We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a welcome despite no booking”
Review of Loch Fyne

Loch Fyne
Ranked #42 of 443 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: $13 - $78
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Loch Fyne restaurants present a fine selection of fresh shellfish and oysters, along with seasonal fish and seafood specials. Each restaurant is rustic yet contemporary, with an elegant ambience. Grilled meat dishes are available at Loch Fyne, along with a popular kids menu. All of the fresh seafood is sustainably sourced.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a welcome despite no booking”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

As my wife had been in hospital over Xmas we had not booked a restaurant for New Years Eve.
We called at a regular haunt ( Kesgrave Hall and after waiting for 15 minutes were told no places ( at 6.45!!!
We went to Loch Fyne in Ipwich a place we have not been for many years. We were greeted by Lee and although they were very busy and booked up he kindly found a table to two. Made us feel really special and apologised when he said another booking was coming in a 9 pm.
Service was so good. everythign was excellent. the scallops were to die for and the starter crayfish and mango a real delight.
thanksa Lee for making a really nice end to a terrible Xmas.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    97
    53
    59
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Tiny portions and slow service! Had the Seared Scallops as a main course - got 4 of them on my plate!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulaViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do not go here!!!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I cannot believe how poor this restaurant is, we visited for my husbands birthday and called in earlier in the day to book our table, with some umming and arring we were told to arrive before 7pm or we would have a long wait for our food and drink. We arrived at 6:45pm and were seated very quickly, our waitress was on hand within a couple of minutes and things were looking good, we placed our order and our drinks arrived within 10mins, as we enjoyed our drinks we were admiring some of the beautiful food going by to other tables and watched some preparation in the slightly open view kitchen, i noticed that my seafood pasta dish was sitting lonely on the side before my husbands gunia fowl decided to join it (at least 7mins) I then watched the chef and waitress prod and poke my food obviously arguing about the state of it, it was discraceful and we would never return to this restaurant ever again!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Meal with friends”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Been a few times to loch fyne this was not one of the better ones portions are getting smaller.sat near a window very drafty Food was ok but had scalopes for main nice but looked like a starter.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loch Fyne at its best”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Had dinner here on a recent break in Ipswich. Salmon Ashet starter was delicious, and followed with the shellfish platter, which is expensive, but worth every penny - loads of tasty shellfish, crab and lobster. The restaurant was very busy, but we were given the option of a quiet table upstairs which suited us. Despite being busy, the service was great and attentive - nothing was too much trouble for our waiter! Having dined in a few Loch Fyne restaurants, this did not disappoint at all!

Helpful?
Thank BerkshireRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne also viewed

 

Been to Loch Fyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing