We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Wedding Reception and 2 Night Stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cromwell Hotel Stevenage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Arlesey, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Wedding Reception and 2 Night Stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at The Cromwell on the 18th of July on my own the night before my wedding. The staff were amazing and very kind as I think they could see I was a little stressed. I had a very nice dinner in the bar with my mum and then back to the hotel room. The day of wedding the 19th, the staff were just amazing, everything I ordered from the room i.e. food and drink was brought to me straight away and the staff were so friendly and happy.
The main reason for my review is to just say how great The Cromwell hotel was at hosting our wedding reception:
- Charlotte Barrett, Emma and Amy - you guys were so helpful and kind to us and Charlotte you were there every step of the way answering ever question we had. Its a shame you couldn't be on the day but Emma and Amy looked after me very well. Amy the evening manager was an absolute god send, she was very professional and looked after my guest really well.
- The Bar Staff - Mitch and Josh were the best boys ever and kept everyone happy at the bar. The bar was also great because it is in the actual reception hall so everyone can stay in one place and be happy.
- Night Porter - I cant remember his name but he was fantastic and did a great job at taking down all my decorations nicely and keeping them safe for me even when I was drunkenly asking him "what are you doing with that, what are you doing with this"
- Reception staff - I have to say everyone was fantastic and really friendly. First impressions count and the reception staff give the impression you are staying somewhere nice and professional.
- The Bridal Suite - ok so its not the most glamorous bridal suite however it is very reasonably priced and one night came with the wedding reception price 'package'. I will say though that the room I stayed 124 was very spacious (big enough for me and my friend to get ready without feeling stuffy or trapped so to speak) There were two big windows so it was very airy as well. It was also on the first floor and not too far from the hall so me and my husband could stumble there in no time after too much drink.
Just again a big thank you for giving us the best party ever and making it a day to remember forever.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    82
    72
    31
    14
See reviews for
49
103
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My partner and I have just spent a night at the Cromwell.The room was very shabby,there was a big cobbwebb above the wardrobe, the shower sprayed over the bath,we could see this had always happened as the carpet out side was taped down with gaffer tape where the water had soaked it .The bed was clean but we were only left with one large towel between the 2 of us..All night we could hear a generater,so it was a very disturbed night.I would say to anyone stay at the PREMIER INN, which is much better value for money;

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jam552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stevenage hotels

Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel. It was recommended by a friend. The hotel was nothing special - but was overpriced. The rooms were clean and tidy. The breakfasts were OK but again nothing special. If you want to stay in an unremarkable, but overpriced, hotel then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDanceswithWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed 3 nights with Breakfast and Dinner with a party of friends. Good location, parking & room. The staff & food was excellent. The new owners are refurbishing all the rooms and really seem to care about the quality of your stay. Good Value!

Room Tip: A room at the back - over looking car park was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooperman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I'll be honest, I don't look for much in a hotel. A clean room with a bed and a telly is fine. Actually, as luck would have it I'd booked here because I had got an exceptionally good rate.

The staff were wonderfully friendly and gave me two codes for the free Wi-Fi (one per device), explained the way to the room. Many reviewers have described it as like a maze or a rabbit warren, but to be honest, that's charming compared to the corporate boxes that most modern hotels are. It wasn't difficult to find the room as they are all well signposted, and I had a little explore to see what else I could see.

The room was a good size, with a nice flat screen telly and a lot of channels. Bathroom was bright with free toiletries. OK, so it was a little jaded around the edges, but that really doesn't matter when all you want to do is sleep.

There was a wedding party on, which you could hear from the street. It was just downstairs but I couldn't hear it from the room.

The hotel is in Old Stevenage, walking distance from the train station if you don't mind a bit of a yomp. Stevenage is a thoroughly horrible looking town with a concrete precinct surrounded by dual carriageways, but Old Stevenage is charming with a wide range of restaurants and pubs. I ate at the Waterfall, almost opposite and then drank at the standing-room-only Wetherspoons two doors down. For a night out, then, it's perfectly placed. Likewise, if you're only passing through (maybe flying out from Luton the following day) it's a nice place to while away the evening.

Yes, the Cromwell's old, but it's got charms and is probably nothing like the Holiday Inn in the town centre where you know exactly what to expect.

But then, if you stay at the Holiday inn, you can look forward to dual carriageways and underpasses instead of the "village" feel of Old Stevenage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Having changed hands since I booked and with reviews suggesting that refurbishment was badly needed, I was slightly apprehensive about staying here but I enjoyed my stay. Yes the rooms were tired, the floor dipped in unexpected places(!) and it was very warm (a fan would have been nice) but they were clean. Staff were friendly and it's in a lovely location in Stevenage Old town with almost any type of food that you could want within walking distance. Refurbishment has started and will probably make this a really great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgrUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

First impressions count, even though you receive a warm welcome from the staff, you get lost in the maze trying to locate your room, my bathroom floor had a puddle and a musty smell (leaving me with the impression it wasn't cleaned) and the shower head is providing the background constant drip, drip, drip - even heard with the door shut and the tv on. The window wouldn't shut leaving the room cold and not very secure, I reported both the next morning then went to breakfast where you could tell the dishes weren't checked after being taken out of the washer - luckily there are lots of good restaurants and takeouts on the street outside. On day 2 and although the window is shut the shower is still dripping, may seem like a small thing but its so annoying when you are trying to study. On the plus side The rooms are big, they have wi-fi and the bed is ok, personally wouldn't choose to come again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 82Rache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stevenage hotels
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Archways Lodge Hotel
Archways Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Stevenage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#4 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#6 of 11 in Stevenage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Hotel Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Hotel Stevenage

Property: Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
Address: 27 High Street, Stevenage SG1 3AZ, England (Formerly The Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cromwell Hotel Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage used to be the farmhouse home of John Thurloe, secretary to Oliver Cromwell. The alluring hotel in Stevenage's old town centre combines elements from the past with modern day facilities into a stylish decor. This Stevenage hotel is conveniently located close to the A1. London's Kings Cross station is only a 27-minute train ride away from Stevenage Station, which is just 1 mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cromwell Hotel Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Cromwell Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Ramada Stevenage
Stevenage Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing