We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”
Review of Aqua Eight

Aqua Eight
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 7/17
8:00 PM
Ranked #29 of 496 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: $33 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Reviewed June 5, 2019

Food was outstanding and had a great selection of dishes, service was brilliant and staff very friendly... great bar with good selection of beers cocktails and spirits and good music also in bar after meal, great atmosphere. Will certainly visit again soon

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank Tarbo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCheung, Owner at Aqua Eight, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Tarbo5

Thrilled to read your top score review, thank you. Pleased you enjoyed yourself so much and would be happy to revisit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 783 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2019

We celebrated my wife's 50th birthday here having eaten here a few years ago and wanted somewhere special. The restaurant has a large bar and seating area on the ground floor serving a huge selection of drinks including cocktails. Upstairs is the main restaurant and is quite spacious. The staff are friendly and helpful. The menu is quite large and there are gluten free dishes as well. The food is hot and very tasty and although on the expensive side is worth the money. There is a good atmosphere inside. We had a birthday cake presented at the end of the meal and the waiting staff sung Happy Birthday to my wife. This is the best Asian restaurant in Ipswich and well worth a visit .

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carlalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCheung, Owner at Aqua Eight, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2019

Dear carlalexander

Such super feedback, thank you very much! It was a pleasure to serve you and your wife. Pleased that our food, service and atmosphere made such a difference on her special birthday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019

A group of friends had the set meal at £22.00 Some of the dishes as starters were not to our taste but they were nicely presented. The main dishes were nice especially the beef which was excellent, as was the sweet and sour pork and the mixed vegetables. Not so sure about the "extra?" chicken dish ,presented if more than four ordering---bad luck if only two of you dining !! Desserts were extra, as was coffee on set menu. On settling bill the extra £2.00 a head came as a big surprise. Was certainly not very visible on menu, if it was ever there in first place! Service was very poor for drinks, somewhat surprising in view of the number of staff. No one seemed to be in charge. Might go back as a couple to try other things on menu but not sure.By sharing your experiences, you're helping travellers make better choices and plan their dream trips. Thank you!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank gadabout70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCheung, Owner at Aqua Eight, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2019

Dear gadabout70

Thank you for telling us about your recent trip here and we were pleased to welcome you. I am glad you found our main dishes excellent. Your group ordered our Contemporary Set Menu at £22.50 per person (available for a minimum of two people), which we think is terrific value for fine dining, with each pair of guests receiving a platter of mixed hors d’oeuvres (our Chef's selection of five "small eats" dishes), two Main courses, one Side dish and rice to share.

Sorry to hear the 8% service charge for groups of more than six people came as a big surprise, as it is published at the very bottom of all our menus (and is a discretionary charge).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

Visiting friends and and they took me to this great restaurant. Food was amazing with a great selection of dishes of meat, fish & vegetarian. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. totally recommend this restaurant and will certainly visit it again if I am in the area.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank margaretlY3906QZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCheung, Owner at Aqua Eight, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2019

Dear margaretlY3906QZ

Thank you so much for your feedback and we very much appreciate your "five bubble" review. Please do spread the news about our wide menu choices and friendly staff. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

Fusion as its best... Aqua eight really surprise me with the delicious fusion food selection.

I totally recommend Aqua Eight to have a night out for some drinks and food.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anamagalhaes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCheung, Owner at Aqua Eight, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2019

Dear Anamagalhaes86

It's always such a pleasure to hear positive feedback from happy guests. Thank you for choosing Aqua Eight and we're pleased you enjoyed our unique Pan Asian fusion cuisine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Eight also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Aqua Eight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing