We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, one to watch”

Aurora Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 447 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: $25 - $51
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Aurora Bar and Restaurant is a dining experience, located on Ipswich Marina. Serving pan-European cuisine and with unrivalled views, Aurora is truly a destination venue.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Lovely venue and the food is of good quality. The selection on the menu is quite small but sufficient for infrequent visits. The service was friendly but at times a little disorganised. The bread we ordered never arrived and we were asked the same question multiple times by different members of staff. All in all a pleasant experience though.

3  Thank Baz2008KM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to Aurora.

Our menu is refreshed every three and half weeks, so if you visit again there will be something new for you to try!

Apologies about the bread - we'll ensure that this doesn't occur again.

Thanks again,
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 595 of 621 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lovely Sunday lunch at Aurora today - beautiful interior, attentive, pleasant staff and delicious meal. The roast beef was excellent and the vegetables outstandingly good - contrary to some reports it was a large portion! Desserts were beautifully presented and tasty, though the orange sponge pudding was a tiny bit too dry. We shall definitely be going again and will recommend Aurora to friends. The restaurant was clearly attracting the attention of people walking along the waterfront but, as we left, we noticed that there was no menu displayed outside - every other restaurant on the waterfront has a display outside - this omission does make the venue look uninviting when, in fact, the opposite is true and the prices are very reasonable for the quality of food and service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Marion190725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Aurora.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the Sunday Lunch - it's been proving quite popular over the last few weeks!

Apologies about the dryness of the sponge and we'll certainly pass this comment along to the chef.

With regards to the outside menu, this has been ordered and will be in place shortly but thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We hope to welcome you back to Aurora very soon.

Best wishes,
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

its hard to work out cos of the reviews in here but i had a different time here on ours family sat night out . yes i understand its small food on plate but very over priced i would understand it if was was in a top place in London but we're not this is Ipswich. and the staff where looking at us like we couldn't aford to eat here and was not nice to me and my family as we was not dressed smart or something. I felt so bad for my dad as he was hoping for a good night out and it was just so bad. i would not return here if the food was free. maybe its more for the people with lots of money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank abbydee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We're very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your evening at Aurora this weekend.

Feedback such as this is incredibly important for our continued progression and growth as a restaurant.

We'd really like to discuss this further with you so please drop us a line (enquiries@aurorabarsandrestaurants.co.uk) so we can open a line of communication with you directly.

Many thanks,
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visited aurora for the first time tonight and had a lovely evening. To the comments that that food were small portions,,,.thats A La Carte??? It's not a hungry horse or beefeater!! Quality over quantity here. And the quality was fantastic, the waiting staff were attentive And helpful. yes it's pricey....but you do get what you pay for and for 3 courses with a bottle of wine and some oysters too....for £90 to be fair you would most likely pay that at the bistro or salt house. Atmosphere was calm and relaxed and the decor was lavish but not extreme. Hit the nail on the head Callum! Well done to you and your team and All the best for the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank clarebird12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about your Aurora experience.

Very glad you enjoyed your evening and we hope to see you again very soon.

Best wishes,
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Superb location and views, the restaurant thoughtfully designed and furbished but BIG BIG prices for small food portions. Great if you've a relatively small appetite like me, but no good for people with big appetites (like my husband).

Staff friendly and helpful. However, the time between courses was significantly longer than one would normally expect, although it wasn't a problem for us as we had no train to catch etc. The wrong desserts were delivered (rhubarb fool ordered but rhubarb and custard presented) but on the back of an excellent evening we didn't complain.

Good luck to Callum and crew. You deserve to do well - and as per previous comments it's about time Ipswich had some "fine dining".

See you again soon.

Choice of wines excellent!

Thank Langdalelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma N, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Aurora.

As we grow, we're constantly looking to improve our service and standards and thanks to feedback such as this, we're able to address the most important issues that impact our customers.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the wine - we have deliberately sourced a wide selection to compliment our dishes in the best possible way.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best wishes,
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurora Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aurora Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing