We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value hotel for the standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Ive rated this hotel 5 out of 5 relative to the sector and price. Ive stayed here a couple of times in the last month.
It is only a few pounds more than another chain (purple...to give a clue) but is in a different league in this town.
The reception can sometimes get busy but I would suggest pop back...it can become empty very quickly.
I prefer the Executive rooms and would, if you can, suggest upgrading. Beds are very nice, toiletries pretty good.
The bar area is large and airy, yes hotel prices but very pleasant.
Breakfast is fine...not exceptional but OK.
Its topping the table as the hotel for our organisation as a whole...good work HI.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheClanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Stevenage following your most recent stay at the hotel.

I'm delighted that many aspects of your stay exceeded expectations and that the hotel is the preferred choice for your organisation. Your comments will be shared with the hotel team who look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Stevenage

Yours sincerely


Gerard Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 574 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I have just stayed at this hotel overnight. We found the hotel and rooms to be lovely and clean. The staff are friendly and courteous. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and the food was very good. Breakfast the following morning was buffet style and there was lots of choice.
Hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: stayed in 421 which does not over look the road so is quieter and the gym is on this floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kellew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Holiday Inn Stevenage.

I'm delighted the experience met your expectations and that you highly recommend the hotel. Please rest assured your comments will be shared with the hotel team whom ensured your stay was a pleasant one.

My team and I hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Stevenage in the future.

Yours sincerely


Gerard Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Ok so it's in Stevenage, it's not the prettiest of places. I stayed here on business recently and was pleasantly surprised by how nice the room was considering everything else around it!

The hotel is set on a busy dual carriageway in Stevenage. Unless you are in an executive room you need to park in the carpark opposite the hotel, on the other side of the dual carriageway. If you park in the carpark at the back you may be fined. There is a subway underneath the road to take you to the hotel, which takes you past the Stevenage Museum (don't laugh). The hotel itself is a short walk from the town and about a ten to fifteen minute walk to the nicer area of Old Town.

The hotel has a large airly recption and slightly chilly but extremely efficient reception staff. I did get them to smile the next morning when I spotted the hotel was next the a fire station, and the the fireman were hosing down the trucks. They unfortunately advised me they did not do this topless in the summer. There are two lifts to the upper floors and the very expensive but late opening bar is on the ground floor. Breakfast is also served on the ground floor and is classic buffet style. Its ok, not bad, not brilliant either, but enough to get your day going.

I stayed on the second floor and the room was very nicely styled in crisp whites and greens. I found it clean, comfortable and modern and the bed was very comfy. I was given a selection of pillows, tea making facilites, cosmetics and a welcome cookie with a personal note. It was actually quite a nice cookie.....My only gripe? No bath. It did however have an enormous shower with large shower head and sliding doors so I have begrudgingly let this go. I got to look out over the previously mentioned Stevenage Museum and did not hear any road noise.

So pretty much a decent hotel if you are looking for something in the centre of Stevenage.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skizz1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest

I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Stevenage in and that you found the location to be great.

We do offer a mixture of different room types both with walk-in shower, and baths with overhead showers.

Your feedback will be shared with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. I’m pleased you enjoyed the complimentary cookie on your arrival.

Yours sincerely

Scott Mills
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night, the staff were not very friendly, but not rude they just seemed disinterested. The room was OK and clean, but.....the bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in as it was far too soft.

Room Tip: watch out as the beds are awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flak88London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback.

I’m surprised to hear that our beds did not meet your satisfaction during your recent stay with us upon this occasion. We are a relatively brand new Hotel only in our 5th year of opening and all beds are to Holiday Inn standard.

I would be grateful if you would contact me and provide the room number you stayed in so that I can look into this further and act upon your remarks made.

We have taken measure in the meantime to do all sufficient checks to ensure the beds are suitable, and your feedback has been shared with the relevant departments.

I hope you do return and would personally like to be able to welcome you back to our Hotel

Yours Sincerely

Scott Mills
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Having booked this hotel for its convienient location, I was more than disappointed by the downright rude welcome from their "reception" staff.
The quality,cleanliness or anything else relating to this hotel is irrellivent. I would deffinately not put this hotel on my re-visit list.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clive w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Further to your stay at Holiday Inn Stevenage I'm sorry the experience failed to meet your expectations and our usual standards.

Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with the team so that we can continue to improve the service we offer. We would be greatful of any information you could provide direct to the Hotel, to assist us in looking at this in further detail

Thank you for sharing your findings and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel under more favourable circumstances in the future.

Yours sincerely

Scott Mills
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stopped here On Saturday 16th February 2013. We decided to have a long weekend break.
We came away in a worst state than we arrived. Their staff are rude, ill-mannered and very unprofessional. The manager there we TRIED to speak to was obnoxious, he wanted to be the manager when things are good but runs away when you complain.
There was so much noise we did not get to sleep until 3am due to private weekend parties organised at the same hotel.
If you are desperate to stop here there is a better pub under the ‘under pass’ and the bar staff there are 100% better than the bar staff at Holiday Inn
The breakfast was a free for all, find your own table and guess what to do next.
This place is expensive and in my opinion even worse than any Travelodge you may have stopped in

Room Tip: Find another hotel if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank midfield38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Further to your stay at Holiday Inn Stevenage I'm sorry the experience failed to meet your expectations and our usual standards.

Please accept my sincere apologies that your stay was marred by the disturbance from other guests and the breakfast service received during your stay. Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with the team so that we can continue to improve the service we offer.

Thank you for sharing your findings and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel under more favourable circumstances in the future.

Yours sincerely

Scott Mills
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've stayed here on numerous occasions for business. I find it to be convenient to the town centre (great shops if you get an early finish), without being too close to be involved in any disruption at the end of an evening. The beds are very comfortable and clean, the service excellent and the food extremely good. The staff members are friendly yet professional and I intend to bring my husband - it's that good!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stevenage, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for the great feedback following your recent stay at Holiday Inn Stevenage.

I'm delighted the experience met your expectations, especially with regards to the comfort of the beds, cleanliness of the room, service and quality of food. Please rest assured your comments will be shared with the team who made it happen.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back with your husband in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Gerard Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenage
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
0.3 mi away
Ibis Stevenage Centre
Ibis Stevenage Centre
#9 of 11 in Stevenage
525 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Stevenage
Novotel Stevenage
#4 of 11 in Stevenage
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cromwell
Hotel Cromwell
#5 of 11 in Stevenage
89 reviews
7.8 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
1.2 mi away
Archways Lodge Hotel
Archways Lodge Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stevenage
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Stevenage

Address: St. Georges Way, Stevenage SG1 1XB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stevenage
Price Range: $59 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Stevenage 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of Stevenage, the contemporary Holiday Inn Stevenage hotel is located off Junction 7 A1(M) with easy bus & train access providing a direct rail link to London in 25 minutes. London Luton Airport is 13 miles from Holiday Inn Stevenage. Whether travelling for business or pleasure there s lots to do around the Holiday Inn Stevenage hotel; from visiting Knebworth House to meandering through Stevenage Old Town or taking in a show at the Gordon Craig Theatre. Explore slightly further afield for the cathedral city of St Albans, Hatfield House, Whipsnade Zoo, Galleria Shopping Centre at Hatfield and much more. A mini gym facility is available at the hotel with further fitness & leisure pursuits available nearby. This, the newest of all Stevenage hotels, offers high spec air conditioned guestrooms offering a great night s sleep. Each guestroom boasts LCD TV, ergonomic furniture for in room working, dimmable lighting, high speed internet, plus a high spec bathroom all combining to offer a superior level of comfort. For business meetings & conferences in Stevenage the Holiday Inn Stevenage offers a dedicated conference & events floor with 7 air conditioned conference & events rooms for up to 400, business centre & private bar. We are also licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies in Stevenage. Opened December 2008, make Holiday Inn Stevenage your first choice for Stevenage hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stevenage Hotel Stevenage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing