We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable with easy access to town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable with easy access to town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

Clean and comfortable, especially the bed. Decent sized bathroom, with a bath, particularly nice from a budget hotel. Room was rather hot during the night, despite having the window open.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeze07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    113
    22
    12
    5
See reviews for
67
78
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2009

We stayed for the third time at this Premier Inn and it still represents good value. The location is lovely and the rooms represent very good value. Staff as friendly and efficient as ever. The only disappointing experience was the restaurant where having booked we were totally ignored for over ten minutes before being offered a table. Breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2007

This hotel is easy to find (just off the A14), had a very friendly welcome from the reception staff, and the rooms are clean, fresh and comfortable.
There is a pub next door that serves a buffet style breakfast and made to order cooked breakfast, and the staff are extremely welcoming and friendly.
This hotel represents everything that is good about premier Travel Inn. Good price, refreshing service, comfortable rooms and great location, all with a pub next door.

  • Liked — The comfortable rooms, location and service
  • Disliked — Noisy guests next door (can't be helped)
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InspiredFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2007

I've stayed in quite few Premier Travel Inns now and they really do represent good value for money. And you know exactly what you're getting for that money- the rooms are always of the same standard, and that standard is very good in my opinion. This particular Travel Inn is ideal for a stopover. Location wise there is nothing much nearby, but its very near to the main A14, and the Beefeater next door does a reasonable meal. For breakfast I would recommend the Orwell Crossing truck stop on the A14 about 3 miles from the hotel

  • Liked — Value for money, comfortable room
  • Disliked — Could do with a pub that's not a Beefeater nearby
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2007

I stay at this hotel every 3 weeks and up until last weekend (4/5/7) i had no problems what-so-ever and viewed it as a brilliant hotel but nothing spectacular (goes with the brand). However on the 4th of May there was a power cut which started when i was sitting in reception at 1535 in the afternoon. Immediately Matthew the duty manager was on the phone to the power company to find out how it effected the hotel and duration etc. (I mean within seconds). He even seemed to use his own phone to do this (it was a mobile). I left at this point thinking it was a loss for just a short while but this did not turn out to be so.

I returned at 1800 to find lack of power in the rooms, ajoining Beefeater or in the local area in general.

At 1930-2000 Matthew came into the bar and announced due to the emergency backup lights havivng been on since 1530 they would out within the hour and the bar had to close.

I returned to the hotel to find guests in the lobby with their bags. I went up to my room and shortly Rachel, the receptionist, came to my door and was very friendly and explained they had to evacuate the hotel to the sister branch, Ipswich North.

She explained travel to and from the other hotel would be provided and confirmed they would even pay for the excess from the other hotel to my place or work (£5 extra as 2 miles from the hotel).

The other hotel had been briefed to expect us and kept their restaurant open (chef didnt look pleased to be working 2hrs extra!!).

If you are staying in this hotel and meet Rachel or Matthew during your stay, you could not be in safer and more customer friendly hands! (Btw all other staff i have encountered have been fantastic also - especially at management level).

Word of warning - bar staff in the Beefeater were immature and working in groups of friends. There conversation whilst standing at the bar included each others sexual conquests etc and other grosser material. You could tell they were 18-20.

  • Liked — Staff - Friendly, Service was brilliant
  • Disliked — Lack of phone in room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CrowdSafety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales, uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2005

I stayed here for two nights a few weeks back. We initially booked one night, but as the London bombings occured and our London plans were rearranged, we requested to stay another night. The man on reception couldn't have been more helpful and managed to not only book us in (we were told the hotel was full) but to let us keep the same room. The room was the usual travel inn style - I much prefer these to the travelodges. One thing though, I wish they had hairdryers in the room! For breakfast you go to the restaurant next door and they were very nice there. I would recommend this place without hesitation.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank syllabub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
1.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.2 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich (Chantry Park) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich South East Hotel
1.4 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel
Address: Bourne Hill | Wherstead, Ipswich IP2 8ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a serene setting beside the sweeping River Orwell, close to the town centre and Woolverstone Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing