We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Gatehouse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
pentahotel Ipswich(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Ipswich(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
$75
$61
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$88
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Cottage(Great Bricett)
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
$47
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
$50
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    $151
    $140
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (198)
    Filter reviews
    198 results
    Traveler rating
    67
    85
    26
    15
    5
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    67
    85
    26
    15
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssmall hotelquiet roadwestern hotelsgeorgian housewooden staircasesleigh bedprunesnice groundsgood sizedead end roaddouble aspect windowswelcome additionminutes drive awayfull englishevening mealbeds were comfortablea ground floor room
    Filter
    Updating list...
    158 - 163 of 198 reviews
    Reviewed December 13, 2012

    Stayed here for one night during the week for work. Chose to stay here as reasonable price and ok reviews. Staff were welcoming and nice. Had dinner there and it was really good, the steak was especially cooked well. Good location. Good WIFI. Only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is due to the room. The mattress and pillows were a bit hard and you can't drink water from the tap, which was a bit frustrating when I woke up and was thirsty. All in all, a good hotel for the price and I would stay there again if in the area.

    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Dave J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

    Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased we looked after you and that you enjoyed your stay, we are only a 3 star hotel so your comments were very welcome. I will take the feedback about the mattress etc and look into this. We do supply bottled water in each of our bedrooms as a complimentary item and i apologise if yours was not replenished, it should have been.

    I hope that you will re-visit us and look forward to welcoming you back.

    Kind regards
    Heather

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 13, 2012

    This property is a little like a tardis. From the road it looks small and unimpressive. Walk round the back and it starts to look and feel like a country house hotel. It has a wood panelled reception area and a winding staircase to the bedrooms. It can feel a little deserted and you have to ring the bell for attention . Staff seem to have multiple duties and can be elsewhere doing other things. But they are pleasant and friendly . The bedroom was quite ordinary and fairly small - feeling more old than period. But perfectly adequiate for a business trip stay. They have a good restaurant which looks attractive in the evenings and was certainly drawing ghroups of diners from outside as well as overnight guests. The menu isn't cheap and you are ooking at about £16 for a main course. They do offer some deals on multiple courses . two courses cost about £24 . The food was well presented and flavoursome.
    Breakfast was huge but I was put off by the amount of deep friend food on the plate . Fried onion rings and deep fried hash browns on the vegetarian breakfast and those sausages you would find before the advent of Quorn or Cauldron Food sausages.... white and herby. So generous but could be better esoecially as this breakfast unlike other chain hotels was cooked to order which has great merit over buffet bars. The hotel is out in ther countryside so alternative dining isn't easy unless you have a car or wat take away food. There is nothing wrong weith this hotel and things to recommend it but some areas for improvement.

    Room Tip: Some rooms look onto the main road. I found it could be nosiy early doors so possibly ask for a room on the other side
    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank LeedsCritic
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. I take on board all the feedback you have given and will use this to help make improvements. I a pleased you were happy overall with your stay and will chat to chef about changes that could be made to the vegetarian cooked breakfast. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

    Kind regards
    Heather

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

    Booked by my employer so I have no idea of cost. Small single room (7) spotlessly clean and well equipped. Sky Sports and free WiFi in the room. Shower running cold, remote control for TV not working, and no soap in bathroom dispenser - all promptly fixed. Breakfast consisted of buffet plus cooked to order wide selection which was excellent and great change from the usual stewed buffets. Friendly service. Huge off road car park. Quiet residential area. Close to five stars - just small things as above stopping me.

    • Stayed: December 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Satisco
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

    Thank you for your review, I am sorry you experienced one or two problems but pleased that the team sorted things out for you promptly. We hope that you will be happy to return and look forward to your next visit.

    Kind regards
    Heather

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

    Stayed here whilst working away from home. Staff were very friendly and dinner in the restaurant was lovely but the room was awful. It was directly opposite the reception so you could hear everyone checking in. One wondered wether it should in fact be staff quarters?? The shower looked dirty and uninviting but the most off putting thing was the floor. When you walked on the carpet it sounded like there were plastic bags underneath the carpet. In general the whole room was very dated and many if the guests stand outside the window when stepping out if the restaurant to smoke. Not a pleasant stay :(

    • Stayed: October 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Mrstpearce
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

    Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and i am pleased at least that some of the elements of your stay were enjoyable.

    I apologise that we did not exceed your expectations with regard to the room and i will take the feedback you have given me and look into all the points you have raised in order to make improvements for the future.

    Should you choose to stay again please contact me and i will organise a treat for you.

    Kind regards
    Heather

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 28, 2012

    The staff in this hotel could not be more friendly and helpfull. The quality of the food was excellent and good value. We booked all in; Bed, breakfast and evening meal and were absolutely thrilled. We have been before and certainly will visit again, if we need to be in Ipswich. Position is also very good particularly if you are an Ipswich Football supporter

    • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Hugo V
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

    Many thanks for your review of the hotel, I am pleased to hear that you are repeat guests and indeed that you intend to return again. I will pass on your lovely comments to all the team and we look forward to your next stay.

    Kind regards
    Heather

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews