We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Reading the previous review left me somewhat worried and my expectations were low. I booked through easy-breaks and recieved what i felt was a very good rate for 2 for two nights including breakfast plus dinner on night one.
Rooms and general repair state of the hotel was a little tired but for what i paid what do you expect. The room was comfortable and spacious and breakfast freshly cooked. Good portion sizes.
All the staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. I would happily return and hope the staff are retained under the new management regime.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    89
    73
    31
    15
See reviews for
52
111
12
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Everybody & everything was fantastic on Saturday for the Valentines dinner. The food & service was terrific!
Special mentions to the lovely lady (I think she had a badge on that said Assistant Manager?) that kept us supplied with crisps & peanuts in the bar in the afternoon & the guy on reception at about 11:00 in the evening who brought me a glass of water when I had a coughing fit!!!!
Little things like that mean a lot and are really appreciated!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCromwell, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review of our hotel. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Valentines package and that the team made you feel welcome and valued and also saved you from your coughing fit!

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stevenage is mostly awful, with hotels to match. The only redeeming feature is the Old Town, where this hotel happens to be. It's the only hotel in Stevenage with any character, and compares favourably with the alternative modern boxes that you could choose. The décor is very old-fashioned, flowery wallpaper and the like, but somehow it seems to work in this particular building. Every room is different, which makes it a bit of an adventure waiting to see exactly what you do get. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hs_prd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCromwell, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I may be somewhat biased of our lovely hotel but must say I agree with your analysis of the Stevenage hotel market!

I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, if you return to the area in the future please contact me directly.

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Our son and daughter-in-law were married at The Cromwell last year, and apart from a few minor details it was an excellent venue. The wedding room was comfortable ,warm and delightfully intimate ,although the red carpet was easily rucked which posed a minor trip hazard.The reception was well catered and the food good.the evening venue was spacious ,with plenty of tables and chair for those who didn't wish to dance.The bedrooms were clean warm and comfortable, but the absolute gem in the Cromwell's crown were the staff who were absolutely wonderful. Their helpfulness and commitment to care was exemplary, and nothing seemed too much trouble for them ! So yes I would recommend a stay at The Cromwell and it was a great wedding venue .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCromwell, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. It really is great to receive positive feedback. I have passed these compliments onto the team who were very grateful and pleased to hear they contributed to the enjoyment of your son’s wedding. It’s lovely that after nearly a year you still have fond memories of the hotel.

I trust the team will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford.england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We couldnt believe our luck...nice staff .lovely ambience in the public rooms ,cosy tub chairs.four poster bed yeeha..great parking..and all in the centre of what i would call a bijou market town..absolutely fab..love it..

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jontymonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCromwell, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of our four poster bedrooms. Please contact me when you wish to return and I will endeavour to allocate you the same room if it’s available.

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and i went with friends to the cromwell hotel for New Years Eve, this is the first time we have been to an event there and i must say we were not disappointed . We stayed over night, we had a lovely clean comfortable room. The food was excellent we could not find fault with anything. The disco was really good and created a real party atmosphere.The one thing that stood out for us were the staff, they were all so helpful and polite especially the waiting staff who were mostly young people, nothing was any trouble,they were still smiling at the end of their shift which I am sure was a long one. So well done to you all and thank you for making our evening so enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCromwell, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. It’s so lovely to hear you enjoyed our Hollywood Oscars Ball on New Year’s Eve. I was present at this particular event and always find it’s a fun night for both guests and staff. This year’s plans are already in place for our 1920’s Speakeasy Ball and this event is now on sale so please contact the hotel for details. We look forward to welcoming you back again this year.

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My Husband and I spent New Year's Eve at this hotel. This is the eighth year in a row we, as part of a large group, have spent NYE at the Cromwell and have always had such a good time. This year was no exception. It is excellent value for money and everything was very good indeed. The food (4 course dinner and breakfast the next day) the service and the rooms all exceeded expectations. We stayed in room 102 (one of the older rooms, which we prefer) the bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was spotlessly clean with a good shower. We return to this hotel year after year because it offers us everything we look for and very reasonably priced. The staff are always helpful, polite and very welcoming.

Room Tip: We like the older style rooms and usually stay in the ones over-looking the High Street - having sai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCromwell, General Manager at Cromwell Hotel Stevenage, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your recent tripadvisor review. I trust your comments prove valuable to future guests. It really is great to receive positive feedback, this information is always passed onto the team members and they are rewarded for their efforts.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the celebrations to kick off the New Year. I was present at this particular event and always find it’s a fun night for both guests and staff. New Year’s Eve 2014 is on sale now so please contact the hotel for details, we hope to see you back this year!

Kind regards
Ceri Trela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stevenage hotels
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Archways Lodge Hotel
Archways Lodge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Stevenage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#6 of 11 in Stevenage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#3 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Hotel Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Hotel Stevenage

Property: Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
Address: 27 High Street, Stevenage SG1 3AZ, England (Formerly The Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cromwell Hotel Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage used to be the farmhouse home of John Thurloe, secretary to Oliver Cromwell. The alluring hotel in Stevenage's old town centre combines elements from the past with modern day facilities into a stylish decor. This Stevenage hotel is conveniently located close to the A1. London's Kings Cross station is only a 27-minute train ride away from Stevenage Station, which is just 1 mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cromwell Hotel Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Cromwell Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Ramada Stevenage
Stevenage Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing