We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dim Sum! ”

Lanterns Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 495 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $31
Description: PLEASE BOOK ONLINE AT OUR WEBSITE. Chinese Restaurant in Ipswich is a high quality Chinese restaurant serving authentic Chinese food.
Restaurant details
Description: PLEASE BOOK ONLINE AT OUR WEBSITE. Chinese Restaurant in Ipswich is a high quality Chinese restaurant serving authentic Chinese food.
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

Went last Friday with friends for a birthday lunch. Really yummy dumplings and very good service. Kitchen closes at 2pm so make reservation for 12:30. Although, the waitress had the kitchen stay open later for us which was very accommodating. Special shout out for the prawn crystal dumplings and the glutinous rice wrapped in a lotus leaf, stuffed with a little bit of pork.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Beandoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 179 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

I visited on a busy Saturday night, we booked the early sitting, service was prompt and attentive, food delicious! We ordered from the alacarte menu, but the quality of the buffet (cooked to order) looked amazing as we watched all types of dishes emerge from the busy kitchen. They were very busy and can see why they offer two sittings!! I will definitely return with my family. Nothing was too much trouble. Parking available at the butter-market just opposite makes it easy to visit! Thank you to Aonie, Flick and Ed for looking after us so well and the owner Ken who also made himself accessible to customers, I think this is a great thing for an owner to do! Thanks again!!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 212kirstina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

Finally went to Lanterns to try their Dim Sum and I will (as Arnie is fond of saying) be back. I love Dim Sum and it is great Ipswich now has it as it was trips to London and Norwich before.

Good service, good price and good food.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 589gilest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

Wow is the only word for this restaurant.
Partner and I kept seeing this Chinese opposition the shopping centre and decided to try it before Christmas which was a nice date night meal out food was hot and delicious and nothing was too small for waitress’s. Wide selection of food on menu. They do a buffet and a non set menu. We suggested coming here for my pre birthday celebrations with a party of 6 on a Friday evening in January we were greeted with open arms even thou we didn’t book and again nothing was a trouble for them. We tried loads of different foods on the buffet and partners dad was saying this food is in his top 5 of his Chinese food experience’s and he loves Chinese food.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Happyperson1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2019 via mobile

Stunning food great service well priced
Made to feel very welcome nothing too much trouble
Will be coming again

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank wharfedalewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterns Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Lanterns Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing