We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family visits”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Peterborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family visits”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Took advantage of a short 2 night stay after the bank holiday wkend. Very few other guests so breakfast was not buffet but made freshly for us. Very generous portions and hot and delicious. Didn't eat in the hotel again as we have relatives in the area but the experimental menu looks better than the menus we have had on previous visits. Overall very good value for money and it would be our 1st choice stay if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlandsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Highand Fans,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your recent stay with us.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jason Stringer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    116
    89
    34
    24
See reviews for
56
108
11
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
219 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for an early morning business meeting the following morning, and arrived late (21.00).Check in was good, (trainee did her very best, but still a little "scripted") and went more or less straight to the bar for some dinner.
TV was on LOUD with football, and not conducive to the work I had to do, but the barman obligingly turned it down. I had a bar snack a d c ouple of drinks while I finished off some urgent paperwork and emails. The warning bells should have started ringing with the kids in the bar drinking fizzy sugar filled drinks.
Sure enough on returning to my room, they were just down the corridor, screaming, running up and down and generally being kids afflicted with ADHD or whatever this week's excuse for bad behaviour is. Reception seemed to calm things down after a phone call.

About 3am a phone upstairs from me on vibrate started "buzzing" through the floor as the owner's alarm went off. He got up, used the bathroom, got ready and left. By now it was 3.45am and I'd given up on sleep.

Up for breakfast at 06.30, and checked out and away by 07.30 in more than good time for my 08.00 meeting 3 minutes away.

Not the hotel's fault, but probably one of the worst nights "sleep" I've ever endured.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Jetsettel,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our Hotel.

I welcome your balanced review and feel you have been kind to us over some of the factors which were perhaps out of our control.

However, I have discussed with the Hotel team the problems you encountered and we would like to apologise for not delivering you a great nights sleep. I would be grateful if you could contact me directly should you need to come to Ipswich in future in order that I may ensure that you can experience the comfort and service you expect from Holiday Inn Hotels worldwide.

Thank you again for your review.

Yours sincerely


Jason Stringer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ipswich hotels

Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Food in the bar was fine. Room was clean but was awaken at 6.00am by the room next door having a shower it was so loud it sounded like they were showering in my room. Also very old shower mat to stop you slipping in the bath when taking a shower didnt want to touch that as looked a bit dirty!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Matt T,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our Hotel.
I am pleased that in the main your stay was an enjoyable one.
I am concerned tohear you were awoken by the guest in next room and will investigate with my maintenance Manager how we can resolve this. In terms of the shower mat, I have instructed our housekeeper to purchase new ones to replace where required.

Thank you again for your review.

Yours sincerely

Jason Stringer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Travelled to Ipswich for a school reunion and needed to stay overnight, as it is a long drive from my home. Having searched for suitable hotels via Booking.com I decided upon The Holiday Inn - Orwell as it was fairly close to my ultimate destination.

Finding the Hotel was easy, it is on the eats side of The River next to the awful, Orwell Bridge, ( what an ugly monstrosity totally out of keeping with the area)

Reception was superb , and efficient, My room on the ground floor was spacious, comfortable and well appointed. ( slight moan as a Tea Drinker why only 2 tea bags and yet loads of coffee and unlike every other hotel I have stayed in , no hot chocolate or biscuits?)

Restaurant , here by a slight conundrum , The menu shows a full breakfast only, despite the ingredients for a Continental breakfast being readily available and had I pre booked breakfast when I booked my room it would have cost me £5.00 more than it did. The greeting in the Restaurant and staff were all courteous and efficient, the restaurant was comfortable and roomy. Plenty of selection for cereals and not the individual packets, but only skimmed or semi skimmed milk ( arghhh) also seemingly, no sweeteners only sugar ( a downside if you are diabetic or just don't use sugar) Also an insistence on Saturday morning by the 'head' waitress that despite me saying I only required cereal, toast and tea that I should order 'cooked food' 3 times I had to decline and she could not also remember that I had asked for tea not coffee, ( training need I think or is that just me being picky )

Having had lunch elsewhere I decided on a sandwich for the evening snack ordered form the bar with coffee. Polite efficient service and an excellent ham sandwich and coffee.

Saturday night /sunday morning woken at 6.00 by incessant door banging , probably lack of thought by a small number of other guests, perhaps the door closers are a little fierce. Otherwise an undisturbed 2 nights .

Sunday breakfast was also efficient although a colleague staying in the hotel had a cooked breakfast, which seemed to be self service from the hot buffet and frankly, did not look that appetising, unlike the impression I gained on Saturday when the breakfast were apparently cooked to order.

I also wondered why no Continental Breakfast appeared on the Menu and why my cereal toast and tea was charged at the same rate as a full English ?

All in all a comfortabel Hotel with by and large efficient courteous and pleasant staff well sited and with plenty of parking. I did not use the mini gym nor the swimming pool facilities on offer. I would almost certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear David Holms197

Thank you for taking the time and trouble togive such a detailed review of our Hotel.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the team here to be friendly and pleasant. I have passed on your kind words to the team here.

I have taken on board some of your constructive comments and we are working on resolving these so we can deliver an even better guest experience in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Jason Stringer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was easy to find and was located perfectly for us as we were visiting Aldeburgh and Southwold.

There was a wedding happening there but we weren't disturbed at all by the guests.

The room was great however the camp bed was about 3 ft wide but other than that was very comfy the king bed was also comfy but a little stiff.

The breakfast was great having everything that you need for a fry up.

1 problem, there were some hairs left in the bath other than that we had a great visit

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VizioTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Vlzio Tom,

Thank you for your very kind review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay here and found our staff to be "great". I have shared your comments with the team here. Your comment regarding housekeeping standards we have taken on board and I am personally checking rooms daily in order that we can support the housekeeping team to give the cleanest rooms possible to our guests.

Thank you again for your review.

Yours sincerely,

Jason Stringer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We don't normally stay at a Holiday Inn and probably won't again !
Not sure if this hotel is typical of the chain,but it seems very dated and not at all like other hotels visited recently.
We experienced confusion over our booking including internet (which we never received) breakfast to which I had to explain four times that I had paid for and the complimentary bottle of wine which when we returned to our room in the evening to enjoy was actually a minature bottle,perhaps one guest has to watch the other drink it or have a spoonful each !
Having said that that some of the staff were very helpful and the use of the health club facilities were a nice addition.
Breakfast was ok but I have had better at cheaper rate hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Anthony S,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am pleased that you have mentioned that you have mentioned our very helpful staff.However, I'm sorry you were unhappy with the appearance of the property. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

was there for a wedding, disco came with package, horrendous. Sound way above decibel limit even far away, continual boom boom boom. Illegal for hotel to submit employees to.
DJ did not speak, only played loud noise, songs impossible to detect, extremely distorted. We were all blasted from another disco from the other function room.
We were in the disco game for thirty years, music needs to be suitable for all ages and not just for the drunk, who jump up and down.. It took 4 of us to organise, different dances, games, etc. etc.
The floor also needs to be bigger.
Why cannot hotels collate all the information they have on you so the latest says yes you have paid for this and that instead of looking at lots of different folders.
Breakfast needed a serious re think i.e .seating and food arriving at the right time.
Otherwise a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ours was a very good size, loved the digital clock on the TV. Ask for a larger bath. Take earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chemmy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Chemmy_12

Thanl you for taking the time and trouble to review our hotel.

I am pleased that in the main your overall impression was a positive one.
I am obviously concerned by some of your other comments regarding noise, breakfast etc and would be grateful if you would be so kind as to contact me personally in order that I understand specifically what we got wrong so I can put into place steps to rectify the problems you encountered.

Thank you again for your review.

Yours sincerely,

Jason Stringer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich South East Hotel
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#11 of 18 in Ipswich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
3.7 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
3.1 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

Property: Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Address: 2 The Havens, Ipswich IP3 9SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel is ideally located at Junction 57 on the A14, only 10 minutes from Ipswich Town Centre, 15 minutes from the Suffolk Coast and 5 minutes from Trinity Park the home of the Suffolk Show.The Hotel boasts extensive free car parking and a selection of Queen Double and King Double/Twin Bedrooms some with sofa beds for families. A further 6 Executive Rooms are the ideal business choice with mini bars and laptops safes, in addition 2 open plan Suites add the final touch of luxury for those special occasions.The Hotel offers a range of dining experiences, The Priory Restaurant, Bar and Lounge offer informal modern dining with a large choice of food and drink options complimented with daily specials to suit the needs of both the Corporate and Leisure Guest. The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel has a range of conference and banqueting rooms, with Wi-Fi access available in these and also the public areas, whilst wired access is available in all bedrooms.The Hotel offers an onsite Gym and within walking distance, a state of the art Full Leisure Complex is available to guests at a small nominal charge.The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel, close enough to access the business districts and Adastral Park, whilst still being the ideal base to enjoy the rest of East Anglia and all that it can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing