We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not use for Business Needs!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will not use for Business Needs!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

As a Trainer for a 'Blue Chip' 'Global Company it was the first time we used this hotel for a 3 day Corporate Event. I have used various hotels in the UK for our events and generally Holiday Inns are very good for Business needs.

I always make sure that the staff at the hotel where I am training at are aware that the conference room is to remain secure at all times when not occupied and under no circumstances is the room to be left unlocked because of equipment and document confidentiality. When I arrived on the 3rd day, not only was the room left unsecure but the door was wedged wide open for anyone to help themselves!

10 delegates had been booked. However, due to unforeseen circumstances only 3 arrived. I immediately notified the staff to reduce the numbers for refreshments and lunch and requested the final bill would be amended accordingly. This was confirmed by the young lad who was on duty that day.

Over the 3 days I had to constantly chase reception for refreshments that hadn't arrived. Lunch arrived 40 mins early. The young lad suggested that as there was only 4 of us that perhaps we would like to join another company for lunch to save the chef from making 2 working lunches!!.

The Conference room was dirty and shabby - not a good image for our Company and not one that we would like to promote. The layout of the room each morning was poor compared to other Holiday Inns

On checking the bill it wasn't amended as promise. The 2 receptionists on duty discussed the matter and agreed to write on both copies that the bill needed to be amended.

Our Admin team have told me that the Manager has absolutely REFUSED to reduce to the bill.

We certainly will not be using this Hotel again and it is a shame that the Manager has lost a valuable client for repeat business.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank faith o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Faith,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our hotel.
I am disappointed to read your comments as I looked after your conference personally on one of your days and you were very complimentary about lunch and the food served at break times as were your delegates. I would have appreciated the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you when you were in the hotel as I was around throughout your conference.
I have discussed the points you raised thoroughly and I will send you a private message to research further some of the issues you mentioned.

Thank you again for reviewing our Hotel.

Yours sincerely

Jason Stringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    112
    88
    33
    24
See reviews for
54
104
11
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night ahead of delivering a corporate event.

The hotel itself is quite tired looking in some places, and this is especially true of the bedroom I was allocated. Room 11. Corrosion on the bathroom sink taps, a wardrobe with a door handle missing and towels that had seen much better days.

The quality of service from staff was excellent throughout. Special mention to receptionist Naomi, Events Manager Scott and Laura who works in the bar/restaurant who individually absolutely first class, genuinely welcoming and helpful and brought a personal touch to hospitality. The quality of service would be a five star if measured on its own.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2912Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear 2912Uk ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel and room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We recently had our wedding at the Holiday Inn Ipswich 5th April 2014.

What can I say, the day went off really well, with no hiccups at all.

Tracy & Pauline were very helpful with the details of the wedding and helped with the planning of the day.

Scott on the day kept you well informed of everything.

The food was great, as was the evening buffet.

A good time was had by all.

If you want a stress free wedding then Holiday Inn is the place to have it.

Thank you all for making our day so special, and a big thanks to Scott for all your help.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Claire,

Thank you so much for your most flattering review. I am delighted that your day was such a sucess and I have obviously made sure that all of the team have read your comments.

We strive to ensure that every event we do is well planned and as you put it stress free and the team really enjoy being part of every wedding couples special day. It seems to have been the case on the occasion also.

Tracey, Pauline and Scott were thrilled to see their names in lights and would like to thank you for your kind words.

Thank you again for your kind words and we all wish you every sucess in your married life together.

Kind regards


Jason Stringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I stay in a lot of holiday inn's for business (usually 1 a week) and this one is sadly not one of the best. The staff were very helpfull with local knowledge. The room I had on the ground floor was however a little run down and not as quiet as I would have hoped for as this hotel is in the middle of an industrial estate near a main road so there is also some traffic noise.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank KeyCuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear KeyCuk,

Thank you for reviewing our Hotel.
I am pleased that you found our team to be helpful and had good local knowledge.

I am obviously disappointed to hear that you were disturbed by road noise. We have a lot of quiet rooms at the back of the Hotel which I am sure would be better suited to you.
If you wished to book one for your next stay please contact me directly on gm.hiipswich@kewgreen.co.uk and I will ensure everything is to your satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review.

Yours sincerely


Jason Stringer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Friendly helpful staff on reception good local knowledge Bar staff friendly and helpful especially our first night when they were exceptionally busy Connor and Laura were fabulous. We ate in the bar both nights food was nice and freshly prepared. Breakfast was a good selection of continental cereals and cooked. We had three adults in our room and it was plenty big enough

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your most flattering review.
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I am especially pleased you enjoyed the food and I have passed your comments onto Chef and his team.
I am glad you found Connor and Laura to be friendly, I will ensure they are recognised for their efforts.

Thank you for your great review and we hope to see you again really soon.

kind regards


Jason Stringer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel is dated, scruffy and in need of some care and attention.

The room was fairly standard decor, again a bit scruffy and battered, intended for one person, with one bedside table and light, and lighting overall was rather dim. There are basic tea and coffee facilities.

The shower was in need of repair and was awful, and also incredibly loud, you would have woken half the hotel had you tried to use it during normal sleeping hours. Toiletries were the attached to the wall variety filled with something cheap and slight off putting in smell.

There is free wifi, not the speediest ever but not too bad.

Breakfast was very good, the hotel was very quiet so they were doing breakfast cooked to order rather than buffet and as a result it was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_M_Leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast, cooking breakfast to order is something we are now doing as a standard as we feel it gives a better fresher plate of food for our customers and we are pleased you have recognised this.

In terms of your comments regarding the bedrooms we are currently painting in a number of bedrooms to give them a more fresh up to date feel. In terms of the shower this has now been fixed by our maintenance team.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,


Jason Stringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I spent our wedding night here and she spent the night before with our two daughters (18 and 1) and her Mum & Dad. The staff could not have been more helpful the first night with all the little extras normally provided by Holiday Inn. Special thanks goes to Michelle and Gretti on reception for all their help, kind words and relaxed attitude. They both helped to make my wife feel very special and gave us a wonderful greeting when we got there on the wedding night. The room was clean and comfortable and only the clock on the TV caused me any trouble (remedied in the darkness with a room service menu!) Breakfast on the first morning was wonderful and sorry about the mess our one year old made! the second morning was wonderful too. Breakfast was delicious and the staff, particularly Wendy and Rex were funny and relaxed and made our breakfast all the more lively. I also just wanted to mention housekeeping for their happy smiles and all their help and sorry again for all the confetti on the bathroom floor! Thank you everyone for adding to our wonderful day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajpatmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Firstly may I congratulate you on your recent wedding and wish you the very best in your married life together.

I am blown away by your kind comments and am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and will ensure that all the team you mentioned, Michelle, Greti, Wendy and Rex receive the kudos they deserve for such high praise.

I have obviously have shared your comments with them and they would like to thank you and also wish you every sucess in your future.

It was a pleasure for us to look after you at such a special time and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,


Jason Stringer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich South East Hotel
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#11 of 18 in Ipswich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
3.7 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
3.0 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
2.7 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

Property: Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Address: 2 The Havens, Ipswich IP3 9SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel is ideally located at Junction 57 on the A14, only 10 minutes from Ipswich Town Centre, 15 minutes from the Suffolk Coast and 5 minutes from Trinity Park the home of the Suffolk Show.The Hotel boasts extensive free car parking and a selection of Queen Double and King Double/Twin Bedrooms some with sofa beds for families. A further 6 Executive Rooms are the ideal business choice with mini bars and laptops safes, in addition 2 open plan Suites add the final touch of luxury for those special occasions.The Hotel offers a range of dining experiences, The Priory Restaurant, Bar and Lounge offer informal modern dining with a large choice of food and drink options complimented with daily specials to suit the needs of both the Corporate and Leisure Guest. The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel has a range of conference and banqueting rooms, with Wi-Fi access available in these and also the public areas, whilst wired access is available in all bedrooms.The Hotel offers an onsite Gym and within walking distance, a state of the art Full Leisure Complex is available to guests at a small nominal charge.The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel, close enough to access the business districts and Adastral Park, whilst still being the ideal base to enjoy the rest of East Anglia and all that it can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing