We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty towers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Gatehouse Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I arrived a few days after the recent snow to find the car park 6 inches deep in compacted snow and ice . No efforts had been made to clear or grit the poorly lit car park. I struggled with my case and bags up an incline towards to top of the car park slipping and badly bruising my arm and knee . I couldn't believe no path had been cleared for guests . The room wad draughty and freezing cold , I was given an electric heater to warn the room. The bathroom was too cold to have shower. The bedroom had a draughty open fireplace with a mirror over which was discolored with age and dirty .Service at breakfast was awful as was the food. I complained to best western and directly to the hotel and I recieved a reply which practically accused me of lying . Apart from an awful stay in the middle of nowhere my integrity was questioned and I was insulted by the response I recieved. Do not stay here! Choose one of the modern hotels in the city centre.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BIRDSTAFFORDSHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

We take all the feedback given very seriously and use this to improve our services to guests. I have responded to your feedback and am sorry that you feel this was negative to the issues you raised with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Gatehouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 184 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed for one night as a birthday treat for my wife.Rear of hotel needs tarting up a bit but we were told was due to be done.
The staff couldn't do enough to make us comfortable,so attentive.
Evening meal great as was breakfast.
Loved the oak panelling throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGatehouse, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that team looked after you, we hope that you will return.

Kind regards
Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We did not stay but had our works christmas dinner in the reaturant which was great. The food was fantastic, service great. A great little boutique hotel which should be supported, we were the only party in the restaurant but for a larger family gathering it would be a great venue with lovely grounds to the rear.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

stayed here in jan 2011 whilst working in the area,i get a fair discount on the best western so value to lay your head was ok,the rooms were large as we were outside the hotel,the tv was small,the hotel bar limited on stock and very small,we heard all the on goings upstairs with other guests all nite long,the breakfast in the morning was excellent and if you require a taxi to town thats £10...over all pleasant thou..

Room Tip: ask for a room in hotel and not the outside house...
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fbgolfing2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We loved this hotel, we went there to celebrate our ruby anniversary. Our room was spacious, you pay for what you get! did not like the last review because it put us off but thankfully we went and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel was very clean, the staff were very friendly and the food delicious especially the evening meals, yummy (Breakfast was just as good) . It is a small hotel but very unique the bar (easy to find) is small but mainly serves the restaurant (but you can still buy a drink). We found the room &, hotel very clean and the staff very accommodating. You can sit in the gardens which are quite large and peaceful. We would definately stay there again. Good for distance to Suffolk & Norfolk.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glendamKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

An old 19th century house with lovely wooden staircase, mezzanine and panelling. I was well looked after by courteous and friendly staff. Breakfast was good, as was the evening meal, presented in a modern and flavoursome way. Though about a 10 minute drive from the Centre of Ipswich, it is well served by a local bus service and is very handy for the A14. I prefer interesting hotels which provide good services, rather than the usual impersonal other chains. Well done and hats off to the staff. Chapeaux!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenOLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Friendly staff, clean room but very small, nice food, only fault no proper lounge/bar area, i couldn,t find it anyway. Other Best Westerns in the area that i would probably try before i returned but no real complaints

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djh5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
2.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.5 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
506 reviews
2.6 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
1.4 mi away
Best Western Claydon Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#10 of 18 in Ipswich
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gatehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gatehouse Hotel

Address: 799 Old Norwich Road, Ipswich IP1 6LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range: $62 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gatehouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated with a rural outlook on the northern edge of Ipswich, the hotel can be easily reached from the A12/A14. The regency style building is refurbished to very high high standards of comfort with sumptiously furnished bedrooms. The hotel's facilities include; colour TV, free wireless internet connection, tea making facilities, etc. Breakfast and an excellent dinner menu are served in the small intimate restaurant. The Gatehouse Hotel is the perfect place for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gatehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ipswich
Ipswich Best Western
Best Western Gatehouse Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing