We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, reasonable prices, not hot though”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Maharajah Indian Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices, not hot though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is the second time in about 6 weeks that we have eaten here, we were given a discount card that we used on the second visist, 10% off, not bad.

The food is very nice, the service is good and we even got a free bottle of fizz. The only thing that I would comment on though is the heat of the curries (spicy heat).

I normally like a madras and one of the party likes a vindaloo, we were told that the they had a special curry that comes in grades, from 1 through to 6, 6 being the hottest.

We had a number 4 and a dhansak, and although they were very tasty there was little heat from the curry. We also had a Jalfrazi that was was about as hot as a very mild madras.

Would go again though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haveadeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Channel Islands, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent curry house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I went last week,with my girl friend.i had naga level 3.and she had silsila.it was really great and delicious. I always like to come this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesarthur12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great takeaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

While the food does sometimes vary from time to time, the takeaway and home delivery is I think the best indian food in Stevenage...

The staff are always really polite and genuinely helpfull

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Add V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“superb resturant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

superb food lovely friendly staff. Beautiful authentic food try the dhall chicken methi and kulcha naans all superb. Always welcoming even if we are late and their special nights are excellent value at 9.95 per person. faruk taught his staff well !!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank snazzy12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love it here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We go here often always good food and great staff reasonable prices too Good atmosphere they also do a takeaway service

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharajah Indian Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing