We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel and very kind staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Stevenage Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very nice hotel and very kind staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hello,

I stay more than 2 weeks in this hotel during November 2012.

The staff was very kind and professionnal.
The breakfast was very good (I love their croissants), abundant and fresh.
The room was clean and tidy, and well equipped (full internet broadband included).
The Hotel is 5 minutes from the railway station and just in front of a Tesco supermarket.

I strongly recommend this hotel.

David M.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidAtStv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana Y, General Manager at Ibis Stevenage Centre, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are very lucky to be in such a location that you have everything you could possibly need within walking distance.

We hope to wellcome you back to IBIS in the future.

Kind Regards
Ruslana Yarmolyuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    158
    81
    41
    36
See reviews for
40
90
77
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here recently and thought I'd warm myself through with a nice hot evening meal. Sadly the meal was really only warm and not great quality, it looked like it had been sat under a heater all day. The staff are all nice but save you money on the food and go get a pot noodle from tesco opposite.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poodleabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana Y, General Manager at Ibis Stevenage Centre, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

I am surprised and extremely apologetic to the experience you had when dining in our restaurant. We normally have nothing but good feedback about our food. I will look further into this. I would hope that you will return and use the restuarant again as I am sure that you will not be disapointed.

Kind Regards
Ruslana Yarmalyuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Spent two weeks in total at the IBIS in Stevenage.
Really clean, quiet rooms with all facilities well maintained and working well.
Friendly staff and great service.
Local shopping area (just outside of the door) has everything you could possibly need.
Only 20 minutes walk from a lovely park that has great views, three lakes and a nice little cafe.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dcr349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana Y, General Manager at Ibis Stevenage Centre, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback with regards to your stay with us. We really glad that your stay was enjoyable and we have looked after you.

We are looking forward to welcome you here again in the nearest future.

Kind regards

Ruslana with Ibis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The room was large & modern, clean & warm, the bathroom was modern & clean but a little on the small side. The food was good & reasonably priced but the bar lacked selection. The staff were really friendly & helpful. The location isn't great & parking is in a multi-story across the road & depending on your arrival time (check with hotel) can cost £3.50 a night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana Y, General Manager at Ibis Stevenage Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Mark T,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Ibis Stevenage Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Unfortunatelly we cannot change a location but we are working in partnership with Stevenage council to improve surrounding area.

With regards to comment about parking- we cannot provide our guest with free facilities because we based in town centre and we dont have our own car park.

Looking forward to see you here again so we can discuss your throughts further.

Kind regards

Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stay in this hotel a lot and it is always manned by friendly staff and a clean airy reception area. The rooms are very clean, as is the bathroom. There is the odd niggle now and then which when brought to the staff's attention is resolved quickly and efficiently. Highly recommended budget hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_James_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana Y, General Manager at Ibis Stevenage Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Ibis Stevenage Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are looking forward to welcome you here again and hopefully you will see even more positive changes.

Kind regards

Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Have been staying here numerous times over a period spanning at least 2 years. Time to pitch in with some good comments.

This hotel punches far above its weight. It is not blessed with the most glamorous location, but at the same time is just a few minutes walk from Stevenage railway station. A cheap day return to London is less than £15, so you can do the value-for-money maths Compared to London hotel prices, whether staying on business or for pleasure. Fast trains take about 20 minutes (they are very fast!).

You do also have a 24hr supermarket directly opposite (for anything you need...)

The facilities have improved gradually over time, and are now very comfortable. You can see some kind of quality programme at work, which is pretty refreshing. Rooms are very comfortable. Broadband coverage has improved, and it is pretty fast (yes, I have tested...) if you need to rely on broadband, mention it when you check in. There are some rooms that are better placed for wifi coverage than others, and the staff will place you accordingly.

Perhaps the nicest thing is the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. They don't change much and they over deliver.

On the suggestions side, I might encourage better use of space in the breakfast area. Breakfast is good, but it can get a little congested, even with just a few guests moving around the tables and the serving area. A few tweaks and perhaps use of the bar area (for us solo people) might help.

Keep up the good work. Many small and consistent improvements over time do make a big difference in the end!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank RobR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana Y, General Manager at Ibis Stevenage Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Ibis Stevenage Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Looking forward to welcome you here again in the nearest future.

Kind regards

Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stay here a lot due to its closeness to a very large sports center, so I've seen it through a lot of iterations.

The refurb of the main reception, cafe/restaurant down stairs is FANTASTIC.

The staff couldn't be more kind and friendly. It looks fresh, clean and posh for the money, if you manage to stay on a good deal (like about £40-50 per room per night incl. breakfast). If you don't get a good value deal, then it might seem like bad value and the Novotel on the motorway junction will seem better value. Get deal, and you've no reason to complain.

The breakfast choice, is HUGE, and on a par with the much larger more expensive hotels. Great coffee/hot chocolate machines, generous help-yourself buffet breakfast, cooked, continental, breads, fruits, cereals. It is a tad small, if you've got a large party - so its a shift system to try and eat together.

The rooms are now much cleaner now that they are hard wood floors, and bathrooms only showers, sadly, but that's space saving. I miss a bath when staying away.

It leaves only the corridors and lift (elevator) entrances to spruce up, but since you don't sleep there unless drunk, that's hardly worth registering.

This incidentally is not a brilliant area of Stevenage, actually only the Old Town Stevenage has any character - so room views are not going to be spectacular, car-parks, dull roofs of boring shop & supermarket buildings. Nothing in this area (industrial/out of town stores) will improve the view. But that's nothing the hotel can do anything about.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OpenmindedAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana Y, General Manager at Ibis Stevenage Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for continuinely using the Hotel Ibis.

We are very proud of our refurbishments and are happy to hear that our guests are also very pleased with the changes.

I agree it is fantastic for it's money and your right there are some very good deals, the best time to get these deals is to book in advance.

You will begin to see more changes in the nearby future, please do give us your feedback.

Kind Regards
Ruslana Yarmalyuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stevenage hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#6 of 11 in Stevenage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#4 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
#7 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Archways Lodge Hotel
Archways Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Stevenage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Stevenage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Stevenage Centre

Property: Ibis Stevenage Centre
Address: Danestrete, Stevenage SG1 1EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Stevenage Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IBIS Stevenage Centre (formerly the Hertford Park Hotel). All 98 bedrooms are fully air conditioned with luxury shower, zip & link kingsize beds, flatscreen TVs with freeview channels, Complementary WiFi. IBIS Stevenage is in the centre of Stevenage, 3 minute walk from the train station, served by the East Coast Main Line and 20 minutes from London Kings Cross St. Pancrass and 20 minutes from Cambridge. 0.5 km from the Leisure park with its multiplex cinemas, bowling alleys and other entertainments. A short drive takes you into the beautiful Hertfordshire countryside and Knebworth House and Luton and Stanstead airports. The IBIS now has a purpose built events centre - The Forum which can cater for up to 620 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Stevenage Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Stevenage Centre Hotel Stevenage
Hotel Accor Stevenage Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing