We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small coach holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
staffordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“small coach holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 20 Sept for 3 nights on a coach holiday(14 of us including the driver!) The hotel was clean & rooms pleasant. Staff were excellent & were very attentive & friendly.The first night there was a very noisy wedding with guest walking through corridors very nosily until 3.30am.The second night there was another wedding, this time very quiet & we never heard any disturbance form them.The third night no weddings!
The breakfasts were nice with buffet style & fresh cooked eggs to order. Some nice fresh fruit too.Our evening meals had to be booked at breakfast ( which was fine) but as it was a coachholiday the food was different from the other guests & there lies our problem...whilst the other guests food (not on a coach) looked lovely & presented very nicely & looked good enough to eat. ( ours on the coach) was dire! The portions were of good size & hot but lacked any taste or flavour. If you had been blindfolded it would have been difficult to know wether you were eating fish or cauliflower, very bland with no seasoning, watery veg (green beans, sliced carrots & cauliflower)
The desserts were awful, iceceam that looked as though it might glow in the dark..hugh blobs of the stuff, the custard ..well undiscribeable, the fresh fruit salad was very good.
I know it was a coach party ( & some people have to go on these type of holidays) but surely we deserve better than this type of food? I have know it where coach parties are put into seperate rooms from other dinners...this didnt happen here, but that food was awful!!
I know that coach companys want a good price, but If you want to serve better food then think about putting your prices up!



Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kate399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear kate399,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. However, it is regrettable that we failed to meet your expectations in a few areas particularly with the noise and food quality. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more memorable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    115
    89
    33
    24
See reviews for
56
106
11
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked our wedding here and were very happy with the package which included a room the night before the wedding and a room the night of. The room was very clean and provided all that we needed. Our wedding planner Tracey was excellent and nothing was ever too much trouble. Our guests at the wedding were treated extremely well and those that booked rooms were very happy with the service. The staff on duty were fantastic and all of our wedding accessories were set exactly as we had asked, again nothing was too much for them. Scott provided us with a personalised service and ensured that our wedding day was perfect. We can't thank him and the staff on duty enough. First class service received all round. The food was to a high standard and we received many compliments from our guests. We highly recommend the Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell for anyone who is thinking of getting married. The venue was absolutely perfect for what we wanted for our big day. Thank you again to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Adele,

Thank you for your review.
Your kind words are most appreciated and I will certainly ensure the whole team here get to see them. I agree with your comments about Scott, Tracey and our Kitchen team and am personally very proud of them.

I would like to wish all the very best for your married life together and hope to see you back at the Hotel soon.

Kind regards

Jason Stringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Location a little isolated but excellent use of the David Lloyd fitness centre. Staff were tremendous, particularly Coleen on reception and Ali in the bar. Excellent business hotel and a good stay thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john55821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear John 55821,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our Hotel.
I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us. I am pleased you made time to make use of the David Lloyd Leisure club as we feel it is a great facility and are proud to offer this facility complimentary to all of our guests.
I will pass on your kind comments to the team and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,


Jason Stringer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Booked in here for a family funeral, there were two couples with the same name (family!) and as we came in we were met by confusion, they had mixed up the rooms, signed ours over to the other couple then tried to tell us we hadnt paid (we had!). Eventually the manager came and sorted it, just let us stay in the rooms for them to sort it later. Later we went to the replacement manager Michelle who i must say was very helpful and sorted it all out, eventually upgrading the rooms. As we were in the other couples original room though, the bills kept coming to us in our room but in their names, this wasnt a problem as we are all friends but if there had been animosity it couldve caused difficulties. Even at breakfast they had pre-paid and our bill was in their name!! Would also say that at night in the bar, the barman kept disappearing into the function room (think thats where they went) to the degree where eventually Michelle (true star this lady!) had to go and find him. Perhaps a bell, buzzer or something on the bar linked to the function room would sort this one out. Despite the above, the rooms were nice, staff polite and the wake was very well catered.

Room Tip: Choose the executive and up as these are quite a bit better than the double rooms. Book early to pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _LondonLeanne_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear _LondonLeanne_

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our Hotel.
I am pleased that in the main your stay was a pleasant one, I am pleased that you felt the wake you attended here was well catered for and I have passed your kind comments regarding Michelle onto her.

In terms of the mix up on the bedrooms, for this I can only apologise and the receptionist on duty would like to be associated with my apologies for which was a genuine error. I again would like to apologise for the problems you encountered with bar service and I have spoken at length to my Restaurant and Bar Manager to put in place actions to ensure this is not repeated in future.

Yours sincerely

Jason Stringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a hotel you would only use for business as it's based near the business and industrial belt. It sits on a noisy road and is adequate for business use only.

Good bundled free access to the David Lloyd sports center across the road. I have stayed here thrice and the hotel needs a bit of a makeover as it's old world dark English pub wood style...is no longer in style.

Food is to be avoided even with their new menu ( introduced here as a test the hotel sign said )....micro-wave heated pre-cooked food elsewhere would be my assumption.

Shower hot water has been an issue on two stays but no response to my reports of this to help them sort it out....although Holiday Inn do fastidiously send you surveys and email post stay....pity the marketing department don't talk to the customer department!

Worth the money for location to business but you would not want to be here for more than two nights.

Room Tip: Ask for furthest away from busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJC-Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear DJC,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our Hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed using the David Lloyd Leisure centre it is an excellent facility and we are pleased to be able to offer complimentary access to all our guests.

In terms of your comments regarding food, we have now finished the trial which was on behalf of Holiday Inn Hotels and have now introduced a more extensive menu which we believe has increased in both quality of dishes and choice of items. The hot water issue we believe has now been resolved by our in house team.

Perhaps when you are staying next you could ask for me personally so I can discuss the issues you experienced in person.

Hope we get to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely


Jason Stringer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Took advantage of a short 2 night stay after the bank holiday wkend. Very few other guests so breakfast was not buffet but made freshly for us. Very generous portions and hot and delicious. Didn't eat in the hotel again as we have relatives in the area but the experimental menu looks better than the menus we have had on previous visits. Overall very good value for money and it would be our 1st choice stay if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlandsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Highand Fans,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your recent stay with us.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jason Stringer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
219 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for an early morning business meeting the following morning, and arrived late (21.00).Check in was good, (trainee did her very best, but still a little "scripted") and went more or less straight to the bar for some dinner.
TV was on LOUD with football, and not conducive to the work I had to do, but the barman obligingly turned it down. I had a bar snack a d c ouple of drinks while I finished off some urgent paperwork and emails. The warning bells should have started ringing with the kids in the bar drinking fizzy sugar filled drinks.
Sure enough on returning to my room, they were just down the corridor, screaming, running up and down and generally being kids afflicted with ADHD or whatever this week's excuse for bad behaviour is. Reception seemed to calm things down after a phone call.

About 3am a phone upstairs from me on vibrate started "buzzing" through the floor as the owner's alarm went off. He got up, used the bathroom, got ready and left. By now it was 3.45am and I'd given up on sleep.

Up for breakfast at 06.30, and checked out and away by 07.30 in more than good time for my 08.00 meeting 3 minutes away.

Not the hotel's fault, but probably one of the worst nights "sleep" I've ever endured.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Jetsettel,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our Hotel.

I welcome your balanced review and feel you have been kind to us over some of the factors which were perhaps out of our control.

However, I have discussed with the Hotel team the problems you encountered and we would like to apologise for not delivering you a great nights sleep. I would be grateful if you could contact me directly should you need to come to Ipswich in future in order that I may ensure that you can experience the comfort and service you expect from Holiday Inn Hotels worldwide.

Thank you again for your review.

Yours sincerely


Jason Stringer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ipswich hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich South East Hotel
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#11 of 18 in Ipswich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
3.7 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
3.1 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

Property: Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Address: 2 The Havens, Ipswich IP3 9SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel is ideally located at Junction 57 on the A14, only 10 minutes from Ipswich Town Centre, 15 minutes from the Suffolk Coast and 5 minutes from Trinity Park the home of the Suffolk Show.The Hotel boasts extensive free car parking and a selection of Queen Double and King Double/Twin Bedrooms some with sofa beds for families. A further 6 Executive Rooms are the ideal business choice with mini bars and laptops safes, in addition 2 open plan Suites add the final touch of luxury for those special occasions.The Hotel offers a range of dining experiences, The Priory Restaurant, Bar and Lounge offer informal modern dining with a large choice of food and drink options complimented with daily specials to suit the needs of both the Corporate and Leisure Guest. The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel has a range of conference and banqueting rooms, with Wi-Fi access available in these and also the public areas, whilst wired access is available in all bedrooms.The Hotel offers an onsite Gym and within walking distance, a state of the art Full Leisure Complex is available to guests at a small nominal charge.The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel, close enough to access the business districts and Adastral Park, whilst still being the ideal base to enjoy the rest of East Anglia and all that it can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing