We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal, no wow factor though”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Maharajah Indian Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice meal, no wow factor though”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Visited the Majarajah in Stevenage Old Town last night with my husband.
The restaurant was very modern and the decor was lovely.
The food was pleasant enough but nothing out of the ordinary.
The service was businesslike but lacked the friendly welcoming touch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scudcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“first class indian”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Staff are amazing. Very welcoming. They make you feel very welcome. Food was lovely. have had take away from there since our visit. Would highly recommend trying it if you like indian food. I will be going back

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 84MMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenage
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Food lovely a very enjoyable evening”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Had a meal with my 3 sons for my youngest sons 40th birthday. The food was great pleasing even my curry hating husband. Service was also excellent. Only one criticism the toilets were very grubby dirty pull cord for the light finger prints all over the paintwork etc no paper to wash hands all in all nasty. Please please get them deep cleaned, decorated etc.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susansh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Superb food”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

It was a long time since I was last at this restaurant but recall it as serving good food and being inbredibly busy at the weekend - packed out and very hot. We went on a Thursday this time; still busy but comfortable. The food my friend and I had was excellent, very tasty - my main curry dish, labelled as "fairly hot", was certainly hot but also incredibly tasty. Service wasvery pleasant even if a little on the slow side. The overall cost was very reasonable, good value for money. Well worth a visit. Should it be five blobs rather than four?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank puttingitright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

This place has potential to be a little special. The service was inconsistent during my stay. Also waited a while for food.

I also noticed something about the mineral water - as mentioned by another reviewer. Maybe not opened fresh. I actually had two of them. The water tasted OK though. Beware that possible trick.

Food - prawn poori starter was a bit bland. Main course was actually not bad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharajah Indian Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing