very friendly and very helpful.

will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbakeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is OK for what you pay. Do not expect 5* if you pay 3* prices. Rather shabby reception, they still have single rooms, thought that they were done away with a long time ago.
Free WIFI, decent TV, plenty of hot water. Highlight was the restaraunt, though visually not very appealing, the Indian meal we had was very good. I know, I travel to India very frequently. Breakfast OK

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ________________
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was here for a night on a business trip.
The hotel is ofcourse not modern and is quite different than other Best western I have been in.
It looks like the hotel is under refurbishment.
The check in was not very smooth as they could not find my booking confirmation. It was a long-ish walk to my room which was on the 1st floor and to the other end.
The room was clean but looked a bit jaded.
It has free wifi and was the signal was good.
The good thing was the food. The indian food was good and was very authentic. Loved the taste of it. Would very much recommend the food if you like indian cuisine.
The staff were nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sg2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip. The bedroom was reasonable and the shower was good. I decided to eat in the lounge rather than the dining room but it was rather small and in need of redecorating. Apart from a couple of locals drinking at the bar I dont think there was anyone else using the hotel. The evening meal menu was limited but I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food - the chicken in sauce was very good. Likewise the breakfast was also very good. Food prices very reasonable. £101 for B&B and dinner - not bad at all for Southern prices. Staff are very friendly and service was prompt.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoggy_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked two nights bed and breakfast which we paid for in advance. The B&B rate was cheaper than a travelodge and , being regular Best Western customers, we thought that BW hotels are all to a certain standard so opted for the Roebuck.
We got there in the afternoon and there was a wedding reception going on. The exterior of the property is shabby and it is located next to a road which seems to be used as the local racetrack. The hotel is an Indian restaurant which I suspect is a new addition.
We were allocated room 231 on the first floor in the newer part of the building at the back, apparently to keep us away from the wedding noise.
The room was a family room with a double and single bed. It had dark wood furnishing which was very tired. The window sill needed painting, the window frames were black with dirt and the grubby net curtains had suspicious brown stains and were hanging off the rail.
The bathroom was small and grubby. The extractor fan and shaver light didn't work and the tile grout was very mildewed.
Breakfast on the first morning was an experience...cheap orange juice and tinned fruit. The yoghurt was tasteless and the cooked breakfast was swimming in a combination of grease from the bacon and water from the poached egg...it was inedible to the point that, despite having paid in advance for breakfast on the second day, we didn't take it and went to McDonalds instead!
The restaurant and public rooms that we saw were tired and shabby and smelt dirty.
When we checked out the receptionist didn't say a word, she checked the paperwork, saw there was nothing to pay and said"Okay"...she didn't ask why we hadn't had breakfast, whether we had a nice stay ...nothing!
This is without doubt the worst hotel we have stayed in and the pictures in the brochures and on the web bore no resemblance to the rooms that we saw.
This hotel needs a major cleanup and some serious money spending on it.
They say that you get what you pay for....do not stay there !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel was clean, our room was in the new bit at the back of the hotel and there was a buzzing noise from a vent that kept me awake! Management appologised ! We were there to see the Red Hot Chillis only 20 min walk to the venue, perfect !!! Would stay again if going to Kbebworth, staff were friendly and helpful, but breakfast was cold.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinyb1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stevenage hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#5 of 11 in Stevenage
804 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#7 of 11 in Stevenage
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Cromwell
Hotel Cromwell
#4 of 11 in Stevenage
99 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Abbington
The Abbington
#8 of 11 in Stevenage
89 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roebuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roebuck Inn

Address: Broadwater London Road, Stevenage SG2 8DS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Roebuck Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range: $88 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roebuck Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Roebuck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stevenage
Stevenage Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing