We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly establishment!”
Review of Loch Fyne

Loch Fyne
Ranked #42 of 443 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: $13 - $78
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Loch Fyne restaurants present a fine selection of fresh shellfish and oysters, along with seasonal fish and seafood specials. Each restaurant is rustic yet contemporary, with an elegant ambience. Grilled meat dishes are available at Loch Fyne, along with a popular kids menu. All of the fresh seafood is sustainably sourced.
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Very friendly establishment!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We've been here twice for lunch with friends, both times we had lovely food, super service and will be going back when we are near Ipswich again soon. There is a good choice on the menu. There is a small car park at the rear and can fit about 8 cars at a squeeze. If not, there is one just down the road which has a pay and display machine.Once at the table, take your time, enjoy your food! I only hope other Loch Fyne restos provide the same level of service as the one in Ipswich.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    97
    53
    59
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good fish, plenty of choice”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had an enjoyable meal here one weekday evening, and I liked the flexibility of ordering how my fish was done, what sauce it was served with and with what side dish. The fish and chips were also excellent, if a little pricey. Service was attentive and friendly. The drinks (including tap water) and wine arrived promptly, as did the food. The only drawback was that we found the wine expensive. The new menu is being launched at the end of April and looks worth trying.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jass185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A bit hit and miss”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here a few times over the last few months. The first couple of time were very good - very nice food and friendly waiting staff (even if the service was a little slow. However, the last time I visited I was very disappointed. The service was particularly slow, with the waiter forgetting Pretty much everything! We had to ask to order our drinks, then ask again to order our food. We also had to request to see the specials board which never arrived. Also asked 3 times for a jug of tap water which never appeared. When our meals finally arrived the portions were tiny and although nice, were nothing special - especially when you consider the price. We paid and left, and I think we are unlikely to return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ami86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Fish!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent a very nice Sunday lunch here, with the loyalty card and vouchers it can be very good value - went there first time in the summer and sat in the outside space which was very nice. Fish has always been good and staff were helpful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dcockrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sublime fish & chips”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My first experience of this chain of restaurants, chosen because of its reputation and also because it was next door to our overnight accommodation. We were not disappointed. It was an excellent, if somewhat pricey choice. Loved the design & very striking original architecture. Service was warm, friendly, and attentive. The batter (tempura) for my fish was the best I've ever tasted, the flavour and texture of the haddock was perfect. Starters were delicious as was our shared dessert. I fully expect to try this chain again & will attempt to eat at a time when I can take advantage of the set menu which looked good value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uktourist252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne also viewed

 

Been to Loch Fyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing