We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They went out of their way to make us happy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kwan Thai

Kwan Thai
Ranked #10 of 439 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Thai cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They went out of their way to make us happy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We went on a Saturday night after cinema at about 7pm with no reservation. It was really busy but they found us a table and the food was really nice and priced similar to other Thai restaurants I've been to. They were very attentive and there was plenty of staff. There was a beautifully carved carrot rose on our starter tray and I asked the waitress if I could take it home for my 7 year older daughter called Rosie as she collects Roses. The waitress said of course and then brought me a small bag to put it in, after our main she brought me a different flower and after desert another, I was really pleased as I had intended to have a go at making one myself. The waiter then later described the knife they use and suggested I start with soap as its softer and easier to carve. I thought they were all really nice staff and even though it was busy they seemed to have time for everyone. We will go again!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lowy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    82
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful Thai restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to eat in Ipswich when we visited just before Christmas. Luckily we found the Kwan Thai. Being the last Saturday before Christmas they were very busy but we were tucked away in a corner and didn't feel rushed. The food was delicious, well-presented and authentic - and such a choice. The staff were friendly and welcoming - will definitely visit again if we find ourselves in Ipswich overnight again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Readetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Kwan Thai Christmas Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Kwan Thai is a gem of a restaurant in Ipswich. We had the opportunity to go there for one of the Christmas set menu's and were very impressed with the variety, quality and overall presentation of the meal. It was at a very reasonable price too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CenBrennah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

As there is a sparcity of thai restaurants in Suffolk, we checked tripadvisor and found this place highly recommended. Couldn't believe when the food arrived, literally 2 mins after ordering (thought was very strange?) and as both main dishes looked remarkably the same we asked which was the thai basil dish. The staff scurried off to fetch the manager, who then admitted they had no thai basil left and did we want to change the dish? As we were hungry and tired, my wife was disappointed and stuck with the dish, which tasted remarkably like my chilli and onion chicken dish!

My side order of vegetable phad thai was like no other phad thai I have ever tasted ever ... it was coloured orange vermicelli with a few bean sprouts scattered on top, with added chicken! No taste or flavours and the manager tried to insist that this was not the traditional phad thai option on the menu..... but my answer was, I asked for phad thai, not coloured, tasteless noodles! We have spent 8 - 9 weeks every year in Thailand for the last 10 years and are perfectly clear on what one of their staple dishes looks and tastes like!

Despite trying to discuss this calmly with the duty manager, who was only interested in shouting her opinion over our conversation and being very defensive, we paid the bill (100%) and left .....all within less than an hour of arriving!

Opinion? Try one of the other thai options available, or simply eat at one of the many good other restaurants in St.Nicholas Street!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Thai restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Went here on a busy Saturday night in January. The meal and the service was fantastic. We ordered a set meal for two. We had a mixed platter to start and three main dishes and rice and noodles. Every single dish was just so tasty. Definitely good value for money. We didn't book and the restaurant was obviously busy but the staff went out of their way to find us a table and at no point did we feel rushed and the service was great. Would definitely say this is the best Thai restaurant we have ever been to. would definitely recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kwan Thai also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 
Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Kwan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing