We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Gatehouse Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for one night during the week for work. Chose to stay here as reasonable price and ok reviews. Staff were welcoming and nice. Had dinner there and it was really good, the steak was especially cooked well. Good location. Good WIFI. Only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is due to the room. The mattress and pillows were a bit hard and you can't drink water from the tap, which was a bit frustrating when I woke up and was thirsty. All in all, a good hotel for the price and I would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased we looked after you and that you enjoyed your stay, we are only a 3 star hotel so your comments were very welcome. I will take the feedback about the mattress etc and look into this. We do supply bottled water in each of our bedrooms as a complimentary item and i apologise if yours was not replenished, it should have been.

I hope that you will re-visit us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    74
    25
    14
    4
See reviews for
19
72
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This property is a little like a tardis. From the road it looks small and unimpressive. Walk round the back and it starts to look and feel like a country house hotel. It has a wood panelled reception area and a winding staircase to the bedrooms. It can feel a little deserted and you have to ring the bell for attention . Staff seem to have multiple duties and can be elsewhere doing other things. But they are pleasant and friendly . The bedroom was quite ordinary and fairly small - feeling more old than period. But perfectly adequiate for a business trip stay. They have a good restaurant which looks attractive in the evenings and was certainly drawing ghroups of diners from outside as well as overnight guests. The menu isn't cheap and you are ooking at about £16 for a main course. They do offer some deals on multiple courses . two courses cost about £24 . The food was well presented and flavoursome.
Breakfast was huge but I was put off by the amount of deep friend food on the plate . Fried onion rings and deep fried hash browns on the vegetarian breakfast and those sausages you would find before the advent of Quorn or Cauldron Food sausages.... white and herby. So generous but could be better esoecially as this breakfast unlike other chain hotels was cooked to order which has great merit over buffet bars. The hotel is out in ther countryside so alternative dining isn't easy unless you have a car or wat take away food. There is nothing wrong weith this hotel and things to recommend it but some areas for improvement.

Room Tip: Some rooms look onto the main road. I found it could be nosiy early doors so possibly ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. I take on board all the feedback you have given and will use this to help make improvements. I a pleased you were happy overall with your stay and will chat to chef about changes that could be made to the vegetarian cooked breakfast. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Booked by my employer so I have no idea of cost. Small single room (7) spotlessly clean and well equipped. Sky Sports and free WiFi in the room. Shower running cold, remote control for TV not working, and no soap in bathroom dispenser - all promptly fixed. Breakfast consisted of buffet plus cooked to order wide selection which was excellent and great change from the usual stewed buffets. Friendly service. Huge off road car park. Quiet residential area. Close to five stars - just small things as above stopping me.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you experienced one or two problems but pleased that the team sorted things out for you promptly. We hope that you will be happy to return and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here whilst working away from home. Staff were very friendly and dinner in the restaurant was lovely but the room was awful. It was directly opposite the reception so you could hear everyone checking in. One wondered wether it should in fact be staff quarters?? The shower looked dirty and uninviting but the most off putting thing was the floor. When you walked on the carpet it sounded like there were plastic bags underneath the carpet. In general the whole room was very dated and many if the guests stand outside the window when stepping out if the restaurant to smoke. Not a pleasant stay :(

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrstpearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and i am pleased at least that some of the elements of your stay were enjoyable.

I apologise that we did not exceed your expectations with regard to the room and i will take the feedback you have given me and look into all the points you have raised in order to make improvements for the future.

Should you choose to stay again please contact me and i will organise a treat for you.

Kind regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The staff in this hotel could not be more friendly and helpfull. The quality of the food was excellent and good value. We booked all in; Bed, breakfast and evening meal and were absolutely thrilled. We have been before and certainly will visit again, if we need to be in Ipswich. Position is also very good particularly if you are an Ipswich Football supporter

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Many thanks for your review of the hotel, I am pleased to hear that you are repeat guests and indeed that you intend to return again. I will pass on your lovely comments to all the team and we look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a lovely weekend at this hotel. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the grounds and hotel were lovely. A peaceful and relaxing break that we thoroughly enjoyed. as well as a superb breakfast ( I had kippers and scrambled egg each morning which was delish) we also ate in the restaurant and the food and presentation was gorgeous. The staff showed that they were very well trained and were very friendly but also very professional. We particularly liked the lady who was on reception on the night we arrived (Fri 5th Oct) after a horrendous 6 hour journey that should have taken 2 hours. We were very stressed and she made us feel very welcome despite the fact that the computer system was down and she was doing her best to book us in at a late hour. The bed was very comfortable and the wireless internet was great. We would definitely go to this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a standard room and it was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
How lovely to hear that our team did such a wonderful job, people will very quickly point out the negatives and it is so refreshing that you have taken the time to commend the staff on their work.

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, i am pleased you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we really do hope that you will visit us again.

Kind regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I had a long weekend over the August Bank Holiday, 4 nights. Our room was a deluxe room, very spacious, nicely furnished in an antique wood style, the bathroom large and airy. The room was large enough to be a comfortable sitting room for two without having to walk around furniture to get across to the other side. Standard TV, clock/radio and a strong wi-fi signal.

The bar was a small affair, only big enough for three to sit, just a transit place really on your way to your table. The only gripe I had was that they didn't stock any local brews, and Suffolk has many. I didn't expect them on draught, bottles would have been fine. but it was just the choice of the usual suspects that can be found in any High Street pub.

The food was pretty good. The choice was quite limited but the quality of the ingredients and the imagination and expertise of the kitchen came together to produce very good food. Generally (used in its loosest sense) one starter and one main course changes each day so there is a 'rolling programme' of menu changes.

The staff were accommodating to a fault and always chatty and helpful.

The hotel stands in its own spacious well-maintained grounds, a few shady trees and large well-kept lawns. Given the right weather a day sat around the garden is not out of the question. The area is very quiet, the Hotel is in a cul-de-sac so apart from the local comings-and-goings there is no traffic to speak of.

On the whole it was a very pleasant stay, somewhere we would use again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishonsaturday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, we note your comments about local brews and apologise that the selection was limited, we do stock the suffolk aspalls cider but yes we could accommodate another bottled beer of a local brand and i will certainly look into this. I will pass your comments on to the team and hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
2.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.6 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel
1.5 mi away
Best Western Claydon Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich (Chantry Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gatehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gatehouse Hotel

Property: Best Western Gatehouse Hotel
Address: 799 Old Norwich Road, Ipswich IP1 6LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gatehouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated with a rural outlook on the northern edge of Ipswich, the hotel can be easily reached from the A12/A14. The regency style building is refurbished to very high high standards of comfort with sumptiously furnished bedrooms. The hotel's facilities include; colour TV, free wireless internet connection, tea making facilities, etc. Breakfast and an excellent dinner menu are served in the small intimate restaurant. The Gatehouse Hotel is the perfect place for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gatehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ipswich
Ipswich Best Western
Best Western Gatehouse Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing