We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be so much better is run properly ”

Old Forge Toby Carvery
Ranked #114 of 173 Restaurants in Stevenage
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Old Forge Toby Carvery. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Stevenage’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We eat here a lot and can not fault the food at all, it's great and never had a bad meal. The only issue is the staff can be a little 'here there and everywhere' and forget about you at times(non intentionally) staff have never been rude and you can see their up against it most the time.

Thank Turkeyjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words, we look forward to having you visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 346 of 413 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We visited recently for dinner at 17:00 on a tuesday night. The place was not very busy but we stood waiting to be seated for around 10 mins. Not sure where all the staff were.

Once we got our food we soon forgot about the poor service and it was beautiful.

So top marks for food but the staff need to get better organised.

Thank FREEJAFFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thanks for the review. It's disappointing to hear the service didn't match up to the food and we'd like to know more. Can you please look out for an email from us? We've requested a few more details. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

During a long business trip and fed up with local hotel choices (often expensive, or anything cheaper deep fried) I stumbled on this carvery. A superb selection of good quality perfectly cooked veggies AND a good selection on meats cooked just right. I have to say the service is first class, and the establishment is well worth a visit for a healthy selection for those away from home on busines. Did I mention the cost? LITERALLY PEANUTS fantastic value which in no way demeans the quality. Well done Toby.

Thank wildyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Thank you very much for choosing to visit us and for leaving your kind review on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful when we receive such good feedback and we have sent you a personal response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We regularly pop in for a cheap bit of dinner as and when we fancy it. We have always had a decent carvery from here and service has always been very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sammts117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Thank you. We are really glad to hear that you were happy with your recent visits to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a chain carvery. Food is always plentiful so has to be value for your money. A lot of people take advantage of that. Staff always polite and friendly. We have booked the back room twice. Last time with 10 crazy rugby under 10's. They coped well as they were wild. Great breakfasts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ryryboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Toby Carvery Old Forge. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Forge Toby Carvery also viewed

Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Kings Langley, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Old Forge Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing