We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mr” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“mr”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

first impressions when entering this hotel is very good.
bedroom very comfortable even on ground floor where we were noise very low.
book in advance get good deals;
good excellent as well.
food vdery good value for what you pay.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freddie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Freddie,

Thank you for reviewing our Hotel.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we try really hard to run a great hotel that our guests love and it is really nice to hear from our customers when we get it right.

I have shared your kind comments with the team and we all hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jason Stringer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    112
    88
    33
    24
See reviews for
54
104
11
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed For one night as we were attending a Ball in the area. Reception was good and check in easy. twin beds in the room were past their best and were uncomfortable. The bathroom was filthy and had not been cleaned properly, the toilet bowl was cracked and there were splashes of vomit on the toilet, walls, floor and toilet roll, (see pics). Odd and cracked tiles on walls. All in all not a comfortable stay. NO free WIFI.? Finally we booked a taxi to pick us up at the end of the evening by the hotel recommended taxi firm hawk express. We were left stranded at 1am in the middle of nowhere, imagine if it had been a woman on her own. If the hotel is going to recommend a company they should ensure that they are reliable and offer a good service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
I have investigated the comments you have made in terms of room cleanliness and have taken steps with our head housekeeper to ensure these standards are not repeated.
In terms of the taxi firm I have passed your comments on to the company and they wish to be associated with my apologies. I am sorry that they let you down but would like to re-assure you that we use a reputable local company that serves most of the larger hotels in the are.

I would be grateful if you could contact me so that I can try to restore your faith in the Holiday Inn, Ipswich Orwell and our ability to deliver the high standards you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Hotels.

Yours sincerely,

Jason Stringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ipswich hotels

Hamilton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Flying visit as was doing some work nearby. Handy for the Ransomes business park area.

ROOM : Usual annoying HI TV menu/interface. A bit dated decor. Decent nights kip though, quiet.
SERVICE : Excellent. Friendly check-in girl. Huge thanks to front desk for contacting me just after I checked out to alert me I left my laptop in room.
FOOD : Sadly didn't have time for dinner or breakfast. Had a pint after my shift in bar which seems to stay open late.

Decent place to stay for work, costs £10 in a taxi from station.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank C_R_JLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us.
I am pleased you found our reception team to be friendly and am especially pleased we were able to re-unite you with your lap top.
We are currently carrying out an internal refurbishment programme to freshen up our bedrooms and I hope that the next time you stay with us you will be able to experience one of these rooms.

Thanks again for your most kind review.

Yours sincerely,

Jason Stringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

The orwell is idealy situated on the outskirts of ipswich and is easy to reach
My wife and i with some friend went there for our new years eve party and apart from the dinning area being cold because the staff couldnt turn the BLOODY air conditioning off the disco was excelent and on the stroke of midnight they had a piper in full regalia which was a nice touch and the disco took photographs and displaye them and if you liked them you could buy then at a good price but as with every hotel they RIP you off over the price of your drinks with two different bars and three different prices
the hotel was clean and tidy and the beds were comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was included in the price over all we had an enjoyable evening and may do it again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay with us over the new year.
I am delighted you enjoyed the evening, we had excellent feedback from many guests over the evening and have already booked the same piper for this year!
I have investigated the issues with the heating in the room and these have now been resolved.
I am sorry for the issues with the bar prices and have put in place steps to ensure that the same mistakes will not be made in future.

Hope to see you again at this years event or at one of our calendar of event theme nights.

Kind regards


Jason Stringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This is one brilliant hotel. Not only location, the service and staff are truly very helpful.

We stayed one night for the New Years Eve party, which is brilliant. As if the service, food and disco was not enough on the stroke of midnight Scottish piper came into the room playing the bagpipes. WOW!!!!!

Breakfast was brilliant, food was delicious

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TraceyEllis-Moat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for writing such a glowing review. It has really made our day here at the hotel to receive such high praise. I have, of course shared your comments with our team and all are delighted you enjoyed your new years with us.

We hope to see you again soon and don't forget to book early for next years new years eve party.

Kind regards,


Jason Stringer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a standard holiday inn. It is quiet and miles from anywhere central to ipswich. Suited me as I had a meeting nearby. As the title says, the best thing is the free use of David Lloyd across the road. The bar is very poor, rarely manned and slow to serve. I didn't eat dinner, jut breakfast which was ok.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cherryblossomfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
I am pleased that you enjoyed using the David Lloyd leisure centre. We feel it is an excellent facility that we are pleased to offer to all of our guests.
You mention you were disappointed with the bar service and breakfast and I would like to offer my apologies for not meeting your expectations in these areas.
Since your visit we have made a number of changes to the breakfast menu and buffet display and we have employed a new Restaurant and Bar Manager to address some of the issues you encountered.

I hope that you will give us another chance where I am sure you will see the improvements we have made.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I hope to see you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jason Stringer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I held a function at this hotel, so my review is based on the staff & service rather than the accommodation. My visit was today the 10th December, and I specifically wanted to comment on the bar staff. In particular a new recruit called Alicia, who was in her first 3 months employment. Her service and manner were delightful, and she took my "off piste" menu request without fuss or question. She offered to look after my drink whilst I was in & out of a conference room, and came to find me (without request) to let me know my meal was ready. Little things, but just what the customer wanted. Ironically the event I was at was an employment event where we were looking to hire staff. Personally I would have hired her in an instant, so well done Holiday Inn for doing so your self

Room Tip: I didn't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perfectflowneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Wow, high praise indeed and thank you.
Your comments have really made our day.
Really pleased that your function went well and that Alicia looked after you well, (but hands off!!). I have shared your comments with her and she would like to say hi and thank you for your kind comments.

Hope to see you back soon.

Regards

Jason Stringer

Jason Stringer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich South East Hotel
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#11 of 18 in Ipswich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
3.7 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
3.5 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.7 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

Property: Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Address: 2 The Havens, Ipswich IP3 9SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel is ideally located at Junction 57 on the A14, only 10 minutes from Ipswich Town Centre, 15 minutes from the Suffolk Coast and 5 minutes from Trinity Park the home of the Suffolk Show.The Hotel boasts extensive free car parking and a selection of Queen Double and King Double/Twin Bedrooms some with sofa beds for families. A further 6 Executive Rooms are the ideal business choice with mini bars and laptops safes, in addition 2 open plan Suites add the final touch of luxury for those special occasions.The Hotel offers a range of dining experiences, The Priory Restaurant, Bar and Lounge offer informal modern dining with a large choice of food and drink options complimented with daily specials to suit the needs of both the Corporate and Leisure Guest. The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel has a range of conference and banqueting rooms, with Wi-Fi access available in these and also the public areas, whilst wired access is available in all bedrooms.The Hotel offers an onsite Gym and within walking distance, a state of the art Full Leisure Complex is available to guests at a small nominal charge.The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel, close enough to access the business districts and Adastral Park, whilst still being the ideal base to enjoy the rest of East Anglia and all that it can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing