We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Greated by friendly and helpful staff on arrival. Very spacious double bedroom with great facilities.
Overall very satisfied and would highly recommend especially on a cheap budget.
In a lovely and quiet area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 283 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Exceptionally good staff throughout our stay from the greeting at reception to the waiting staff at lunch and breakfast. Fantastic value on the special offer price. Lovely view of the boats. Staff went out of their way to assist as we had a lady in a wheelchair with us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed last minute at this Premier Inn as the location was convenient and the room was good value for money. Clean, tidy and all the facilities as you would expect from a Premier Inn. Friendly staff on arrival and in the bar and restaurant. Would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane81965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here on a few separate occasions, over the last few weeks and instead of the hotel, for a change i'd like to thank the staff…

Greeted both times by the smiling face of Holly, who is both helpful and happy to help, an asset to the Premier Team…

Thank You...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajaz-events
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Short stay for a wedding was nice quite area staff friendly perfect for a short stay, breakfast was as expected nothing out of the ordinary but surfice. Bar area was very good only complaint was that they stopped serving coffee after 11 pm

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Although Premier Inn is viewed as a budget hotel, I have to say that this is probably one of the best hotels I have stayed in for its price. The staff were fantastic and were very eager to help.
Surprisingly the room was actually quite smart and extremely clean. The bed was fairly stiff but there was a selection of pillows to choose from, which was great. It seems that quite a bit of thought has gone into this branch as pretty much everything is thought of, including little things such as just having to touch your room card to the door to get in, instead of the frustrating slot mechanism that you find in most hotels, which often takes quite a few tries! Additionally you are given 30 mins of free wifi access in your room every 24 hours, which I found quite useful. I have never bought wifi at a hotel but their price of £3 per day for any additional wifi I thought was quite reasonable.

This hotel has a beefeater attached and is where the breakfasts are served. The cheap continental selection is quite large and is great value for money with muffins, toast, cereals and fruits all available. The restaurant was often quite busy in the evening and I struggled to get a table despite having booked. I suspect that it is slightly under staffed for the week day as they had not opened the second floor to customers.

To conclude I was very happily surprised with the quality of this hotel, and I have re-booked for a future visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank will m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was our second stay because it is in a handy position for our needs. It is what you generally get with Premier Inn, very clean, serviceable and a comfortable bed. We had a nice outlook over the marina. You have to go outside to get to another entrance for breakfast, no problem for us because the weather was good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
1.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
514 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
862 reviews
1.2 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel

Address: Bourne Hill | Wherstead, Ipswich IP2 8ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range: $59 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a serene setting beside the sweeping River Orwell, close to the town centre and Woolverstone Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing