We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel stay in a long while”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
St Martins, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best hotel stay in a long while”
Reviewed April 26, 2010

The staff at this hotel are of the best I have ever encountered. They were all cheerful, friendly and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Our room was clean and the bed so comfortable we did not want to get up and despite being on the main A14 it was surprisingly very quiet!

We would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schoolgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    122
    91
    36
    25
See reviews for
58
110
12
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
760 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 769 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Stayed at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell for 3 nights in an Executive Room. The hotel is located just off A14 Junction 57 at the Havens Ransomes Europark. Check in was smooth, the receptionist was very informative and answered the queries we had. As part of booking an Executive Room, a free-gratis 0,75l bottle of wine is included. Our order was taken at check-in and then brought to the room 10 minutes later.

The Executive Room was located on the ground floor and was fairly spacious. There were magazines, safe, trouser press, TV with a fairly limited selection of channels, tea/coffee facilities. There was a Bathrobe/slippers also.

The King bed consisted of two single beds being hinged together, however the bracket had come loose, twisted and obtrusive. Free internet is included in the price when the Executive Rate is booked, the internet is charged to your room and then taken off at the end of the stay.

The bathroom was larger than average with enhanced toiletries, weighing scales and powerful ‘over bath’ shower. On the third day the towels had been changed but no cleaning of the room had been attempted, the bins were not emptied, tea/coffee not replenished and the bed wasn’t touched.

Buffet Breakfast was excellent with a large selection of hot and cold items nicely presented and a self service coffee machine. We chose room service on two occasions, the food was of good quality and took about half an hour to arrive.

The hotel staff are a good asset but there are some issues with the hotel such as cleaning or lack of cleaning carried out and broken fixtures. May be inclined to stay again but there are a lot of alternatives in the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

I stayed here for 7 weeks in June and July. I has a few issues during my stay but on the whole I enjoyed my time there.

As I have mentioned in previous Holiday Inn reviews its expensive drinks, food and internet. I dont think there is much ou can do about that.

I ate dinner here a few times and it was nice but we mainly ate across the road in a little pub. There it was much cheaper and it was nice to get some variety.

The gym is very basic so dont expect and amazing work out but it does the job. The things I like about this hotel was the communual areas, you could relax and chill out in several different zones. I found the staff to be friendly and after being there for so long they even became to know what I was going to have next.

The rooms were a fair size, a little tired in places and a bit of dusting would have been nice but on the whole if I was going to Ipswich again I would definitely stay here or the Ufford Park.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pikesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights over a weekend, visiting Suffolk because left it too late to book elsewhere closer to Aldeburgh Festival. Was very satisfied with the accommodation. Hotel clean and comfortable, rooms spacious with decent furniture. Nice to have a full size bath. Although near a busy road we found it very quiet and even slept with our bedroom window open. Everything provided, ironing board, fan, extra pillows. Breakfast excellent, and personally cooked to order. Of course both accommodation and food were part of special offers which made it pretty good value for money. Wish I had known there was a David Lloyd gym just across the road, as I am a member but had not taken my kit. Great base for River Orwell walks and cycling.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMCA456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We stayed for one night. Check-in was fast, friendly, and efficient. Our room (#2) was on the gound floor and was very clean and generally quiet...large by European standards. Asked for and received additional pillows within minutes of request. The bathroom appeared newly renovated and was large and spotlessly clean. While the room was not air-conditioned, the window opened (with a clever security wire to prevent full opening for theives) to let in cool March breeze. Some noise from the parking lot intrudes with window open, otherwise very well insulated. We had coffee making gear, sofabed, wardrobe, and a double-bed. King-bed rooms are available but not the night we were there. Bar is modern with a friendly staff. In summary, this is a well managed hotel with a very helpful staff and high quality rooms. We would not hesitate to book again while in Ipswich.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

This hotel is located on a busy business park alongside the A14. As such the rooms are quite noisy and you shouldn't bank on a good night's sleep. This hotel is aimed at the business market and that was my reason for staying. Finding the hotel is easy, follow the signs for the Marriott - this hotel must have changed hands recently!

Check in was slow. One member of staff although friendly appeared to be struggling to cope with the 3 or 4 people in reception waiting to be served. I checked into room 42 which is a reasonablt large double room on the 1st floor. The room was generally clean and comfortable although the bathroom had some rogue hairs..!

The restaurant was rather chaotic. The Monday Italian night was a little lack lustre with my waitress apologising for not having 2 of the 3 types of pasta on the menu - none of which she could pronounce. The restaurant filled up quickly and it eventually took me 2 hours to be served 2 courses. My steak was over cooked and rather bland. I was left waiting for service and struggled to attract the attention of staff. Flies in the restaurant were rather off putting too.

Breakfast was meagre. The hotplate offering a small choice of cooked items which did not appear to be freashly cooked. There was cereal and fruit, toast etc but it was not a breakfast to remember by any stretch.

Check iut was slow, trainee member of staff was friendly though.
Hats off to the staff who were later able to find the necklace I left behind with minimum fuss.

I'd stay in this hotel again on business but I would not eat in the restaurant again.

  • Liked — Nothing really - it was unremarkable
  • Disliked — Slow service in all areas
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowWhite78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-IpswichOrwell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, November 3, 2008
Thank you for your comments - I am sorry that we did not deliver the best experience possible to you - however I am glad that despite this the staff did deliver excellent customer service.
We are continually improving our standards and service and your comments will be used to help us do this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ipswich hotels

London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2008

On arrival at reception, there was just one person there who was on the phone. I waited eight minutes for her to finish her conversation before she said hello.

The room was very tired looking: cracked loo, grimy shower curtain, marks on the basin, very old analogue television. Worse it was badly cleaned. In fact it was unacceptably dirty: cobwebs in the bedroom, hair (I won't go into too much detail) in the bathroom and a layer of grime almost everywhere. The room was also very noisy, mainly due to the very badly insulated door: you could clearly hear peoples conversations in the corridor. As well as everything being dated, some basics were missing: no air-conditioning (at £130 per night!), no WIFI access in the bedrooms (there was wired access at £15 per day) and a very uncomfortable bed.

Fortunately I did not have dinner there. Breakfast was a section of tepid overcooked offerings from the buffet. The coffee was tasteless and luke warm.

The place is aimed at business travellers and priced accordingly. It only survives because lazy P.A.s can make a block booking and presumably get some loyalty points.

There is absolutely nothing that this hotel offers that merits any praise. Given the price, you can do so much better staying at an independent hotel.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — Dirty and noisy
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimbo7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-IpswichOrwell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, November 3, 2008
Thank you for your comments - I apologise that your stay was not to your liking - we take all customer experience feedback both positive and negative very seriously and use it to help improve the service and standards we deliver to our guests.
Your comments will help us do this and ensure similar experiences are not had by guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#11 of 18 in Ipswich
567 reviews
3.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
474 reviews
3.1 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.7 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

Property: Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Address: 2 The Havens, Ipswich IP3 9SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel is ideally located at Junction 57 on the A14, only 10 minutes from Ipswich Town Centre, 15 minutes from the Suffolk Coast and 5 minutes from Trinity Park the home of the Suffolk Show.The Hotel boasts extensive free car parking and a selection of Queen Double and King Double/Twin Bedrooms some with sofa beds for families. A further 6 Executive Rooms are the ideal business choice with mini bars and laptops safes, in addition 2 open plan Suites add the final touch of luxury for those special occasions.The Hotel offers a range of dining experiences, The Priory Restaurant, Bar and Lounge offer informal modern dining with a large choice of food and drink options complimented with daily specials to suit the needs of both the Corporate and Leisure Guest. The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel has a range of conference and banqueting rooms, with Wi-Fi access available in these and also the public areas, whilst wired access is available in all bedrooms.The Hotel offers an onsite Gym and within walking distance, a state of the art Full Leisure Complex is available to guests at a small nominal charge.The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel, close enough to access the business districts and Adastral Park, whilst still being the ideal base to enjoy the rest of East Anglia and all that it can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing