We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at the Premiere Inn for one night. The location, right by the Quay, was excellent as was the hotel itself - we couldn't fault it. Friendly, helpful staff at reception made booking-in an easy experience. The room was clean, modern and well-equipped. The bed was very comfortable with a choice of firm and soft pillows.
We had dinner in the restaurant and had one of the best chicken curries I can remember. A good choice of wines too. Once again, the staff were attentive and polite.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    182
    39
    13
    6
See reviews for
137
228
24
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Lovely hotel, stayed for a night with a friend. Room was clean, parking was in abundance with two car parks, location is great; can walk to docks or into town/train station etc. Staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank moshi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Can't fault it in any way at all.
Good location, free parking, super friendly team who work there, comfy beds, fresh smelling, clean room.
It's a generous and fresh breakfast, we're fussy about food standards but just couldn't fault it at all and very reasonable priced - eggs are cooked to order, Costa coffee, branded cereals and fresh croissants plus more. I've stayed at very expensive hotels and had lousy quality expensive breakfasts, this one is impressive.
Premier Inn's are all generally good value, what makes this one even better is the quality of the staff who give a warm welcome and are genuinely helpful.
Stayed several times and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindagornall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very friendly welcome, the hotel is just across the road from the Wherry Quay and ideally suited for exploring the centre of Ipswich and the Orwell Estuary. Parking was free but I felt wifi access was quite expensive - in view of the fact that the mobile signal in parts of the hotel was poor I think it should have been free. The rooms were a good size and the bed very comfortable. They don't have maintenance on site which was a bit of a problem as our wet room drain was totally blocked. Just across the road is a lovely Bistro on the waterside - called Bistro, I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when booking, floor 4 or above as the hotel is located in the middle of a one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

the staff are the best and so friendly, the rooms are comfortable and the best 12 nights sleep i have ever had in total with my 3 stays with them, there is plenty to choose from on the breakfast menu to set u up 4 the day then at the end of the day u have plenty of light bites or big meals depending on your appetite, there is someone there 24/7 should u have a problem or just need them to get u something there is also a snack machine in lobby should u fell peckish tv/radio kettle mugs coffee t milk etc glasses hairdryer exta pillows hard and soft in all rooms plus iron and board which reception will gladly take to your room if needed and a phone that u can call if any problems in middle of night

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANE21965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This review is related to the Premier Inn on Key Street in Ipswich. The welcome was warm and friendly. The double bedroom was spacious and very clean. The breakfast was very good with excellent fresh coffee. Slightly odd arrangement -the reception desk is on the first floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Helpful?
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We chose this hotel from the reviews on Tripadvisor for a quick overnight stay in Ipswich. We did have to drive around the one way system twice to get into to car park even though we were looking for it. There were plenty of spaces and a few more spaces if you follow the exit sign. The hotel is close to the shops and just across the road from the quayside, in fact you can even see it from a few rooms. Reception is on the first floor opposite the restaurant. The staff were all young and friendly, they worked together well and gave us the impression they took a pride in their jobs. We did not eat there in the evening as the quayside has some lovely places to eat for a variety of budgets with a view of the water and boats.
The room was comfortable, the bed was clean and very hard which was great support for our backs after a day in the car. Shower was strong and hot. Choice of soft or firm pillows. All in all we were very pleasantly surprised.
Breakfast was self service and very good, much better than a lot of hotel breakfasts we have had. They even cooked vegetarian sausages on request. We would definitely recommend this hotel for an overnight stay in Ipswich.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hendrixfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
0.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#5 of 20 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
0.8 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 20 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich (Chantry Park) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
1.9 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
Address: 33 Key Street, Ipswich IP4 1BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the world drift by at the Premier Inn Hotel Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside). Just opposite the quayside, you'll be in a great spot for messing about on the river, wandering around town, or visiting the region's businesses. You could take a cruise along the River Orwell, or find buried treasure at the awe-inspiring Sutton Hoo. You could feed the animals at Jimmy's Farm, or step out and explore the city's vibrant bars and restaurants. Then, after a movie at Cardinal's Park, stroll back to our tasty restaurant and extra-comfy beds. Transport and local information: Orwell Lady River cruises 200 Metres Tower Ramparts 500 Metres Buttermarket 500 Metres Directions: Exit M25 J28, continue on the A12 to J33, take the 3rd exit at the roundabout, onto A14. Exit A14 J56, at roundabout take 2nd exit (Ipswich Central A137). Cont on A137 over 4 roundabouts following signs for town centre. Cont over the traffic lights, at next roundabout take 2nd exit, at double roundabout take 2nd exit following through traffic signs, Orwell Quay, Cliff Quay, turn right onto lower Orwell St, take right following signs to Manningtree, arrive at hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing