We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip to Stevenage”
Review of Novotel Stevenage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Stevenage
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The general service and food quality at this hotel was generally good. The hotel is clean. The service is great. I only have two small things that bothered me. One was the Internet access is only available in the public areas and is paid for. No Wifi access in the rooms. The second - outside the control of the hotel - mobile phone signal with EE was extremely poor. There was no service n my ground floor room and the only place to get a signal was the great outdoors.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank JRNoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments about the Wifi, we are installing free WIFI in all areas of the hotel at the moment. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Stevenage very soon. Kind regards Eric-Enno Snel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 781 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed here as part of a large group on a friday night. The hotel was very good overall, good service and large rooms. My only real complain was the room itself looked like it hadnt had any care and attention for a good few years and was in serious need of updating. everything else was great, the Breakfast was supurb! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comment. We have a programm to paint all the rooms at least once a year. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed here with a group on 9th June. There were 2x coach groups staying here which is approximately 90-100people.The majority of my group ate here at 3pmish, before going to a concert at Hatfield House. I do not think there were any who complained or said they had poor meals. The prices were not too expensive(for the area). The location in the bar area could have been better but many spread out into the lounge area, again no complaints. The staff put themselves out to cater for about 50 people in total which I think is tremendous.Check in was seemless no complaints from my group whatsoever...the staff friendly and efficient..The rooms though a little tired were clean had nice comfy beds and the usual toiletries to help. The seperate toilet to bathroom is great for those travelling together but are only friends and like a little privacy when using said facilities!! The bathroom was clean and tidy nice fresh towels and plenty of hot water. The hotel is in an excellent location if on business in the area as so close to the A1M and only 20mins from Luton airport and M1- 30mins also close to rail station (5 minutes) a great benefit! There is a lift to get you to the upper floors which is slow if there are lots of people trying to get up and down(as with coach groups!!). The bar was used on our return from the concert usual prices for the area, not my choice in drinks (John Smiths beer/Fosters Lager etc) but then it is the same in many hotels. Service was okay 2x people serving still at 11.30pm and still smiling.
I note some complaints re breakfast? I cannot see why, catering for nearly 100 people they never run out of food. There was fresh fruit, the usual grapefruit/orange segments, fresh pastries, fruit juices, hot beverages, toast freshly made ,cereals, and a good selection of 'English' breakfast items readily available.Yes ther was scrambled egg it looked ok, many ordered fried/poached which were brought to your table within a couple of minutes freshly prepared....
I can see why some say it needs updating, it does but still overall a great location clean and tidy and staff wonderful.I did not utilise the Wi-Fi so cannot comment.

Room Tip: All rooms seem pleasant and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Stevenage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

went to see cliff richard fantastic and stayed the night 2 ladies of 68 given double bed asked to be moved to twin room got double bed and sofa bed on floor did not have bath very dirty. went to eat all around complaining so ordered a toasted sandwich who can mess that up novotel can 2 bits of toast with a ounce of cheese very bad and £5.00 hotel very tired needs updating

Room Tip: different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nesta m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, but your tour operator was aware that all rooms have a queen size bed and a sofa bed. We do not have twin rooms with two beds. With regards to the lunch your tour operator informed us that you would not have food at the hotel. On the day of arrival they informed us that all 68 of you wanted dinner, as you can appreciate this is not that easy, Please also read the review above as this guest was very happy and was part of your group. Kind regards Eric-Enno Snel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I strongly suggest that you don't stay here unless you need to.

Rooms are dirty, smelly, poorly ventilated, and noisy.

Breakfast is dreadful.

Service in the bar awful.

It's not even particularly cheap.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HumptyDumptyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future. I would like to look into this personally and I send you a private direct message but you did not reply. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Very good location if on business in the stea as so close to the A1M. Efficient and friendly staff, especially one of the waitresses at breakfast whose service offered was excellent and made up for the most indelible and disgraceful example of scrambled egg ever to have been presented, absolutely awful and was the only egg choice, the chef needs to sort this out and fast. WiFi a complete joke, not only does it not work in the rooms (had to keep coming down to reception to send and receive e-mails which is a real pain when you are there on business!) but even when you can get a signal it is very poor and intermittent, all very irritating especially when you have to pay for the use of such a dreadful service, although I was refunded as the reception clearly knew it wasn't good! Rooms tired and in need of renovation, staff did know this and said it was one of their oldest hotels. If not for the staff and location, would not recommend this hotel if staying on business.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astellsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I can assure you the matter is being looked into. We are installing FREE wifi into our hotel as from next week. This will be in all areas at the hotel. Kind regards Eric-Enno Snel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Stevenage I personally found the location to the train station (5 minutes) a great benefit! We did try the food in the restaurant and again this is better than your average hotel fare, they had kangaroo steaks on the menu!! as you come to expect with the Holiday Inn brand the rooms were modern and clean and definitely worthy of its 4 star rating. Reading a few of the other reviews regarding car parking this did not put me off when booking as there is ample space over the road(30 seconds) and its only £3.50 for the whole stay! overall great staff and great stay so would definitely be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RH98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager0992, General Manager at Novotel Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Stevenage. I look forward to welcome your at Novotel Stevenage on your next visit. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenage
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
1.8 mi away
Hotel Cromwell
Hotel Cromwell
#6 of 11 in Stevenage
78 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#7 of 11 in Stevenage
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
522 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Abbington
The Abbington
#8 of 11 in Stevenage
86 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Farmhouse at Redcoats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Stevenage

Address: Knebworth Park, Stevenage SG1 2AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stevenage
Price Range: $59 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Stevenage 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Stevenage Hotel is located on Junction 7 of the A1M within the grounds of Knebworth House. The hotel offers 102 guestrooms, Contemporary restaurant and meeting and function space for up to 180 delegates. We have recently spent in excess of £3.5million on a full Hotel refurbishment, completing all 102 bedrooms, a fantastic new restaurant, comfortable lounge for Business or Leisure and our new reception and welcome area. The full hotel completion is set for July 2016 and will see the hotel re-branded as a 4 star hotel. The hotel also offers Free onsite parking (this is a premium in Stevenage),complimentary WIFI, air conditioning, and is easy access to Stevenage station which takes 25 minutes directly to London Kings cross. Suitable for business meetings, conferences, weddings and events. This hotel is also close to Luton Airport approx. 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Stevenage Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing