We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy lodge in lovely surroundings”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Woodpecker

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ipswich, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stefana D
1 review
“Cosy lodge in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The lodge was very comfortable and clean and a lovely base to explore the nearby sights from. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the owner was very helpful

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
Hi Stefana I'm pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us at Broom Hill hope to see you again sometime.

Grahame
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCMcL3
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was our fourth visit to woodpecker, it is so quiet and peaceful. Saw lots of hares, rabbits, woodpeckers, Swift's, swallows and also orchids growing in the churchyard nearby.
Hopefully we will be back again next year :)

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2017
Hi Mary, thank you for coming to see us again I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Grahame
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendan l
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Both my partner and i were very impressed with how clean these lodges were they had every thing we needed for a very comfortable stay .the lodges are set in there own grounds with a large open field to the front and trees and country side all around .it is so tranquil you can sit outside forever.Grahame our host meet us on arrival and showed us where everything was and how it worked and was a pleasure to meet and he then left us alone and i can highly recommend this for a great stay

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2017
Thank you for your review, hope to see you again sometime.

Grahame
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdlbrisba...
Lynton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful modern country cottage”
Reviewed November 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a wonderful 4 night stay in Woodpecker lodge. A modern and very comfortable cottage, good space and nice comfortable bed. Coddenham is a very nice little village, with a lot of quite old buildings - quite picturesque. There are a couple of short rural walks which start from the village, well worth it if the weather is good

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice and modern
Liked least: No hooks for hanging jackets
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2016
Hi, thank you for your review and I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Suffolk. Hope to see you again sometime.
Regards
Grahame
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillV1012
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, peaceful cabin; friendly, helpful owner.”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a lovely place to stay in mid Suffolk. We felt well looked after but also left in peace to enjoy our stay. The cabin was extremely clean and all the appliances were good quality. The fold out bed worked brilliantly for our 4 year old & fitted in the bedroom whilst leaving room to walk between it & the double bed. A very satisfactory arrangement! We found it was very handy for Lavenham, Bury St Edmunds & Ickworth and within day-trip distance from Thorpeness, Walberswick & Southwold. We would definitely stay again and recommend without hesitation.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Hi Gill, thank you for your review and I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again some time.

Grahame
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red-Welli...
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A fantastic short break”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a fantastic stay here with our six month old baby on our first family holiday. The lodge was so comfortable and well presented. We were able to relax outside in the sun and Coddingham is well placed for exploring Ipswich and other parts of Suffolk. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was so clean and well presented.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2016
Hi, thank you for your review and I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Grahame
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmb b
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice lodge”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Splendid lodge. Well equiped. Nice owner who took the time to advise us about the area. A great and quiet place to stace. Great place in the neighbourhood of bigger citys and several historic sites.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How the lodge was situated.
Liked least: wifi connection can be improved
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2016
Hi Thank you for coming to see us , I hope to see you again some time.

Grahame
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing