We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, silly problems spoiled the stay a bit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Booked in here for a family funeral, there were two couples with the same name (family!) and as we came in we were met by confusion, they had mixed up the rooms, signed ours over to the other couple then tried to tell us we hadnt paid (we had!). Eventually the manager came and sorted it, just let us stay in the rooms for them to sort it later. Later we went to the replacement manager Michelle who i must say was very helpful and sorted it all out, eventually upgrading the rooms. As we were in the other couples original room though, the bills kept coming to us in our room but in their names, this wasnt a problem as we are all friends but if there had been animosity it couldve caused difficulties. Even at breakfast they had pre-paid and our bill was in their name!! Would also say that at night in the bar, the barman kept disappearing into the function room (think thats where they went) to the degree where eventually Michelle (true star this lady!) had to go and find him. Perhaps a bell, buzzer or something on the bar linked to the function room would sort this one out. Despite the above, the rooms were nice, staff polite and the wake was very well catered.

Room Tip: Choose the executive and up as these are quite a bit better than the double rooms. Book early to pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _LondonLeanne_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear _LondonLeanne_

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our Hotel.
I am pleased that in the main your stay was a pleasant one, I am pleased that you felt the wake you attended here was well catered for and I have passed your kind comments regarding Michelle onto her.

In terms of the mix up on the bedrooms, for this I can only apologise and the receptionist on duty would like to be associated with my apologies for which was a genuine error. I again would like to apologise for the problems you encountered with bar service and I have spoken at length to my Restaurant and Bar Manager to put in place actions to ensure this is not repeated in future.

Yours sincerely

Jason Stringer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 392 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a hotel you would only use for business as it's based near the business and industrial belt. It sits on a noisy road and is adequate for business use only.

Good bundled free access to the David Lloyd sports center across the road. I have stayed here thrice and the hotel needs a bit of a makeover as it's old world dark English pub wood style...is no longer in style.

Food is to be avoided even with their new menu ( introduced here as a test the hotel sign said )....micro-wave heated pre-cooked food elsewhere would be my assumption.

Shower hot water has been an issue on two stays but no response to my reports of this to help them sort it out....although Holiday Inn do fastidiously send you surveys and email post stay....pity the marketing department don't talk to the customer department!

Worth the money for location to business but you would not want to be here for more than two nights.

Room Tip: Ask for furthest away from busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJC-Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear DJC,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our Hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed using the David Lloyd Leisure centre it is an excellent facility and we are pleased to be able to offer complimentary access to all our guests.

In terms of your comments regarding food, we have now finished the trial which was on behalf of Holiday Inn Hotels and have now introduced a more extensive menu which we believe has increased in both quality of dishes and choice of items. The hot water issue we believe has now been resolved by our in house team.

Perhaps when you are staying next you could ask for me personally so I can discuss the issues you experienced in person.

Hope we get to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely


Jason Stringer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Took advantage of a short 2 night stay after the bank holiday wkend. Very few other guests so breakfast was not buffet but made freshly for us. Very generous portions and hot and delicious. Didn't eat in the hotel again as we have relatives in the area but the experimental menu looks better than the menus we have had on previous visits. Overall very good value for money and it would be our 1st choice stay if in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highlandsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Highand Fans,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your recent stay with us.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jason Stringer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for an early morning business meeting the following morning, and arrived late (21.00).Check in was good, (trainee did her very best, but still a little "scripted") and went more or less straight to the bar for some dinner.
TV was on LOUD with football, and not conducive to the work I had to do, but the barman obligingly turned it down. I had a bar snack a d c ouple of drinks while I finished off some urgent paperwork and emails. The warning bells should have started ringing with the kids in the bar drinking fizzy sugar filled drinks.
Sure enough on returning to my room, they were just down the corridor, screaming, running up and down and generally being kids afflicted with ADHD or whatever this week's excuse for bad behaviour is. Reception seemed to calm things down after a phone call.

About 3am a phone upstairs from me on vibrate started "buzzing" through the floor as the owner's alarm went off. He got up, used the bathroom, got ready and left. By now it was 3.45am and I'd given up on sleep.

Up for breakfast at 06.30, and checked out and away by 07.30 in more than good time for my 08.00 meeting 3 minutes away.

Not the hotel's fault, but probably one of the worst nights "sleep" I've ever endured.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Jetsettel,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our Hotel.

I welcome your balanced review and feel you have been kind to us over some of the factors which were perhaps out of our control.

However, I have discussed with the Hotel team the problems you encountered and we would like to apologise for not delivering you a great nights sleep. I would be grateful if you could contact me directly should you need to come to Ipswich in future in order that I may ensure that you can experience the comfort and service you expect from Holiday Inn Hotels worldwide.

Thank you again for your review.

Yours sincerely


Jason Stringer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Food in the bar was fine. Room was clean but was awaken at 6.00am by the room next door having a shower it was so loud it sounded like they were showering in my room. Also very old shower mat to stop you slipping in the bath when taking a shower didnt want to touch that as looked a bit dirty!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Matt T,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our Hotel.
I am pleased that in the main your stay was an enjoyable one.
I am concerned tohear you were awoken by the guest in next room and will investigate with my maintenance Manager how we can resolve this. In terms of the shower mat, I have instructed our housekeeper to purchase new ones to replace where required.

Thank you again for your review.

Yours sincerely

Jason Stringer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Travelled to Ipswich for a school reunion and needed to stay overnight, as it is a long drive from my home. Having searched for suitable hotels via Booking.com I decided upon The Holiday Inn - Orwell as it was fairly close to my ultimate destination.

Finding the Hotel was easy, it is on the eats side of The River next to the awful, Orwell Bridge, ( what an ugly monstrosity totally out of keeping with the area)

Reception was superb , and efficient, My room on the ground floor was spacious, comfortable and well appointed. ( slight moan as a Tea Drinker why only 2 tea bags and yet loads of coffee and unlike every other hotel I have stayed in , no hot chocolate or biscuits?)

Restaurant , here by a slight conundrum , The menu shows a full breakfast only, despite the ingredients for a Continental breakfast being readily available and had I pre booked breakfast when I booked my room it would have cost me £5.00 more than it did. The greeting in the Restaurant and staff were all courteous and efficient, the restaurant was comfortable and roomy. Plenty of selection for cereals and not the individual packets, but only skimmed or semi skimmed milk ( arghhh) also seemingly, no sweeteners only sugar ( a downside if you are diabetic or just don't use sugar) Also an insistence on Saturday morning by the 'head' waitress that despite me saying I only required cereal, toast and tea that I should order 'cooked food' 3 times I had to decline and she could not also remember that I had asked for tea not coffee, ( training need I think or is that just me being picky )

Having had lunch elsewhere I decided on a sandwich for the evening snack ordered form the bar with coffee. Polite efficient service and an excellent ham sandwich and coffee.

Saturday night /sunday morning woken at 6.00 by incessant door banging , probably lack of thought by a small number of other guests, perhaps the door closers are a little fierce. Otherwise an undisturbed 2 nights .

Sunday breakfast was also efficient although a colleague staying in the hotel had a cooked breakfast, which seemed to be self service from the hot buffet and frankly, did not look that appetising, unlike the impression I gained on Saturday when the breakfast were apparently cooked to order.

I also wondered why no Continental Breakfast appeared on the Menu and why my cereal toast and tea was charged at the same rate as a full English ?

All in all a comfortabel Hotel with by and large efficient courteous and pleasant staff well sited and with plenty of parking. I did not use the mini gym nor the swimming pool facilities on offer. I would almost certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear David Holms197

Thank you for taking the time and trouble togive such a detailed review of our Hotel.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the team here to be friendly and pleasant. I have passed on your kind words to the team here.

I have taken on board some of your constructive comments and we are working on resolving these so we can deliver an even better guest experience in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Jason Stringer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was easy to find and was located perfectly for us as we were visiting Aldeburgh and Southwold.

There was a wedding happening there but we weren't disturbed at all by the guests.

The room was great however the camp bed was about 3 ft wide but other than that was very comfy the king bed was also comfy but a little stiff.

The breakfast was great having everything that you need for a fry up.

1 problem, there were some hairs left in the bath other than that we had a great visit

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VizioTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Vlzio Tom,

Thank you for your very kind review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay here and found our staff to be "great". I have shared your comments with the team here. Your comment regarding housekeeping standards we have taken on board and I am personally checking rooms daily in order that we can support the housekeeping team to give the cleanest rooms possible to our guests.

Thank you again for your review.

Yours sincerely,

Jason Stringer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#10 of 18 in Ipswich
610 reviews
3.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#8 of 18 in Ipswich
548 reviews
2.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich South East Hotel
5.6 mi away
Best Western Gatehouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

Address: 2 The Havens, Ipswich IP3 9SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range: $58 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel is ideally located at Junction 57 on the A14, only 10 minutes from Ipswich Town Centre, 15 minutes from the Suffolk Coast and 5 minutes from Trinity Park the home of the Suffolk Show.The Hotel boasts extensive free car parking and a selection of Queen Double and King Double/Twin Bedrooms some with sofa beds for families. A further 6 Executive Rooms are the ideal business choice with mini bars and laptops safes, in addition 2 open plan Suites add the final touch of luxury for those special occasions.The Hotel offers a range of dining experiences, The Priory Restaurant, Bar and Lounge offer informal modern dining with a large choice of food and drink options complimented with daily specials to suit the needs of both the Corporate and Leisure Guest. The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel has a range of conference and banqueting rooms, with Wi-Fi access available in these and also the public areas, whilst wired access is available in all bedrooms.The Hotel offers an onsite Gym and within walking distance, a state of the art Full Leisure Complex is available to guests at a small nominal charge.The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel, close enough to access the business districts and Adastral Park, whilst still being the ideal base to enjoy the rest of East Anglia and all that it can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing