We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Ipswich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weekend in Ipswich”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The premier Inn at Oyster Reach,Ipswich is possibly the best located and cleanest motel/hotel I have stayed in for a very long time.The staff are excellent and very attentive and seem to take pride in what they do,keep it up.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clive1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    119
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
70
81
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at the hotel along with family and friends from various parts of the country as we were attending a family party in Ipswich. Rooms excellent with extremely good pillows and bedding. Certainly fulfilled Premier Inn's promise of a good night's sleep. Large flat screen TV with freeview, tea, coffee facilities and shower/shampoo supplied. Good breakfast and ood value when the children can eat free.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MANDM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were visiting the Royal Hospital School at Holbrook, and had been given a few names of B & B's locally to the school. However, some of them weren't available any more, some of the numbers didn't work, and some of them I couldn't even get an answer from! I googled local places to Holbrook, and Premier Inn came up as closest. I loved the location, right by the water, and the drive to Holbrook was very scenic. The stay was lovely, restaurant staff were very accomodating, and the food was pretty good too! Receptionist was a little glum on our arrival, but she had probably had a long day, but she soon warmed to my mother and I, and was friendly when we left. Price was ok, but you never seem to get those really low prices advertised!! I plan on staying there again in November, and was quite happy with overall experience. I would definitely recommend this Premier Inn to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enomis401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We were visiting friends over the road so location perfect but it's a short drive if you needthe town centre. They are close to finishing their refurbishment. We had a recently doneup room which was excellent considering he price of 39 pounds. Family rool with extra bed and cot. Big TV, tea coffeef facilities clean and functional bathroom. Good value breakfast and kids under 16 eat free.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Shame about all the refurbishment going on but I didnt hear any noise from it when in my room. On entering room window was open (not very welcoming to be hit by a frosty reception) Heaters whilst the thermo went up to 23, the heater kept cutting out when it reached 17.5 and did not come back on until you reset it - this was a shame as it was the coldest night of the year. Lots of plug sockets always a bonus and refurbished room was at a good spec. There was free WIFI throughout my stay (not sure if this is a bonus whilst refurbishment is ongoing). The oyster restaurant was good, beer was good, food was nice and tasty at reasonable prices although the bottomless chips were a little under-cooked. Breakfast was fine although I always find this over-priced at £8 (maybe its just my personal view).

One disgraceful item was no-one had put any salt down at the reception entrance and it was an accident waiting to happen. Shameful prem inn!!

Room Tip: Room 23 was fine (needs double glazing upgrade)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Excellent room location for us as we wanted a room overlooking the rear car park, and this was met. Helpfull & friendly staff. Refurbed rooms were to an excellent standard. Good value & service at the Oyster Reach, table was booked by text and verified by Staff when we arrived.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARV80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Miserable girl on reception who could barely muster the effort to give us a key, then when we got to the room it seemed as if nobody had been in to clean from the previous occupant.

Dirty coffee cups, bed not made and dirty towels.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of and service in a relaxed and comfortable environment, I sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Customer Service Team at our Head Office. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
1.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich (Chantry Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich South East Hotel
1.4 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
1.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel
Address: Bourne Hill | Wherstead, Ipswich IP2 8ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a serene setting beside the sweeping River Orwell, close to the town centre and Woolverstone Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing