We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro on the Quay

Bistro on the Quay
Ranked #6 of 442 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $67
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had not booked and were very lucky to get the last table for 2 on a Saturday night. Numerous people were turned away from this popular water front restaurant after we had been seated, so i would definitely book next time. There is a set menu...2 courses for £14.95, or 3 for 18.95. I chose off the main menu though and the lamb was gorgeous. My wife had the duck, this was, according to her, also gorgeous. The big bonus for my wife was gluten free sticky toffee pudding, again, gorgeous. Although the restaurant was full, the service was faultless. Give it a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    218
    52
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, great food, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We met friends at this restaurant for Sunday lunch. We were a little early but were seated straight away. The restaurant was extremely nicely decorated and well designed, with a true seaside feel. It was bright and airy as well as cheerful and welcoming. Staff were attentive and professional, making sure we had everything we needed, without being in our faces. We ordered from the set menu, which was extremely tasty, well presented, plentiful and very, very good value. I have paid a lot more for food of a lesser quality, so this place was a real treat at a great price.
Everything was relaxed and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal.
There were lots of places to eat along the waterside, but this place seemed a little more "classy" than some of the others. I would definitely eat here again if I were in Ipswich and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Value any night , but Tuesday night 3 courses for £13.95 !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ok make sure you book as this place gets very busy. I am staying on business in Ipswich and was dining on my own so turned up at opening time 6.30pm and managed to squeeze me in.
I can see why it gets busy the food and value is excellent. Plenty of attentive staff to keep you serviced and all in all a very enjoyable meal.
Starter was serrano ham and poached egg salad , excellent , main was a lamb dish with new potatoes , very nice , followed by a brownie with white chocolate ice cream again excellent.
Brilliant value at £13.95 , the lager they had was pricey though at £4.65 but didn't stop me from ordering a couple :) Well worth a visit any night , especially Tuesdays !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CBBFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely sunny lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited for some lunch and although all the tables outside were taken (we hadn't booked) we sat indoors by the open French doors overlooking the quay.
The two course lunch was really lovely and the service was great.
We'd like to visit one evening to see what it's like after dark.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wezzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Visited with group of friends, had a lovely time.

Food was lovely, atmosphere was great and the staff attentive.

Not sure i would go here on a special occasion more of an everyday place to catch with fiends while having a bite to eat

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pebblesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro on the Quay also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Bistro on the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing