We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food - nice bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aqua Eight

Aqua Eight
Reserve with OpenTable
Aqua Eight is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 442 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: $34 - $52
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food - nice bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great Asian food, fab service and a great bar for before and after drinks make this one of my favourite places to go for a night out with friends.

Helpful?
Thank Bouders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCheung, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Eight, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Bouders,

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. We're very pleased Aqua Eight is where you most enjoy coming with your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    110
    48
    25
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely meal, fantastic food. Staff are very helpful. Great bar downstairs too. Thoroughly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank MrsSparrow2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCheung, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Eight, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear MrsSparrow2011

Thank you! That's very kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great dining experience

We booked a table in advance to celebrate my friends birthday.
The moment you walk in you are
Greeted with a smile and very friendly staff.
We had heard how good their cocktails were and we weren't disappointed.
Upstairs the restaurant was surprisingly busy for a week day, it was beautifully set out , clean and lighting was spot on.
Our table was decorated with balloons also which was a lovely touch.
Dinner was the best we have had in ipswich by a country mile I can see what the hype is all about.
The few previous reviews on here are a joke really we couldn't fault anything at all and see why aqua eight has won so many awards!
Will be back very soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vg200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCheung, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Eight, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear vg200

Thank you, we are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much and are very pleased to read such a glowing testimonial. It does mean a lot to the hard-working team whenever a guest acknowledges them in this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor considering the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Recently visited Aqua EIght with my girlfriend and the meal we had was OK nothing special a bit greasy. The staff were also OK efficient but the emphasis is very much on getting you in and getting you out asap, we noticed tables were being asked to leave a few seconds after they finished their desserts. The price of the drinks if also too high even for a restaurant a meal for two that costs £70 in Ipswich should be 5/5 or at least 4/5 this is average food at a high cost in a rushed environment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJHANIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCheung, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Eight, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear CJHAN

We were a little shocked to see your review, especially as other guests at Aqua Eight the same night have posted excellent reviews, so firstly we’d like to apologise if your own experience wasn’t up to scratch.

So that we can understand exactly what you ordered, would you kindly get in touch with Helen Oldfield on 07974 502847? Then we'll be able to respond to you comments in full.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went for our wedding anniversary and had the best time. The staff were attentive, but not in our faces, the food was superb and the mojitos were the real thing!
Our waiter was so friendly, but not intrusive- when he found out it was our anniversary he insisted on getting us a complimentary drink.
The food was delicious (the duck with mango was to die for!) and very generous portions. Considering we were drinking we were pleasantly surprised by the bill of £48 for the 2 of us.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelliminelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCheung, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Eight, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear ShelliMinelli

Congratulations and thank you for celebrating your anniversary at Aqua Eight. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the mojitos (have you tried the apple mojito too? (No alcohol but tastes fantastically “zingy”!) We’ll hope you will celebrate every special occasion here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Eight also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Aqua Eight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing