We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous meal”

Mariners 1900 - Ipswich
Ranked #10 of 496 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $57
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Within easy walking distance of the town centre, Ipswich's most original restaurant, Mariners 1900, is an antique Dutch customs gunboat, moored along Neptune Quay. You can enjoy wonderful food in a relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy an evening on the sea front with one of the best value for money in town!
Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

Lovely meal with my husband as a celebration. Great atmosphere and super service. I had the chicken satay and the beef wellington. They were both gorgeous.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank LDOIJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 707 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2019

The restaurant has changed with a more "bistrot" feel to it. Whereas previously portions were small but beautiful, they are now much simpler with hearty portions. The food is still excellent value and the service is efficient and pleasant.

I will miss the "old" Mariners, but I will re-visit the new, but with a different expectation.

I believe the new owner took over last October and my advice would be to provide greater flavour and smaller portions! At present this must be the best value restaurant in Ipswich in that you could order one meal and it would feed two!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robert_hsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

We visited here yesterday evening. From the moment we walked in we were made to feel extremely welcome! Shown to our table, the waitress was prompt in coming to take our drink order, and was very personal in her approach recommending different wines to try. When we went with her recommendation she brought us a taste of two wines to try in case we didn’t like her choice, which was a really nice touch! The food was incredible and the menu was fantastic, (we really struggled with choices!) The ambience was perfect, and the food reasonably priced for the quality, Our waitress (blonde lady - didn’t catch her name) really made our evening and would love our feedback to be relayed! All in all we will definitely visit again! 10/10!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank lalalkatelalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

It has been a busy week so we wandered down to the Waterfront and thought we’d try Mariners for a change. A first time visit under its new management. We hadn’t booked but we were early and they fund us a free table. The staff were friendly and made us very welcome.We noticed that the tables and chairs had been modernised, and the dining area looked smart and comfortable . There is a fixed price Sunday lunch menu with a roast and other choices, something for everyone. We had the roast beef, which was cooked to ones individual preference. It was delicious, with plenty of veg and fluffy Yorkshire pudding. We had bread, 2 mains, 2 puddings,a bottle of wine and coffee, which came to £68 for 2. A bargain considering the quality of the food.
We particularly liked the casual atmosphere, friendly service and the fact that it is a child friendly place. It has a very continental feel about it , and we will definitely return again.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank U5759BSelaineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

Must say yet another great meal at Mariners. Julien the chef and owner does magic in the kitchen. Beef wellington is a signature dish cooked how you want it. My rare roast beef with yorkshire pudding and lovely crisp roast potatoes was so lovely.
Since Julien took over from the previous owners the difference in ambience and decor is amazing.
A must place to go and eat in ipswich waterfront on an 19th dutch boat overlooking the water very reasonably priced. Well done Julien and his wife Karin who has brought style to the Marina

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Mariadz_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariners 1900 - Ipswich also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Mariners 1900 - Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing