We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Set sail and dive in”

Mariners Restaurant of Ipswich
Ranked #5 of 443 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Within easy walking distance of the town centre, Ipswich's most original restaurant, Mariners, is an antique Dutch customs gunboat, moored along Neptune Quay. You can relax in its wonderful atmosphere and its polished brass ambience. From a quick snack for lunch on the upper deck to a romantic dinner on the lower deck, it is the perfect place for an evening on the sea front.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Set sail and dive in”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Quite simply, the best restaurant in Ipswich by a considerable margin. Have been eating here regularly for many years and both the food and overall experience are consistently wonderful. Standards have, if anything improved since the name change from Il Punto, particularly in presentation: the quality is higher than you might expect from a brasserie, as it describes itself. The setting is unique and memorable on a converted boat in the midst of Ipswich's burgeoning waterfront; the vessel's illustrious and chequered past is detailed on the back of the pudding menu. The panelled wood and brass fittings provide a high-class atmosphere with beautiful views over the water. The set lunch is incredible value; the same menu is offered more expensively in the evening but it's still worth every centime. The cuisine is modern French, and the menu is one where you could happily order every item. The terrines and fish starters are particularly good; a recent visit combined the two in the shape of crab and salmon, which was superlative. Mains have a good selection of both meat and fish, locally sourced. Duck, venison and the steaks are usually excellent; my last selection was breast of guinea fowl in a shallot-based reduction which still tastes in the memory - and not of chicken, like most. Don't deny yourself pudding: despite the tempting selection, choose the nougat glacé, which is unadulterated pleasure on a plate. Under the direction of the majestic Denis, the young French waiting staff are charming and attentive. I eat here every opportunity I can; it's a pity it can't be every week.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    114
    33
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brother in Laws Wedding Reception”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Attended the Wedding Reception of my Brother in law Alan and his new bride Thuy. Fabulous venue in a boat. The views are fantastic looking across the harbour. A beautiful setting.The food was fantastic. We were greeted with very polite and helpful staff. Offered the sparkly wine and canapes. The meal was excellant. I chose a crab and salmon starter followed by the sea bass.with veg. and apple pie and icecream. Beautiful. Easy to see why this venue was chosen.
Will certainly recommend to our friends when visiting this area. And guess what? the sun shone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank evelynenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A delight”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I took a friend here this week for a birthday lunch. It is a classic French restaurant, quite a formal setting even though its on a boat and a bit dark unless the weather's wonderful and you can sit on the terrace. But the service was, as ever courteous and attentive without being fulsome. We both ate from the set menu which was very good value and, I thought, had more interesting choices than the a la carte. Food arrived quickly. I had rabbit - stuffed with foie gras and served in a light as air puff pastry shell with what I think was a red wine reduction as a starter. It was stupendous: light with layers of flavour, a perfect starter. My companion had smoked duck breast with a celeriac remoulade which looked delicious although the dainty portion meant I thought it a bit unfair to ask for a sample. We both had hake as our main course, beautifully cooked, very fresh fish: I couldnt fault it. The pudding choice looked great but we resisted and had excellent coffee and petit fours instead.
I've been to this restaurant occasionally for many years. It has always provided consistent food of the highest quality. I would heartily recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Old time elegance”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I almost thought I had stepped back in time, to the 50's, or 20's. The restaurant is on a boat, and you really do feel set apart from the hustle and bustle of Ipswich town once you're on board. There are views out over the harbour, and the furnishing is very nice (could do with a lick of paint soon though!). I liked the chandelier, and the way the lavatories were tucked away in the stern.

The food is French, and is of a very high standard indeed. Dishes are imaginative, tasty, and served with lovely presentation.

The overall service did not disappoint, many of the staff are french and they were efficient and polite.

It's a nice place for a romantic dinner, and conveniently situated for dinner after meetings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FloraPoste365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“will return”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

great setting, great food,lovely people,great wine,and to top the lot fantasic food. we will return next time we are staying in ipswich or traveling to norfolk from kent.set menu was well thought out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IANBARKER_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariners Restaurant of Ipswich also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Mariners Restaurant of Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing