We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stopover for coach travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good overnight stopover for coach travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed overnight enroute to the Hampton Court Flower Show with a coach party. Check in was handled quickly and we headed for the stairs (long queue at the lifts.) At the 4th floor landing we took as the wrong direction due to their being no indication of which way to go to our room. Had we used the lift, however, signage was excellent. The room was a good size, well furnished and welcoming. The bathroom (shower, no bath) was clean and well maintained. The only slight quibble was that the tea making facilities were very sparse - enough milk for only one drink each. The evening meal was a buffet style arrangement set in a very comfortable restaurant with a calming ambience. The quality of the food was exceptionally good and I, personally, found the lemon meringue to be "the best ever." Hot drinks were not available in the restaurant but we we able to order them in the bar - again a very pleasant ambience to this room. Being on the 4th floor we did not hear any road noise but there was some noise from aircraft flying overhead. Overall, an ideal hotel for an overnight stop over to the London area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkstma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Holiday Inn Stevenage.

I'm pleased the hotel provided an ideal place to stay en route to visiting London, especially with regards to the quality of both the room and food offered. Thank you for your comments regarding the tea & coffee making facilities and stairwell signage, which will also be shared with the team for future consideration.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Stevenage and my team and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Gerard Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    183
    95
    28
    19
See reviews for
62
98
34
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The friendly introduction by the reception staff set the mood for our visit. We were immediately offered an upgrade at a reasonable price and our room was suitably comfortable and welcoming. The food both in the bar and the restaurant was surprisingly good, accompanied by friendly and efficient service. The prices may be a little on the high side for the food in the restaurant but it was done well. A really good effort in an uninspiring town.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank zeezee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for the feedback following your recent stay at Holiday Inn Stevenage.

I'm delighted that overall the experience met your expectations and that you enjoyed a comfortable stay at the hotel. Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with the team.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Stevenage and my team and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Gerard Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stay here at least once a week on business. The rooms are clean and generally quiet. There is a mini Gym with a limited amount of equipment - it is not usually busy, Food is of a reasonable quality and the rooms are clean, the water is hot and the beds are comfy. The desks in the rooms provide ample space for working. Room Service usually arrives within 20 minutes of ordering.
The only downside is that the free wifi is appallingly slow and there is no option to upgrade to a faster and more reliable service. I have stayed in many hotels throughout the world and have been in developing world hotels in Africa and SE Asia where the internet is more reliable. Granted at the Holiday Inn, Stevenage, it is free but I would rather pay for a better internet service than get a free one which is bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonydlee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your regular stays at Holiday Inn Stevenage.

I'm pleased that many aspects of your stay meet your expectations, including the cleanliness of the rooms, food quality, comfort of the beds and working space within the room.

I'm sorry that previously the free Wifi has marred your stay with us, but please note that this has now been upgraded to offer all our guest's improved bandwidth. With the new offering, there is also the option to pay for a Premium internet service should you wish to increase this further.

Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Stevenage again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Gerard Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

we stayed here to visit friends in the area. Easy to find off the motorway system. Parking available over the road but free if you upgrade to an executive room which we did. A little disappointed with the upgrade, although the room was quite big most of the space was in the form of a 'corridor' to the bathroom. Free wi-fi. this hotel is used by large coach parties travelling into london and as such on both of our nights we couldn't dine in the dining room but had to eat at the bar, although the food was nice. Helpful and friendly reception and bar staff. Seems that the rail station for access to london is quite near, but we didn't use this service. Room contains everything you need of an average standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liverpoolcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Holiday Inn Stevenage.

Whilst you enjoyed many aspects of your stay at the hotel I'm sorry you were unable to dine in our Destinations Restaurant on either of the evenings.

Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so that we can continue to improve the service we offer.

Thank you for choosing Holiday inn Stevenage.

Yours sincerely


Gerard Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Not really a holiday destination but if you need to stay over the Holiday Inn offers very good value. Very clean and a nice room. The car parking is free for executive rooms but if they are quiet they will let other guests use it free of charge, normally £10 per night. So well worth asking. Good all you can eat breakfast so it is worth booking this.

The bar is exceptionally expensive. It was little surprise to find that it was empty.

Room Tip: Ask for a parking space if you have not reserved an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepidhoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay at Holiday Inn Stevenage.

I'm pleased that overall the experience met your expectations, especially with regards to the quality and cleanliness of the bedroom and the breakfast. I'm sorry you found our drink's prices expensive; these are reviewed on a regular basis to ensure they reflect the local hotel market.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Stevenage and my team and I hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely


Gerard Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
358 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed two nights and it wasn't a great experience. The first night I returned to my room to find my tap leaking on the carpet sodden. These things happen it's nobodies fault. It was late and I opted just to change rooms next day. Went out early came back and nothing had really been done but I was moved to another room. Identical small room, nowhere really to put my case. This room smelt very musty and as I couldn't open the window and hotel was full I just put up with it. Vsited a colleagues rom and his smelt much worse. They were charging a premium as it was festival weekend and we did feel very cheated.

Room Tip: Top floor was very musty smelling. Not sure if others would be better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Holiday Inn Stevenage whilst attending the Sonsiphere Festival.

I was disappointed that the experience failed to meet your expectations and that it was necessary for you to change rooms. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope that you were able to enjoy the weekend.

Yours sincerely

Gerard Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

There for 2 nights, we were surprised by the comfort of the room. King size bed, shower (no bath), Ironing board and hair dryer. Tea and coffee facilities in the room.

The breakfasts (£10 extra when pre-booked with the room, more when you check in) were plentiful. Plenty of choice and good service.

Down side of the stay is the off site parking. it is across the road on the long stay car park unless you upgrade. You are also next to the fire station. We did not have a problem but I'm sure that if there was an alarm you may finf the sirens a problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat_Floyd_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Pat, may I take this opportunity to thank you for your recent review following your stay with us, I am pleased to read you enjoyed the spacious size of the room and the in room facilities provided along with breakfast in destinations restaurant. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Hotel management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stevenage hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
0.3 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stevenage Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#3 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
Cromwell Hotel Stevenage
#7 of 11 in Stevenage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stevenage North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Stevenage

Property: Holiday Inn Stevenage
Address: St. Georges Way, Stevenage SG1 1HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Stevenage 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of Stevenage, the contemporary Holiday Inn Stevenage hotel is located off Junction 7 A1(M) with easy bus & train access providing a direct rail link to London in 25 minutes. London Luton Airport is 13 miles from Holiday Inn Stevenage. Whether travelling for business or pleasure there s lots to do around the Holiday Inn Stevenage hotel; from visiting Knebworth House to meandering through Stevenage Old Town or taking in a show at the Gordon Craig Theatre. Explore slightly further afield for the cathedral city of St Albans, Hatfield House, Whipsnade Zoo, Galleria Shopping Centre at Hatfield and much more. A mini gym facility is available at the hotel with further fitness & leisure pursuits available nearby. This, the newest of all Stevenage hotels, offers high spec air conditioned guestrooms offering a great night s sleep. Each guestroom boasts LCD TV, ergonomic furniture for in room working, dimmable lighting, high speed internet, plus a high spec bathroom all combining to offer a superior level of comfort. For business meetings & conferences in Stevenage the Holiday Inn Stevenage offers a dedicated conference & events floor with 7 air conditioned conference & events rooms for up to 400, business centre & private bar. We are also licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies in Stevenage. Opened December 2008, make Holiday Inn Stevenage your first choice for Stevenage hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stevenage Hotel Stevenage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing