We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - end of” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aurora Bar and Restaurant

Aurora Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 440 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $49
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Aurora Bar and Restaurant is a dining experience, located on Ipswich Marina. Serving pan-European cuisine and with unrivalled views, Aurora is truly a destination venue.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location - end of”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Oh dear Aurora- and it all started out so well. What a beautiful location, assisted by a dramatic sunset and beautiful yachts gently bobbing in the water. There is a lovely sunny bar downstairs which we were not allowed to use because there was a private party coming in. Never mind, we thought, upstairs looks just as lovely. An indeed it was. Beautiful views,lovely light, attentive barman. Who cares that it's £9.50 for a glass of slightly flat champagne - we are in the cosmopolitan city of Ipswich we thought, so we should expect to pay for the nose for a drink.
We weren't even crestfallen when we were seated at our table and shown the menu (which if you are a regular on Trip Advisor you won't need to read as it seems it changes very little from week to week). And then it all started to go a little wrong. One hour 20 minute wait for our starters - who cares, we're having a great time with our friends!! Our main course won't be served until 10.00 (we were seated at 8.00) - mmmm this is becoming a little unacceptable as to be completely honest these are pretty hefty prices for little old Ipswich. Never mind, I'm sure it will be delicious. When it finally arrived (and I emphasise FINALLY) it would have been great for someone intent on losing weight but as we had built up quite an appetite, what with the 2 hour wait and all, it was all rather disappointing to be honest. A handful of fried potatoes and a dollop of spinach each to accompany our over-priced main was woeful to say the least. Aurora - if you are going to try and be high end you need to be bang on with your service and getting food onto the tables (as Gordon Ramsay would say) and you cannot rely on a beautiful building and stunning views to mask frankly mediocre food and unsatisfactory service. I actually overheard someone on a neighbouring table being BANNED by the proprietor for having the temerity to complain (apparently no-one ever complains).
Very disappointing Aurora - you may have won your staff a few bob on the National with your name but you certainly didn't win our hearts.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarquin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Aurora.

We're very sorry that you didn't enjoy your evening with us. Unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances on this particular evening, we had an unexpected staff shortage in the kitchen and a number of parties arrived late which did affect our service timings and standards. We do apologise for this as it's not an excuse but it does explain somewhat the background to the situation.

We change our menu every four weeks so that there is always something new for diners to enjoy and we would certainly never look to ban someone for complaining in the restaurant, or the bar for that matter.

We would really like to discuss this further with you, so please can you email us on enquiries@aurorabarsandrestaurants.co.uk or call us on 01473 857027 to speak in more detail.

Many thanks,
Emma
Aurora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    100
    58
    42
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Patience can be tested!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good at lunchtime but poor in the evenings.
If you do not baulk at £60 steak meal for two, you wil soon have a beef with the long wait of over an hour and a half for your main course- we were not theonly ones,as that was the topic of conversation the evening we visited.
Felt sorry for the friendly young waiting staff who were crying out for some management guidance which was sadly lacking.
Premium prices deserve premium service.
There are better and much cheaper places on the quay to meet and eat, less pretentious and more personable.
Only go if you have the patience of a Saint or maybe if you are one!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SPURS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Aurora.

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your evening experience with us. The evening is question was a difficult one with staff shortages in the kitchen (unexpectedly) and a number of tables arriving late - but we know that that's no excuse.

Again, we apologise for the delay you had with your food and with our extensive staff training that we're currently undergoing, we hope that you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves in the near future.

If you'd like to discuss this further, please do drop us a line and we'll give you a call. (enquiries@aurorabarsandrestaurants.co.uk)

Many thanks,
Emma
Aurora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't bother, there is better value in Ipswich”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went for my birthday with family and friends. For the the price the food was poor and the service no better. The only thing going for it was the location. On a very bright evening with the sunset it is quite pleasant, plus it has a veranda.
Overall the service was very slow, even though we don't like to be hurried between courses, is was too much. Had to complain about a cocktail and it the took half an hour to be replaced. Our waiter didn't appear that bothered.
We all thought the food was over salted. Some dishes were quite pleasant, but it was spoilt by the overall experience. They clearly has problems as when I checked the bill back at home we had another tables drinks bill.
Disappointing as the reviews and the menu looked good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dogdancer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Aurora.

We're very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience with us.

Unfortunately on the evening in question we were facing a very difficult evening with unexpected shortages in the kitchen and a number of parties arriving late which made it increasingly difficult to maintain our normal standards of service. Of course, this is not an excuse and again, we apologise that you were left disappointed.

We would like to discuss this further with you so if you could please email enquiries@aurorabarsandrestaurants.co.uk with a contact no. we would really appreciate the feedback.

Many thanks,
Emma
Aurora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We were not happy to say the least! The fact we had to wait so long for food was not good! Our table was for 8pm. We ordered by 8.30pm our starter was served by 9pm but the main was not with us until 10pm which was quite frankly unacceptable! The food was good, the waiting staff were good but the apologies did not make up for the quite frankly very bad service the chef needs to get his act together! By the time we had dessert and coffee we had had enough then they brought the bill and were overcharged by a bottle of wine which was the one we wanted originally but they had run out of! We will not be back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi Linda,

We're extremely sorry to hear that you had an unsatisfactory experience with us.

All of our food is cooked fresh to order which does take a little longer than normal restaurants, but we completely appreciate that you experienced an exceptionally long wait time. For this, we are very sorry.

We do hope that you might consider coming back to Aurora so we can redeem ourselves, please drop us a line (bookings@aurorabarsandrestaurants.co.uk) as we would like to discuss the issues you experienced in more detail with you.

Best wishes,
Emma
Aurora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have visited Aurora on more than one occasion (with girlfriends, work colleagues & fiancé) and have nothing but praise for the place. Building, atmosphere, staff, food & drink all amazing!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for this positive review - it sounds like you are becoming one of our best customers!!

We're so pleased you have enjoyed the Aurora experience and hope to see you again very soon.

Best wishes,
Emma
Aurora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurora Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Aurora Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing