We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good value great staff”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

great value room, 5 min walk from town centre 2 min walk from marina and 5 min walk from cinima and food complex! staff were friendly and very helpfull, always smiling. Always and manager on hand if needed spoke to Daniel about noise from another room which he swiftly sorted. would recomend aslong as your not expecting 5 star. Very good service for the price

Room Tip: as high as you can, though not much traffic noise anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    231
    57
    22
    11
See reviews for
169
291
28
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great value for a quick overnight stay at £47 for a double room. Very happy with the location which was easy walk to the town center and even more convenient for dinner (see separate review). Friendly enthusiastic staff assist with self-service check-in. Room was clean and suitably furnished with flat screen tv, kettle, hair dryer and wall mounted soap/shampoo in the bathroom. We did not eat in house.

If you are driving to this location it is very important to note the entrance to the underground car park is immediately on your right as soon as you spot the building. Even though we were warned we drove past it as there is no signage to pre-warn you. There is another car park further on but it is outside and across the road. Underground car park clearly the safer more convenient option.

Highly recommend this hotel for short stays if high-end luxury is not your priority.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

It's not the Savoy but again Premier Inn have delivered what I paid for. That is a clean room, polite and attentive staff and a buffet breakfast to pig out on.

The only negative point is the restaurant that serves only Italian food in the evening. I would prefer the usual Premier Inn food that's served in the majority of their hotels.

If you're visiting Ipswich, you won't go wrong staying here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mazio1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Very clean place , hard work parking great location I personally would try and look around as slightly high price for a premier inn . Bar is small stops serving at 11 which is not great breakfast as you would expect from premier is good and plentifull

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank burn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had decided to travel to Ipswich for a two day, one night stay and choose this hotel due to the town centre location. The car park is down a side road across from the main building. The entrance to the car park sits back and can be easily missed. The entrance barrier to the car park opens once activated by reception giving your name on the booking. Exit out of the car park via the barrier is by pin code only. There was ample free parking and we choose to leave our car there in the evening and walk into the town centre to the nearby Indian restaurant. The area of Ipswich is a mishmash of old and new buildings. The hotel is opposite an incomplete large development of flats. Known locally as the wine rack, the company who owned this large apartment block went bust. The mishmash of buildings walking into the town centre includes many boarded up bankrupt building developments. I was surprised how close we were from the heart of the town centre. There are a network of alleyways and side streets that allow a quick walk in and out of the centre. A map of the town is essential. These maps are free from the hotel or the tourist information centre. Any information needed for your visit can be obtained via reception as they print it off. There are a wide variety of shops. Two large indoor shopping centres connected by narrow oldy woldy alleyways. At first, we struggled to find our way around the city centre as there are no directional signs for the visiting tourist but we soon became familiar with the layout. I enjoyed the range of pound shops, 99p stores, Savers, and Wilkinsons. There were shops to interest everyone. I was surprised to see an IStore here. I enjoyed shopping here for nicknaks. The Tourist Information centre was a good first call. They had a wide range of Ipswich gifts including mugs and fridge magnets. We watched the Morris dancers performing for their free beer in the pub next door. We enjoyed our stay here and spent the first day out and about as checking was at 2pm. Bags could be left in the hotel but access to the room was 2pm. The room we had chosen was specific. We were fully aware of the complaints about noise here. We insisted on a quiet room on the top floor, level 5 and to get away from the lift and the very busy bus terminal. I met a woman in the lift who had been staying here for 3 nights. This was her third night and she said they had to move rooms once already due to noise ongoing all night from the bus terminal. She said the breakfast was standard, nothing special. The breakfast was okay. I don't like these buffet breakfasts as the food is never very hot or fresh. We ate our lukewarm cooked breakfast but it would be better if there was a cook to order service to ensure hot quality food is served to paying customers. The breakfast area was clean and the service good. The staff in the hotel are very helpful. I needed to call late in the evening to kill a fly that was trapped in the sealed dome of the light fitting in our room and the fly was buzzing frantically. The supervisor came in and unscrewed the light dome and smashed the fly on the wall. Nothing was too much for the staff here. They were polite and welcoming in greeting new customers and dealing with departing customers. The booking in system was very fast and involved making full payment and confirming vehicle registration. The departure procedure was to simply hand back the swipe cards. There was no lengthy paperwork to complete which was great as we wanted to get going. We had a wonderful time here buying some last minute nicknaks for Christmas presents and we were able to get a wonderful sleep. At home we automatically wake at 6am to catch the train into London, but here we slept in until 8.30am as the room was so cosy and the heavy curtains blocked out the light. We felt that this short break was great to recharge the batteries. For us, this place ticked all the boxes, thank you.

Room Tip: Top floor level 5 away from that awful hum of the 24/7 bus terminal. You have been warned to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the premier inn, Ipswich. My friend and I used it for a stop over after the works Christmas party, so much cheaper than a taxi! It was really clean, really comfy and the staff were really helpful and friendly :) I would recommend this hotel to all and definitely use again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ul0u78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The location of this hotel is superb, close to the Ipswich Quayside with its restaurants, bars and cafes. The is ample free car parking underneath the hotel or very close by. The rooms are clean and quite spacious. Our request for extra tea bags and milk was happily met.
We did not eat there but the next time we will certainly have breakfast as it looked lovely.
Premier Inn are always good value and even more so as we got a deal from their web site.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
0.8 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
1.9 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#11 of 18 in Ipswich
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
Address: 33 Key Street, Ipswich IP4 1BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the world drift by at the Premier Inn Hotel Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside). Just opposite the quayside, you'll be in a great spot for messing about on the river, wandering around town, or visiting the region's businesses. You could take a cruise along the River Orwell, or find buried treasure at the awe-inspiring Sutton Hoo. You could feed the animals at Jimmy's Farm, or step out and explore the city's vibrant bars and restaurants. Then, after a movie at Cardinal's Park, stroll back to our tasty restaurant and extra-comfy beds. Transport and local information: Orwell Lady River cruises 200 Metres Tower Ramparts 500 Metres Buttermarket 500 Metres Directions: Exit M25 J28, continue on the A12 to J33, take the 3rd exit at the roundabout, onto A14. Exit A14 J56, at roundabout take 2nd exit (Ipswich Central A137). Cont on A137 over 4 roundabouts following signs for town centre. Cont over the traffic lights, at next roundabout take 2nd exit, at double roundabout take 2nd exit following through traffic signs, Orwell Quay, Cliff Quay, turn right onto lower Orwell St, take right following signs to Manningtree, arrive at hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing