We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee in Ipswich”

Fishface Upholstery
Ranked #6 of 52 Quick Bites in Ipswich
Price range: $1 - $5
Description: A Coffee and Cake bar offering light lunches including a range of Paninis, Beigels, Toasties, Sandwiches and Salads. A choice of Soups and specials also available. Vegetarian, Vegan and Gluten-free menu including a large range of amazing Gluten and Gluten-free cakes and Vegan cakes. There are also three floors of vintage furniture, Arts and Crafts and we are Ipswich's only Supplier of Annie Sloan Chalk Paint™. We have a variety of gifts on offer and with our in-store relaxing music we provide an experience that takes you beyond your coffee and cake. We also allow local artists/furniture painters the chance to rent space in the shop.
Restaurant details
Description: A Coffee and Cake bar offering light lunches including a range of Paninis, Beigels, Toasties, Sandwiches and Salads. A choice of Soups and specials also available. Vegetarian, Vegan and Gluten-free menu including a large range of amazing Gluten and Gluten-free cakes and Vegan cakes. There are also three floors of vintage furniture, Arts and Crafts and we are Ipswich's only Supplier of Annie Sloan Chalk Paint™. We have a variety of gifts on offer and with our in-store relaxing music we provide an experience that takes you beyond your coffee and cake. We also allow local artists/furniture painters the chance to rent space in the shop.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

A lovely little cafe/shop with probably (in my opinion) the best coffee in Ipswich - it beats the big chains hands down.
The cakes and pastries are all hand made and delicious.
My only complaint is that on both occasions we've been in for a coffee the staff are far from welcoming, friendly or even vaguely happy looking - come on guys, try and force a smile - it doesn't cost anything (apart from lost business) as it is a little off-putting spending money in a shop that doesn't seem too bothered if you're there or not.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rikontour2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 77 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2018

Stumbled across this quaint little place yesterday and was drawn in by the vegan options advertised. Although there wasn’t a lot of room for my massive buggy the staff were very accommodating. I love the ground floor which has toys and comfy sofas. Perfect if you have a toddler or are breastfeeding as I am. The food and drink was very nice and the staff were lovely. Will definitely visit again

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Janine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishfaceUpholstery, Owner at Fishface Upholstery, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2018

Thank you so much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your first visit. : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2018 via mobile

Very odd set up as this feels like a paint shop that has as an afterthought, added a cafe to make ends meet. Coffee is good but the space feels cramped and although mismatch furniture is the norm, I didn’t think the chairs or sofas were in the least comfortable and they certainly were a bit grubby. Not for us I’m afraid I need less chaos and cleaner surroundings.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank DeliaP903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishfaceUpholstery, Public Relations Manager at Fishface Upholstery, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Chaos means popularity. Did you go to the other two floors as we aren’t as cramped as it seems. The ground floor is tighter than the other floors but many like to be close to the cakes. All the furniture in the shop is purchasable so, it doesn’t last very long and as upholsterers we can recover anything.

We have been a coffee shop for 4 years and a very popular one as we work hard to produce good coffee and good food. Trip advisor is here for you to judge that and i’m pleased that you liked the coffee which is the important thing.

We also run Upholstery and Annie Sloan chalk paint courses. We have always done all of this in the Ipswich branch. We are also opening another branch soon so, our coffee and food is as popular as our upholstery and chalk paint courses.

Maybe next time, have a look upstairs where there is more room.

Thanks for reviewing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2018

nice independent café with remodelled vintage décor. good coffee and cake selection but vegan savoury options were limited, considered vegan options advertised. plenty of different milks to choose from though.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishfaceUpholstery, Public Relations Manager at Fishface Upholstery, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2018

It does differ from day to day with availability and sometimes popularity of items as we often run out. We are increasing items as much as we can.

Thanks for review though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2018 via mobile

A very lovely petite cafe which fits in to surroundings of The Walk very nicely. The food was god and place caters for pretty much every dietary requirement and food preference that you can have. Well worth a visit if you’re in town and want a spot of lunch.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishfaceUpholstery, Public Relations Manager at Fishface Upholstery, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Thanks for your review : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishface Upholstery also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Fishface Upholstery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing