We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese in Ipswich by far”
Review of Trongs

Trongs
Ranked #2 of 443 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ipswich
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Ipswich by far”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have eaten here a number of times and it is always excellent... Definitely the best Chinese in Ipswich. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DD_Ipswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    81
    18
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich - Uk
Level Contributor
181 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service - a bit noisy”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The quality and quantity of the food was excellent, as was the service. Slight hiccup on the table as, it seems, the booking before us did not want to leave and we were 30 minutes late being seated. The staff did take our order so that it was ready soon after we sat down.

I think a bit of noise makes for a good atmosphere, but we had 3 tables of 8 or more people in what is a small room and it did seem as if they were competing to see who could talk the loudest. We were in a group of 4 and I was struggling, at time, to hear the person opposite me. It was not the restaurant's fault, as they do not know what their diners are like. However this, and the late table, did take the edge off the evening.

Having said that it is still the best Chinese restaurant, by far, in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RacingToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Amazing food and fantastic service, staff are very friendly and i could not fault the food. One of the best chinese i have eaten! I love it!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dannielle a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“shame xmas menu let them down”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

every xmas we go to trongs, plus throughout the year and this xmas we were as usual, expecting a great meal. what a shame - it wasnt half as good as usual and i really felt let down, especially as it isnt cheap, we go every year and to be honest the starters were just greasy. shame - i dont think we will book next year.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HollieSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another perfect meal and service”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We elected to go back to Trongs this year for our works christmas meal. The nine of us were again bowled over with all the excellent food and service we received. Trongs is a Chinese/Cantonese restaurant with great ambiance with terrific service and food. For our meal it ranged across the board with Chicken, prawns, beef, squid to mention a few. Highly recommended and extremely good value for money as well. Do try the Tsingtao beer as well !!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trongs also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Trongs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing